We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The open air historical museum is a must-see”

Black Forest Open Air Museum Vogtsbauernhof
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the Black Forest Open Air Museum Vogtsbauernhof the Black Forest culture and history come to life. Visitors will find out how people lived and worked in Black Forest farmhouses during the last 400 years. As well as six fully-furnished farmhouses from different parts of the Black Forest, the visitors will find a labourer's cottage and about 15 outbuildings, such as mills, sawmills, storehouses, a distillery and a chapel, fields, kitchen gardens and a herb garden. The museum presents the many different faces of life in the Black Forest: its architecture, traditions, customs and trades, and the way people lived and farmed throughout the ages. Daily Events: Daily craftsmen demonstrations: Museum visitors are invited to witness traditional crafts. Mill demonstration: Daily at 11.00 am, 12.30 am and 2.00 Pm. Museum workshop for families: Here, under expert guidance, the museum guests can make various different pieces and objects, from key hooks to lanterns and hardwood baskets.
Coronado, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The open air historical museum is a must-see”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Black Forest open air museum has original buildings arranged on a large plot of land. These historical structures include homes, barns, churches, saw mills, and gardens. It is educational and fun. Signage is in English. We skipped the audio guides and wandered around the complex. Buildings range in age from those constructed in the late 1500s to early 1800's. It is a well done assemblage of what life was like in the Black Forest, and kudos to those who developed this museum in order to preserve an important part of life from this community.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    180
    47
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Traditional Black Forest homes brought history to life!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I love history so seeing the original Black Forest homes with furnishings of the period was a peek of how German families lived. It was a living museum with live demonstrations of spinning thread and woodworking. I'm a teacher so wish my students could have experienced it too. It reminded me of the Log Cabin Village in Fort Worth. I think its great to keep traditions alive through living examples.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this "museum"”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was really impressed by the quality of what we saw and experienced. It brought history to life and had a wonderful atmosphere. it was great to be able to see live demonstrations of the mill (things you hear about in history or read, but to see it in action is pretty fascinating), and the food that was prepared, potatoes and quark, bread--try them. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hands-on history, in as much or as little depth as you choose to learn, at your own pace. Information provided in at least 3 languages, both on signs and audio-guides, so it was very tourist-friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank redxdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and very nice organized”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have been several times to this Museum and I still find it facinating, I came to know about it in a Reise Messe and ever since I just don' t hesitate to recommend it to everybody interested in getting to know how life was in the old times at the Black Forest.

I would recommend you to book the guided visit if you can, it is a bit expensive but it is nice and very informative. The parking lot is big so you won' t have parking problems and the shops are very nice and prices are fair. The cakes are good, if you' d like to taste a Black forest cake, this is a nice place and nice atmosphere, as well as for the smoked ham typical from the region.

Overall, I recommend it for the whole family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Analola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Open Air Museum Vogtsbauernhof also viewed

Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Gutach im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Gutach im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg
Rust, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Black Forest Open Air Museum Vogtsbauernhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing