We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Wilds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Across The Creek Cabins
Glenfarg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Wilds”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Cottage No 2 on 11th & 12th September 2011. The cottage was modern and very well equipped, (but a slice for flipping omlettes would be good)! Joan and Frank were excellent hosts and made us very welcome.The three cottages are nicely spaced in a clearing in the woods.The deck at the front of the cottage was ideal for an evening drink. We didn't see any bears but did watch a deer wander past the cottage. There was a full moon when we stayed and it was lovely lying in bed watching the moonlight filter through the trees. We didn't have any problem with the water pressure mentioned elsewhere.
Wells Gray Park is definitely worth a visit as the waterfalls are spectacular. We found 2 days were sufficient to see all we wanted. Don't forget to stock up with supplies, there is an excellent supermarket in Clearwater. The Tourist Information Centre in Clearwater is worth a visit.
Kingfisher's Wood is a superb base from which you can enjoy the delights of Wells Gray Provincial Park.

Room Tip: All three cabins seemed identical as far as we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATDUNCRIEVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

These cozy cottages are located on the main road leading from Clearwater to the Well Gray Natinoal Park. This makes them the perfect stopover for exploring the many different trails and falls all along the park. The cabins cannot be seen from the road so it is a perfectly quiet place to spend some nights in the wilderness while enjoying the luxury of a new, modern and well equipped log cabin. There is three cabins all of them with a small patio that invite for a beer and a chat with your neighbours after a day's hiking adventures. The cabins are quipped with a kitchenette (all neccessary things are found here!) a kitchen table with three chairs, a 2,5 seat couch a cozy and comfortable bed, flatscreen TV and a very clean bathroom. From the bed you have an amazing view into the treetops while you are listening to the rumbling waters of the creek right behind the cabin.

The hospitality of Joan and her husband (the two who run this place) has been mentioned befor but cannot be emphasized too much! They were really giving us a very heartly welcome and a lot of hints about where to go and what to see.

We will come back to this place for sure the next time we come to the Wells Gray national park!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMatFraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The cabins are located along the road towards the official park border, about half an hour from clearwater village. They have there own driveway so the cabins are not visible from the road. The beds are excellent, bathroom is clean en well equipped for a wilderness cottage. Our room had an LCD tv with satellite feed, a 2,5 seater couch, a table that seats four and a fully equipped kitchenette (stove, 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher). You will likely use the kitchen (stack up on food in clearwater before you drive up to the cabins), the only restaurant closeby is the Wells Gray Guest Ranch. The proximity of the ranch also makes it a great base for a horseriding trip. While staying at the cabins you will hear the sound of running water in the distance, there's a creek running behind the cottage. Make sure to keep all food and garbage inside your cabin, black bears frequent the area (we saw one really closeby ourselves). I think we would describe the cabin we were in as the perfect romantic wilderness getaway. Spacious, clean, comfortable and secluded.

The owners are a friendly bunch, there's a phone in the cabin with a note to check in with them on arrival, very friendly and polite people.

Room Tip: All three cottage have windows around, approximately same views, I guess they are all equally well e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ephemeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A beautiful wooden cottage in the woods, with the Grouse-creek closeby. We have been there two nights and loved the quiet atmosphere and the spacious cabin. Joan (the hostess) welcomed us and made sure we had everything we needed. She provided us with rations for breakfast and advise about the best places to go in the park. The kitchen contained all utensils to cook a good meal which we enjoyed very much.
Great place to stay for a visit to Wells Gray park!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

There are in total 3 cabins totally removed from civilization. It was perfectly quiet at night and we slept great there.

The cabins are very new and clean. Facilities include oven, microwave, TV etc.

As others have mentioned the shower was a little "weak".

All in all we had a great stay here and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donvegardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Kingfishers Wood (which is a more common name for this location) very much. The hosts are very kind people and the surroundings are beautiful. The cottage are very cosy and equipped with everything you might need while your there. At night it's very dark and quite which is a nice experience if you live in an urban area (like we do).

We did a long hike during our stay which is a very nice way of discovering Wells Gray Provincial Park.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I am pleased to be the first person to review this location.

This is a MUST STAY location in Clearwater. Joan of "Across the Creek Cabins" (also known as Kingfishers Wood)

Here you have 3 beautiful, clean and MODERN cabins on a nice private property 1/2 way up Wells Gray. Don't let the location fool you. You are 1/2 way to town and 1/2 way to the top of the "driving portion" of Wells Gray (Clearwater Lake) There is so much to see and do from the time you leave Clearwater until you get to the cabins and then all the way up. It took us about 20 minutes to drive to the cabins from the info centre.

The cabin is perfect for an overnight stay or two... with stuff planned during the day. Bring your kids if you want because there is a pull out couch. This place is MODERN with modern furniture, bedding, flat screen tv, newer appliances, etc.

We opted for the $10 breakfast package. In our fridge we had a container of juice, a 500 ml of milk, 4 eggs, 4 slices of bread, 2 muffins, 2 oranges, 2 yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, creamo, jams, butter etc. It was perfect! We brough bacon and extra fruit and had a FABULOUS breakfast!!

They have a mini office for processing your payment. When we got there we just picked up the phone and dialed the owner who came right over and took payment at the office. She is VERY NICE and helpful. Very pleasant! She left us menus for local restaurants, brochures etc.

There is a perfect little patio set in front of the cabin (we stayed in #2) where we had a glass of wine and enjoyed the natural setting around us.

These cabins come fairly equiped. If you are staying a couple of days let me suggest a few things to bring with you from home: (or a few things that Joan might want to consider putting into the unit)

*wine opener
*large frying pan (only 1 and it is tiny)
*steak knives or carving knives if you want to actually cut anything with requires more than a butter knife
*frying pan flipper (your choices are wooden or slotted spoon)
*a couple games (they do have cards and dice which we were SO happy about!)

The bed was not the most comfortable bed I have stayed in, and it's a double. Strangely enough we couldn't find many accomodations in Clearwater that had Queen or King size bed. hmmm... Our backs hurt pretty bad the next day. Also, water pressure is awful.

BUT... the hospitality makes up for all of these things. IE: I left my nightgown behind. The owner Express-Posted it to me in the mail.

How is that for service? Can't say I have had an experience that can beat that.

We will absolutely be back. Next time we are going to take our kids!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scorpion1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
14.0 mi away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
270 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
102 reviews
24.1 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
Cedar Haven Cabins and Resort
#2 of 16 in Clearwater
35 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nakiska Ranch
Nakiska Ranch
#7 of 16 in Clearwater
125 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wolfwood Guest Ranch
Wolfwood Guest Ranch
#9 of 19 in Clearwater
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across The Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across The Creek Cabins

Property: Across The Creek Cabins
Address: 5164 Clearwater Valley Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Across The Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing