We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tallheo Cannery Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bella Coola
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Bella Coola Motel(Bella Coola)
View Hotel
Bay Motor Hotel(Bella Coola)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
15
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat toursalmongarrettfjordrainforestharbourwildlifeproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I and another photographer were in Bella Coola for a 6 day tour on the ocean visiting old villages and other scenic locations. We arrived two days early just so we could make a special trip to the cannery on the recommendation of well known photographer Chris Harris. From the moment we were picked up at the dock in Bella Coola by Garret and ferried across the harbor to the old Tallheo Cannery site, I knew we would not be disappointed. Garret was a very enthusiastic tour guide, and made us welcomed to his home. Even though we had an overcast sky and a drizzle of rain, the beauty of the site was amazing, and the lighting conditions were perfect to catch the "mood" of the inlet surrounded by snow capped mountains. After a few hours of photography it was time to take the 5 minute ride across the inlet back to Bella Coola, knowing that I would need to return, and stay for a few days next time around.

Dennis Robinson
Victoria BC

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Four of us ladies travelled to Bella Coola October 2013 to watch grizzly bears and stay at the Tallheo Cannery. Our time at the Cannery was beyond my expectations. A trip to Bella Coola is not complete without a stay here. Set in the most beautiful settings the Valley has to offer, Tallheo Cannery and it's hosts Skye and Garret Newkirk provide an actual experience back in time. This is a historical marvel; furnished with original artifacts in the bedrooms, bathrooms, tool rooms, and an actual General Store set up just as it was during the time of the Cannery's operational days. The stunning location of the Cannery exposes Fjords, snow capped alpine, creeks filled with spawning salmon, and the history of the peoples who formed this province. Be sure to ask about the room upstairs in the bunk house that faces the rising sun!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After a hikingtrip in North Tweedsmuir we went 'down the hill' to Bella Coola. We stayed at the Cannery for one night and it was great! What a beautiful place! I loved it and hope to stay there again really soon!
It was one of the best places i ever slept.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jantine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After exploring most of the inlands of BC we set forth to Bella Coola. Our time at the Tallheo Cannery Inn was simply amazing. The snow-topped coastal mountains combined with the historic Tallheo Cannery offered a beautifull scenery and a great place to spend some time. Lovely to relive the history of the place via the old general store or one of Garrett's tours. The hosts Garrett and Skye were amazingly kind, making our days at the Cannery Inn one of the best of our vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Beautiful place. We went to Tallheo Cannery Inn for a wedding. It was the most beautiful wedding I've ever attended. The view was breathtaking. The place was amazing, so much history and so much to see and discover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews