We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallheo Cannery Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bella Coola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tallheo Cannery Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Bella Coola B&B and Inns
Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Beautiful place. We went to Tallheo Cannery Inn for a wedding. It was the most beautiful wedding I've ever attended. The view was breathtaking. The place was amazing, so much history and so much to see and discover.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Tallheo Cannery Inn. The scenery is breath taking and the hospitality of Garrett and Skye is outstanding. I'm a photographer and I spent hours making my way through the old net loft, the main floor of the Cannery, the old store and several of the other buildings. Then there were the scenery pictures and the pictures of the bear with 2 cubs I took on the boat tour. Oh yes and the water falls and the hotspring which is just the perfect temperature for a soak over looking the water. Our accommodation was in a 1920's style room which was clean and so tastefully decorated. I loved looking through the old windows and going back in time as I looked at the other old buildings, the mountains and the ocean. Congratulations to Garrett and Skye (and Garrett's Dad Jim) for retaining the weathered exteriors and the vintage look throughout. My cameras and I are definitely planning a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripletoes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Amazing history here! Lots of interesting machines, water run belt machinery, photographic net loft. The accommodations look pretty cool too, but we didn't stay. The old general store is very interesting. Garrett is a goldmine of info about the area. I think the previous reviewer really summed it up. I hope to be able to stay in the near future and get the full experience. The views are outstanding! The tour was $20 and worth it. It is $40 if Garrett pick you up from the dock and brings you over. We arrived on our own boat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Tallheo Cannery Inn in Bella Coola, British Columbia must be one of the most extraordinary places to stay on earth. It is at the bottom of a 3000 meter glacier topped mountain, on the banks of a fjord, amidst a forest where bald eagles nest. Jim, the owner and host, collects you from Bella Coola's harbour in his boat and takes you across the water to the Inn (he can also pick you up in his truck from the airport). Tallheo Cannery Inn was once was a salmon cannery, which closed down 30 years ago and there are a collection of buildings - it's a sort of village - that make up the cannery. Some of the buildings are restored and or are being restored, others are very ramshackle and or have fallen down (I thought they were almost like art installations - particularly the building on stilts in the fjord which collasped in a storm many years ago - I can just see the Tate Museum in London putting something like it in their Turbine Hall) , and some such as the old shop and office, where all has been left as it was when the cannery closed. It's like walking into the 1930s-1970s essentially: there are huge old ledger books with every transaction/wage neatly recorded by hand, old newspapers and forgotten consumer products on the shelves. Fifty or more people must have lived here on and off during the salmon season and you feel a palpable sense of what their lives were like. Guests today stay in the old ladies bunkhouse, which is basic but comfortable. Our room had views across the water to Bella Coola's snow-capped mountains. So beautiful. So atmospheric. We also cooked for ourselves in the cookhouse, which was really fun. We got some unbelievably delicious salmon from a local fisherman and cooked it, while JIm told us stories about Bella Coola life and his close encouters with grizzly and black bears. It was a great experience to stay at Tallheo Cannery Inn. I loved it and would go back tomorrow if I could!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MMB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bella Coola
2.7 mi away
Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.
2.7 mi away
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge
Bella Coola Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Hagensborg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumbrian Inn
Cumbrian Inn
#6 of 6 in Bella Coola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallheo Cannery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallheo Cannery Inn

Property: Tallheo Cannery Inn
Address: Across North Bentinck Arm from Bella Coola, Bella Coola, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Bella Coola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bella Coola
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talheo Cannery inn is on the site of salmon cannery that closed down 30 years ago. It's at the bottom of a 3000 metre mountain with a glacier beside a deep fjord. Sensational views across the bay. Jim the owner picks you up in a boat and it's a five minute ride from Bella Coola to the cannery with its tumbledown buildings. Guests stay in the former ladies' bunkhouse. We had a double bed with views across the bay. We cooked our own supper in the cook house while Jim told us lots of grizzly bear stories. If more than six people staying they will get a cook to come over from Bella Coola. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing