We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at happy donkey hill for the weekend and found the stay most relaxing. We stayed in millers cottage with our small dog nipper, the cottage was very welcoming and had everything you could wish for.
There is even a hot tub just outside the cottage gate !
I would highly recommend millers cottage if your looking for a peacefull, relaxing break.
Thanks again Katie and Andy.

Room Tip: Millers cottage, open fire, 42" tv and lovely bedrooms too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaC00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the moment we arrived I felt so relaxed and at ease. The location and accommodation is stunning. We used the hot tubs before dinner every night, met all the animal and ate way too much food at a number of local pubs. Was a dream weekend and very much needed after a stressful year. Took all my worries away and wish we could have stayed longer. Our like dog Harvey has never seemed so chilled away from home. The cottage we had was spotless and having a log burning was pure bliss. Completely loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

A lovely review from lovely guests, if you would like to come again there will be no charge so long as we can keep Harvey dog, what a delight he is!!
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

What an appropriate name - HAPPY Donkey Hill. We spent a lovely, relaxing few days in the beautiful scenery, saw the Dragon's breath (valley mist) in the morning, breathed the fresh air all through the day and relaxed and enjoyed the Sauna into the evening.

The Stables, where we stayed, were immaculate when we arrived (and I hope not too bad when we left!), well kitted out, co-ordinated, comfortable. Internet access excellent - which proves you can be remote and not cut off. And even in November, when many touristy things have shut for the winter, there was more to do than we could manage, and we'll be back - love to see Kate and Andy again, the donkeys, the other animals, that magnificent scenery and to catch up on the sleep that we miss at home - large comfy bed, mouse quiet area.

We'll be back if you'll have us ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

What a fabulous review, thank you so much and we are delighted you enjoyed the area, we loved meeting you and your dogs and hope to see you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous break at Happy Donkey Hill.
We stayed with friends in Millers cottage and had friends staying in the rest of the accomodation. The Diary was a great place for us all to congregate.
You can chill out in the two available hot tubs, sip champagne and just totally unwind. We enjoyed a lively dinner, then trotted over to the games room for a table tennis tornament. There are even a few exercise machines and a sauna.
Katie and Andy are brilliant hosts, who make you feel extremely welcome.
The cottages are very comfy, extremely well equipped, and the views are amazing.
The donkeys, pigs, goats, dogs, cats and chickens a delight.
The lay out is great, you could easily go for a romantic get away or as we did, go with friends.
What more could you ask for a great escape?
Thank you Katie and Andy for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Wonderful, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great balance of authentic Welsh farm with well decked out interiors and all mod cons. Owners were very helpful from the outset and certainly a place i would go back to every year. The Dairy is very good value and would cater for larger groups very well.

Room Tip: Choose the dairy for big groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willowskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

How nice of you to take the time to review us, we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed at The Dairy for 10 nights with our dogs, three in total. My partner also visited for a couple of days.
The cottage was very well laid out, clean and welcoming. It very quickly became home from home for all of us.
Centrally located to most areas, we were able to visit a variety of locations throughout our visit. Kate and Andy were absolutely great, nothing was too much trouble, and Kate was very welcoming when we arrived.
Everything was really good with the location and we really didn't want to leave.
I am definitely wanting to go back and sit in that lovely hot tub after a long coastal walk.
I can't recommend this place enough, particularly if you have dogs, they are very dog friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murphymuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, its always good to see the dogs have a good time too, I like how they always 'guard' their own cottages even after a couple of days :)
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have just spent a week at Happy Donkey Hill with my wife in Millers Cottage.
Absolutely fabulous location, and the standard of accommodation is the very best you can find. The hosts Katie and Andy were very helpful, and the facilities, hot tub, sauna and games room are just superb. Perfect location for visiting all parts of Wales, stunning views and only a mile from the local village. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for the best.

Room Tip: If there are six to eight of you stay in the Dairy cottage, it is absolutely fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your super review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandysul hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
#1 of 10 in Llandysul
98 reviews
3 mi away
River Mansion Spa
River Mansion Spa
#1 of 8 in Llandysul
20 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Llandysul
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages

Address: Prengwyn Road | Faerdre Fach, Llandysul SA44 4EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Llandysul
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four top end holiday cottages sleeping 2-8 people with private use of 8 seater hot tubs attached to each cottage- and a gym, sauna, table tennis, each cottage is fully equipped and has a log burner, WIFI and is very dog friendly (up to 6 dogs in bigger cottages) We no longer offer B&B at this location, it is purely self catering cottages since Nov 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Donkey Hill b&b / Holiday Cottages
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast / Holiday Cottages Hotel Llandysul
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast & Holiday Cottages Llandysul, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing