We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs help!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christina Lake Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Seems 2 adults with 4 youngish children are running this operation so a lot of maintenance is not being done. Pulled in to find the office locked and a confusing sign to go to the "quasi" grocery store & restaurant for check in/the office. Rebar sticking out of concrete by the sidewalk made us wonder how many folks had been 'caught' on that. Pool was covered most of the time though sunny, hot weather. Washrooms for the campground are a disaster. .Toilets temperamental, sometimes plugged, no lock on some stalls. Showers are a mess and a hazard with flashing where you wouldn't expect it so tripping to be expected. No locks on some shower doors and gaps in others so don't count on privacy. The grounds are a dustbowl and in a lot of need of work. Internet is on a seek and find basis. The 11 p.m. 'curfew'/quiet time does not seem to mean anything as folks partying around a fire pit lonnng after 11 p.m. more than one night. Very disappointing. We travel a lot and Christina Lake Village is the worst spot we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurnabyDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Owner at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

It saddens us to see this review from you Diane. You seemed to be having such an enjoyable week. Enjoying the WIFI access and doing your work in the comfort of our dining room, going for walks down to the beach and all your other enjoyable activities throughout the week of your stay. The bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis every morning and maintenance is completed as quickly as possible, which is sometimes a little more difficult to do because of waiting for supplies to come in. We would have been happy to open the pool for you at any time as was explained at check in. We receive several comments on a daily basis as to how wonderful it is that a small area like Christina Lake has the selection of groceries we offer catering to many special dietary concerns as well as those looking to lessen the intake of artificial colours, flavours and preservatives in their lives. I also know you were having a terrific time with your family and am sorry that we had to remind you all that Quiet time is 11pm as we had received a complaint. The other folks around the campfire had also been given the same treatment. So again, we are sorry we shut down your gathering which seemed to completely change your attitude about your stay and now put you on a path to get other members of your group to do the same. You all signed the policy and we do enforce it as needed as this is a family resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a long day of traveling we spotted this Inn and decided to stay. Clean, friendly, great pizza and a good nights rest were the order for the evening. Not a fancy place but a good place to stay regardless. We would stop in again on our next run through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Manager at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy we were just what you needed and would love to see you again on your next trip through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Because we were visiting friends who were camping at the lake, we only needed a place to sleep. This worked well for us as the facility is very dated. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean despite the fact that the motel is in great need of renovating. I would recommend the motel if you just needed a place to lay your head. There aren't too many other options in the area unless you were to book well in advance and found a private rental.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamlynn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Manager at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review. You are correct. Many of the facilities in Christina Lake are in need of updating. We are coming up on our third anniversary on this property and have done a significant amount of work...new carpets, beds, lighting, paint and furniture in some of the rooms. We have also opened up the amenities on the providing the only motel in Christina Lake with a restaurant, grocery and Laundromat onsite. We will continue to work on upgrading the rooms as we enter into the winter months and hope that people will find visiting Christina Lake Village a pleasurable relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I booked a few nights for my family and we were extremely disappointed. We arrived at 5:30 for check in and we were told by someone staying there that the Managers were catering elsewhere and we would have to come back. Had adjoining rooms that were old and dingy. I don't think this place has been renovated ever. Our room must have been a pet room because there was fur all over the carpet. TV kept turning on and off in the night. I think these owners/managers just have too much going on. Seems they manage the motel, campground, grocery store-(very odd because it has sells only organic cooking ingredients.?),restaurant and lounge. Booking people into rooms, cooking, cleaning, waiting tables.... Paid $179/nt. thankfully we were able to get out early. Went to Grand Forks and stayed at Johnny's Motel- HIGHLY recommend. Renovated, clean, inexpensive and the owners would do anything for you. Will leave a review.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarDavColTayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Owner at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with your room selection. Yes, the room you were in did have a dog in it previously and the carpets had been steam cleaned prior to your arrival. We are in the process of renovating the rooms. The adjoining rooms you were in have received new beds, new door locks, new paint and new light fixtures. We did offer to move you to a different room that would have perhaps suited your family better and a different price and did have new carpets in it. Unfortunately this was not sufficient for you. Yes we were off the property for approximately 1 hour during the entire summer. We were 4 blocks away and had left a telephone number on the door so we could be reached and return if needed. We strive to provide Visitors to Christina Lake with as many amenities as possible. Yes, we do offer organic groceries with a large variety of gluten free and dairy free choices. Many locals and visitors to Christina Lake are extremely pleased to see the availability of these choices in this area. We as well try to do everything possible to make sure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves while at The Village and are happy that you were able to secure suitable accommodations for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I could not believe the state of the property. The pool was not maintained -- algae growing in it. The lawn was littered with broken toys, pieces of a carpet sweeper, pieces of pipe, broken plastic pieces, etc. The bathroom for the camping area was disgusting. Our room was OK -- but not worth the $130/night, maybe $50. The store was very over-priced. You can go a short distance down the road to a market for more reasonably priced goods. Overall a total rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 571Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Owner at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Wow, we are not sure when you stayed here as the pool has been crystal clear all summer. We have even closed it twice to give it treatment days to maintain this beautiful clarity. The rooms at Christina Lake Village start at $79.00/night for a room with a single queen sized bed in them. All of our rooms have received new beds and locks this year. Several have been freshly painted with new light fixtures and half of our rooms have received new carpets this year. The RV bathrooms are cleaned twice per day to maintain the highest level of cleanliness possible. Yes, we do offer Organic, Gluten Free and Dairy Free groceries on our property. Many of our customers will stock up before they leave Christina Lake as they find the prices in our store are better than the stores in Vancouver and Calgary. Yes, the grocery store down the road carries more main stream groceries, and the dollar store carries a lot of low cost choices if these are what you are looking for. Yes, this is a family friendly resort. The children visiting the property have enjoyed playing in the sand box area and have been "sweeping" the lawn feverishly this summer. This has provided many pleasant memories for the families who have visited us. The tetherball has been used by guests of all ages night and day and people have reconfigured lawn chairs to their liking and enjoyment throughout the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

One meets kindness, and the customer comes first. Asked the front desk for help to fax. This was quickly carried out, and appreciated. The room faced so that it was cool in the summer, even though we could use the air conditioner. There is a good follow up to make sure we could add, any helpful comment. We felt very welcome. Cleaning staff as well where alert and able to help, as well as pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms are 12 feet by 18 feet a larger than usual size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Owner at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for Staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the rooms and look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Canada's Warmest Tree Lined Lake...Christina Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My two kids and I had a wonderful time staying here!! The people are so friendly and amazing that the service alone will keep us going back. We had a very clean room stocked with everything we needed. Excellent value. The restaurant had amazing food with very generous portions. Even the night we were leaving the kids had to eat in the restaurant one more time - that is how much they loved it! Very decent prices too which was important to me. The organic grocery store on site is the best kept secret in the area!! I loaded up weeks worth of groceries before we left because the prices are so incredible. It also had a little video rental spot so the kids could rent a movie as they were winding down from their day. I believe it to be a family run business and in this economy I will spend my hard earned money in a place like this any day. The beautiful beach is right down the road and if we weren't there then the kids had fun in the pool on site. The kids have already asked me to take them back next summer - and I would love to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula Scott H, Owner at Christina Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. As you have discovered Christina Lake Village is definitely a family friendly resort with a relaxed casual atmosphere. We are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christina Lake
1.3 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#5 of 14 in Grand Forks
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
117 reviews
10.2 mi away
Johnny's Motel
Johnny's Motel
#1 of 14 in Grand Forks
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Totem Motel & Resort
Totem Motel & Resort
#5 of 6 in Christina Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christina Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina Lake Village

Address: 19 West Lake Drive, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E0, Canada (Formerly Knights Inn Christina Lake)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Christina Lake
Hotel Class:2 star — Christina Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christina Lake Village Your Vacation Station with New Beds, Locks and Fresh Paint. Conveniently located just 4 blocks from 350 meters of Sandy Beach on the shores of Canada's Warmest Tree Lined Lake where fishing and watersports are both enjoyed. Just 5 minutes from many hiking and biking trails and 15 minutes to Fantastic Snowmobiling. Our on-site amenities include: Licensed Family Restaurant and Lounge, In-Ground Pool, Fire Pits, Beach Volleyball Court, Grassy areas to relax and play on, laundromat, and a Convenience Store where Smart Choices and Smart Prices come together. This property also offers 48 Serviced RV Sites and several dry camping sites. This combination makes this property a fabulous choice for family gatherings of all sizes. Enjoy FREE WiFi when you Come Stay with Us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Christina Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing