We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iroquois, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

It rained and it rained - outside. Inside was warm and cozy and oh, so friendly. Our stay over Christmas was most enjoyable (Christmas tree and all) and we felt part of Kathleen's and Peter's extended family. Kathleen pulled out all the stops to cater to our essential low-carb breakfasts over which we had many "healthy food" conversations. The view, when we could see it, was wonderful. The king bed was very comfortable. The kitchenette supplied all the tools, etc. we needed for a light lunch, and the large bathroom with its thoughtful amenities was just right for us. Loads of books to read and many jigsaw puzzles to do. The wireless internet worked well and was much appreciated. The location was off the beaten track which made it very quiet. We will certainly plan to return to Secret Beach B&B the next time we need a place to stay on the Sunshine Coast. Thanks to all the family for your unforgettable hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_n_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deerone, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Pleasing people is our business and we know we succeeded when we get this kind of feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

When heavy rains pour down on your vacation, it is important to have comfortable lodgings. Kathleen and Peter did a great job for us in this regard.
The upper room was spacious c/w kitchenette, high ceilings and a window seat. Everything worked. There was a great movie selection for the big screen TV in the common room, and the fireplace was on when we returned from dinner. We used our complimentary robes to head down to the hot tub on the second night, and we're visited by a deer eating Peter's grapes.
Breakfast was tasty, and the conversation flowed smoothly. Thanks Secret Beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Ray_Cgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kstringer, Owner at Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
I love your comment about how cozy we are on a rainy stay. The Sunshine Coast is gorgeous in sunny weather, but there is something about a rainy, windy day when you are curled up reading a book in front of the fireplace or gazing out at the stormy ocean that makes you feel warm and safe. Come back and visit in sun or rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is exactly what I expected a B and B to be. Our room was so pretty, bed comfy, bathrooms (2!) fine with lots of oils and powders to try! Kathleen cooked our delicious breakfast of vegetarian fritatta and banana walnut muffins which we ate at their dining room table in their spacious, modern home. We were able to chat with Kathleen while she made her kids' breakfasts. Kathleen and Peter were warm, welcoming hosts. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Thank you Kathleen, Peter, (and family) for allowing us to enjoy our anniversary with tranquility and serenity. This was our first B&B experience and you provided exactly what we were looking for away from our busy lives. Since we were virgin B&B 'ers, we eventually chose the Secret Beach B&B to break the ice, and we were not disappointed. We had a 2 night stay, but wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy all those breakfasts that we've read about in other reviews. Views, nature, peacefulness, a hop and a skip (no jump needed) to Gibsons for a nice walk through the "Beachcomber" town. It was our treat to talk with you and your hospitality made our stay very warm and welcome. (Our weekend experience there made us briefly think of moving over to the Sunshine Coast). Thanks again for a wonderful time and making us want to come back real soon.

Room Tip: The Palm suite has the view, the Bamboo has the tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I recently had the luxury of staying at Secret Beach B&B while on a business weekend. The location was great with a beautiful ocean view and a lovely and well-maintained yard to overlook. The room had everything I needed and was decorated beautifully with an Asian touch. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. I had a hard time waking up because I felt so relaxed! Waking up was well worth it as the breakfasts served both days were off the charts incredible not to mention I ate outside on the patio and was able to take in the breathtaking view!! I would recommend that anyone traveling whether for business or pleasure choose this B&B.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HEARTTRAVELING74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room was beautiful and very clean. Kathleen prepared a delicious breakfast that was different each day. We had breakfast in the deck looking at the ocean and the lovely garden.
Really amazing and the best for starting your day.
We had really appreciated Kathleen's hospitality, her kindness and warmth. You feel like at home.
We definitely recommend Secret Beach B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very welcoming, fresh cookies and tea brought to the room was a highlight.
Deer in the beautiful garden another highlight.
Peter and Kathleen very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and cosy. A lot of thought went into making it a comfortable place to be.
If you are going this way, a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
1.3 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
33 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Secret Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 995 Grandview Rd, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business or pleasure. Spectacular ocean views at this luxurious B&B. These romantic suites are located in a separate wing of the home. They are private, spacious, beautifully appointed and include such extras as free wifi, ipod docks, plush robes and slippers, fireplace, deep soaker tub, oversize shower, vaulted ceilings, heated slate floor, kitchenettes and warm from the oven baking with your full breakfast each morning. Golf, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, diving, hot tub, or relaxing - the choice is yours at Secret Beach B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing