We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wedgwood Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kokanee Glacier Resort(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Inn Nelson(Nelson)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
115
10
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
10
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studyprivate deckinteresting historyfire pitbed was comfortablemanorraspberriesdeer
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We were a group of nine and stayed for one night at the Wedgwood Manor. We found Andre and Nancy to be wonderful hosts and were very knowledgeable about the area and history of the house. They joined us for a glass fo wine in the evening before retiring to their own home at the back of the property.
The house is beautiful, huge and we each had our own bedroom with a private bathroom. We had full use of the entire house as well as the grounds. It was very peacefull. As for the misquitos - please - there are misquitos everywhere. We also purchased a dinner package and the dinner (roast chicken, corn on the cob, roasted veggies, salad & peach cobbler) as well as the breakfast were delicious.
Our whole group really enjoyed themselves and I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettySaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A very limited connection with the Wedgwood family, and no historical artifacts - so onto the building - creaky, wood panelled, nice building - sound travels easily - owners live in different building on property - breakfast served on front porch. Grumpy owner has no concept on how to be an innkeeper. He is controlling and hovers the whole time. Smoky mosquito incense burners everywhere - the property is swarming with them. Free internet. I'm not going to consume tons of space here on examples of the absurdity of this innkeeper - but that said, he did confess he is trying to sell the place. So hopefully whoever buys it is more interested in real hospitality. He also stated he shuts the place down and heads to India this winter - maybe he'll stay there....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This was our fourth stay at Wegwood over the last 12 years and our second with Nancy and Andre. There will be many more, trust me!

This is a special area of British Columbia... so beautiful and natural. In the summer months there are plenty of tourists of course, but the Kootenays are quiet compared to the Kelowna/Penticton or Radium/Fairmont valleys. The Kokanee Springs golf course is a spectacular resort course but playable and natural, which is so unlike the artificial muscular courses that are popping up everywhere in B.C. Crawford Bay has varied artisans... across the lake via the free ferry is the delightful town of Nelson.

Wegwood has it all: large grounds, streams, ponds, wildlife, fascinating history. Down the road is a charming chapel, nature trails and the golf course.

Inside is 6 rooms with private baths, sitting areas both upstairs and downstairs: all tastefully furnished and appointed and very clean.

Breakfasts are very generous: usually a fruit appetizer (e.g. cobbler) and a main dish along with juice and bread and of course coffee and tea. Nancy has imagination, skill and pride and the breakfasts are proof.

I found Nancy and Andre warm, open and comfortable to be with. They seem to know when to be around and chat, and when to leave you alone. Perfect hosts in my opinion!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed two nights at this establishment. The host's brusque manner was off putting at first, but he was willing to recommend places to eat and gave frank and candid advice in that regard. (Essentially that there were few decent choices, none of which were in Crawford Bay proper.) For someone who says that he served in Canada's foreign service, his manner seems undiplomatic. His partner seemed similar in attitude. Their last posting was in New York, which may account for their non-Canadian manner. Breakfast was non-traditional, but tasty. It also lacked choices, so it was take it or leave it. We not only took it, we were given some muffins to assuage our hunger on our onward journey.
The bathrooms were a tight fit, particularly the showers. If one dropped the soap, there was not room to bend over; deep knee bends were required.
As others have previously noted, there is no way for a guest to lock one's room, so it is open to pilfering by others if they were so inclined. Lots of fascinating books are on shelves about the place, particularly on local history. The large dogs on the property were unrestrained, but friendly and outgoing. That factor meant that they turned away some potential guests who also had large dogs given to chasing cats (there is a resident cat, also).
Crawford Bay is very quiet (one could even say dead); Nelson or Kaslo might be a better choice for many.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picky1Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We live in Cranbrook , and discovered this gem from a brochure aboard the ferry to Nelson. Only 2 hours from home. We had a delightful 2 day stay. Andre and Nancy were the consummate hosts, and besides yummy breakfasts, we were invited to share Nancy's birthday cake.We loved our room {Ambrosia} , well-appointed , clean and quiet. Everyone should have the opportunity to experience this jewel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews