We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bella Coola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Coola Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Bella Coola B&B and Inns
Cathedral City, California
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This may be the "only place in town" but they went out of their way to accommodate changes in our group even when the place was full. The food was good and the service at both the restaurant and the front desk was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bella Coola, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This property might have the term "inn" in the name, but it's a full-service hotel -- the only one in Bella Coola -- so you have it listed in the wrong category. The owners do a first-class job of maintaining the property and serving a relatively small market. The pub could use some changes, but the restaurant is excellent, and the rooms are above average.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JM1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were amazed to find a "little gem" in the wilderness. We had a good night sleep after a long day on the ferry. The hotel is air conditioned, there is a coffee maker in the room, the restaurant is very good and comfortable. We only stayed one night and unfortunately moved on to Tweensmuir Lodge. The valley is very humid and the A/C is a necessity not a luxury. The Bella Coola Valley Inn is more considerate of their guests than pricy lodges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theworldconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I went to Bella Coola to see an area of British Columbia we had never visited before. We knew it was a tiny community and we were not expecting the amenities of a city. The town was pretty much as we expected, but we were pleasantly surprised by the comforts of the Bella Coola Valley Inn. Keep in mind, however, that we would not have been as delighted if we had stayed at this facility in downtown Vancouver, but we were overall pretty happy with our stay.

The staff is extremely pleasant. When we arrived, nobody was at the desk, but I sign told us to go to the restaurant for assistance. We did so and soon Tom appeared to check us in. As we had a fair bit of luggage, he offered to help us move it to the room. How nice. He asked if there was anything else we needed and then took it upon himself to find us an extension cord for all the various electronics we needed to plug in.

The room was on the ground floor with a small window. It was clean and well maintained. It may have at one time been a bit musty, so two air purifiers were at work keeping the atmosphere fresh. The bathroom was fine, although perhaps the towels were a bit small and thread bare. The bed was comfortable and there was a table and chair and a small desk. Lighting was a bit sparse, but nothing to complain about.

The restaurant in the hotel was a wonderful surprise. The food was very well prepared and included Asian cuisine as well as Western. I had vegetable tempura and a seafood Caesar salad. Both were delicious. My wife enjoyed her edamame beans and a stir fry as well. Many locals were also enjoying themselves in the restaurant and we felt part of a happy community. There is also a pub in the hotel and although we did wander through it, we didn't find any reason to spend time there.

Breakfast was included in the room price. In the morning there was fresh coffee and juice, yogurt, breads, fruit, etc. It was very pleasant.

The staff work fairly hard to make the hotel a success. It is a small operation at the end of the road, so please don't expect the Hilton. However, if you want a pleasant room, good food and a reasonable rate, then check this place out.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Older hotel - however it is nicely updated and very clean. The service is friendly and i rented a vehicle that i picked up at the airport from the hotel as well which is very handy. Be sure to see the giant cedars on Walker Island.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_tet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was my first time in the beautiful Bella Coola Valley but not in Canada. I have been there over 10 times in the last about 15 years. So I know the Canadian accommodation industry pretty well. The Bella Coola Valley Inn belongs to the better hotel accommodations where I stayed overnight in British Columbia and Canada. It is well maintained, clean and comfortable. The service is friendly. Also the food offered in the hotel restaurant is good.
The price could be perhaps a little bit lower e.g. 74,00 CAD + Tax instead of 79,00 CAD + Tax I paid end of September 2012. But on the other hand all hotel goods must be transported through the beautiful wilderness over the 453 km long B.C. Hwy. 20 - also called "Freedom Highway" or "Chilcotin Highway" - to the nice town of Bella Coola and this good hotel. Therefore the price is ok as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've stayed at this property twice while travelling for work.

The rooms are definitely nothing to write home about - older linens, furniture etc. but it's always seemed clean. It serves it's purpose as a place to sleep for the night.

The staff, however, are very friendly and they come pick you up or drop you off at the airport too. Another strong point for the hotel is it's located right in town and there's a grocery store and a neat little shop nearby. The restaurant inside the hotel is also not bad and reasonably priced.

Overall, it's an average hotel but when I'm not in a big city, I don't expect too much! Would stay again but also wouldn't mind checking out some of the other accommodations in the Bella Coola area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bella Coola
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Cumbrian Inn
#6 of 6 in Bella Coola
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Hagensborg
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Coola Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Coola Valley Inn

Property: Bella Coola Valley Inn
Address: 441 Mckenzie St | Po box 758, Bella Coola, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Bella Coola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bella Coola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Coola Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bella Coola Valley Inn is a 3 Star rated hotel located in the coastal community of Bella Coola, close to the ferry dock and on the town site, near services, shopping, and historical & cultural attractions, surrounded by pristine mountains. We offer a wonderful array of dining and lounge experiences. In our fully licensed hotel restaurant, Korean, Japanese, & Canadian dishes are featured year round, and local BC seafood when in-season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing