We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assortment of Sleeping Choices”
Review of Kokanee Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawford Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kokanee Chalets
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Tents, trailers, RVs, motel room, or tiny A-Frame chalets - you get to pick your bed. I've stayed here many times over the years and if you're looking for a no frills, basic accommodation in the beautiful middle of Nowhere, BC I think you will be satisfied.

The tent/trailer/RV park is situated behind the office/laundry/bathroom building in an old growth cedar forest with the motel rooms and chalets off to the side. It has a community feel to it - it's not overly closed in or crowded, but you step out your door and you'll definitely be seen by neighbours. Kids love the playground area either on site or at the park across the road.

If you're claustrophobic, don't rent a chalet. All 3 bedrooms are small with sloped ceilings and make sure you know the size of beds will be functional for your needs. The kitchen consists of a small stove, mini-fridge and countertop for a dish drain and coffeemaker. There's a round table for eating and another table you can use for additional seating or storage. A small microwave is positioned underneath the steep steps to the two loft bedrooms. They provide dishes, cutlery, and cookware for 6 - 8 people. Because of the forest, it's never been stifling hot at night even during warm summer months. There's one hot tub that anyone staying there can use; it's cleaned daily, but can get a lot of use.

Mosquitoes live here. So do bears. Deal with the first and stay away from the second.
There's also a great golf course just up the road as well as a wonderful sandy beach on a huge fishing lake and a funky arts community nearby. Worth checking out is Ainsworth Hotsprings across the lake on the longest free ferry.

If you come expecting to be pampered in the lap of luxury, you'll be very disappointed! However, if you appreciate a simple space and can live with wildlife nearby and bugs all over you just may find yourself coming back to this particular spot in beautiful BC.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glee2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for writing such an in-depth review. We do have a lot of sleeping choices :)
We hope to see you again this year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Kokanee Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Where to start... well the skunks are all over the campsite day and night, they get into your garbage and make a huge mess and rule the roost. The mosquitos are almost unbearable, and this is not only because the lake was high this year, 2 years ago they were the same. We go there for the campsite's private beach however when I asked the front desk a week before we arrived how the beach was, she told me there wasn't much of one, so hmmmm, that could go either way however that lead me to believe that there was something at least. Nope nothing, no beach at all, we were livid. Not only did we waste time and money going there for nothing, we were LIED to. Not only did I ask once, I had to call back to change dates and asked again and received the same answer. Not only do the skunks rule the roost the yearly leasers do as well (the few of them there are), watch out for them, they will complain about you and try to have you evicted if you are too loud. NOT a place to have a family reunion or a bunch of friends. Like I mentioned the yearly leasers put and end to your fun in a hurry, not impressed. So we were at the local beach, which the last 2 days of our trip there was a small patch we could set up on, the local beach is a dump and smelled like one too. So there were about 6 locals there and one of the people with us started talking to them and one of the locals said to him, "we can't wait until the city slickers go home for the season they come here and think they own the place" really? WOW, we spent thousands of dollars in their artisan stores, liquor stores, golfing etc.
I suggest you go camping on the other side of the ferry, there are nicer beaches there anyways. Not a good experience considering we had 17 people there from all over drive there to meet us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skunk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

I know that it has been two years since you wrote your review but this is the first chance we've had to respond.

To start off I would like to apologize that you were less than happy with your stay. That is never what we want to hear. We love Kokanee Chalets and we attempt to give the best experience possible to our guests so that they love it too. Obviously your experience was unsatisfying.

Some people come to the Kootenays for the peace and quiet of the forest - others to gather and celebrate - or party. We tend to cater to the mellower people. Families, couples, sports groups, golf teams, yoga groups. Our policy clearly states our noise bylaws on the property. Guests in violation of the property rules are warned.

We have made upgrades recently to reduce the mosquito population - such as opening up the forest canopy and reducing standing water ponds. We have also taken steps to reduce the Skunk population in cooperation with the forestry officials of Crawford Bay. Skunks and other scavangers are attracted to food and garbage that is not secure. It is a guest responsibility to secure their food and garbage no matter which accomodation type they are staying in. We provide amenities for refuse and recycling at all times of day.

While we cannot control the water level of the lake it was clearly unprofessional of our receptionist to say that "There wasn't much of a beach" when in fact there was "none at all". We have advised our staff to be as communicative as possible and have taken action to ensure that this type of miscommunication does not happen again.

Again, we are sorry you had an unpleasant stay - we have taken steps to improve based on your review. Thank you for your feedback.

Camara Cassin
Public Relations and Media
Kokanee Chalets Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed with a motorhome for a couple of nights in July with full hook up facilities. We had a nice spot on the end not far from the office. Staff were friendly and helpful. Made use a couple of times of the on site hot tub which was nice. Also made good use of the on site coin laundry facility as, after a week on the road with two kids, we had plenty of laundry in need of washing! We cycled to the nearby beach which took about five minutes. Showers and washroom facilities were very good and clean - lovely hot and powerful showers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andthekidsmake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stopped here for 3 nights with our RV. Very quiet and the sites are amazing. Lush with trees (huge Cedars all over), and it was very spacious. Called a couple of days early to book a spot and was told there was only 2 left. Seems to be lots of spots, and the one they gave us was definitely NOT the best (in fact it is the only one I would not choose). Asked to move the second day and it was not a problem. Mosquitoes are bad, and was told that is due to high lake levels, but on a walk we noticed lots of standing water nearby. If it is a mosquito year, then this place will definitely be swarming.

Wireless internet was great, but did notice some people from the back of the park coming closer to the office to get reception. I would suggest sites 50, 52, 27-31.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Lindo7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for writing a review! I apologize for the delayed response. We have just joined the world of the living when it comes to "Trip Advisor"

We are glad you enjoyed your visit. I wanted to let you know that we have recently updated our wireless service - it's more powerful now. Also we have taken action against the mosquito population by opening up the forest canopy a bit in the camping section and filling in the smaller depressions where there was standing water.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Camara Cassin
Public Relations and Media
Kokanee Chalets Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We rented one of the motel cabins with no kitchen facilities. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. They advertize a hot tub but it is located in a small gazebo next to a dense wooded and brush area that was rife with mosquitoes. I had to walk swiftly from the room to the office to keep from being bitten up by mosquitoes. We could not find their private beach. The public beach is at the other end of the ajoining mile long grass strip airport runway. A helicopter took off about 5 am but I did not hear it since the cabins seem to be substantially built. There is no telephone and one channel of TV. Forget internet of any kind. The campground was full in July. There are a couple of B&B's in the area. one just a block from the ferry that I would try next time. If you land your plane there you better check first if the deer are off the runway.

Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hi Easy Does It,
I know that you wrote your review in 2006 - but Kokanee Chalets has just become an official participant in Trip Advisor. Before we did not have the technological know how. Now we do :)

I wanted to let you know about updates that have been made since your stay.

1. The forest canopy in the camping area and around the hot tub gazebo / playground has been opened up by removing some of the vegetation and trees. It has been replanted with grass and lets a lot more light in. This has substancially reduced the mosquito population.

2. We now have powerful wireless high speed internet for our resort.

3. There still aren't phone lines in the chalets but we have good cell phone reception :)

We hope that you'll come back and try us again - it's been 7 years of work and effort to make Kokanee Chalets better and better.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback,

Camara Cassin
Public Relations and Media
Kokanee Chalets Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokaneeCam, Public Relations Manager at Kokanee Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawford Bay
7.1 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
0.6 mi away
Wedgwood Retreat
Wedgwood Retreat
#1 of 3 in Crawford Bay
131 reviews
23.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
138 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
19.7 mi away
Kokanee Glacier Resort
Kokanee Glacier Resort
#7 of 10 in Nelson
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokanee Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokanee Chalets

Address: 15981 Highway 3A Crawford Bay BC V0B 1E0 Canada | Kootenay Lake, Crawford Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Crawford Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Crawford Bay
Price Range: £13 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just any Kootenay Lake Hotel! Our family friendly resort offers cabins, guest rooms, and a full campground.Our beautiful and rustic paradise is nestled in a cedar forest. We offer cabins, hotel rooms and serviced RV / camping sites. Kokanee Chalets is the ideal place for your holiday, golf vacation or family reunion. Check out our wonderful community of Crawford Bay and our local events! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing