We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Llandysul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Animal heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was visiting the area to compete in an equestrian event. Kate was very helpful in not only putting my friend and myself up in a wonderful room that was beautifully decorated, she also provided a large stable for my horse. As we were out competing during the day she put herself out by providing our fantastic evening meal at a time that suited us. Kate is an amazing cook. Her breakfasts really set you up for the day.
Being able to relax in the hot tub after a busy day out was fantastic.
Thank you Kate and Andy for making our trip so wonderful.
Big thanks from Toby for his great stable
xxx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    13
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
91
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbis Bay, St Ives
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

WOW, what a great stay we had. Never felt so relaxed. Had great fun with both of the owners. The last review clearly hasn't stay because as I clean freak I couldn't fault a single thing. The rooms are stunning, it was everything we could have wanted and more. The host really make it that bit extra special and we have already booked to return. The owners kindly showed us some of the other rooms and they were all lovely, so we are very much looking forward to our next visit and we will try a different room - it's already booked!!!!

Room Tip: Get the hosts knowhow on where to eat they found us some great places!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for a few days in millers cottage with friends.
There was everything we needed for a self catering holiday/break.
The kitchen was well equipped with all that we needed. Spacious with a table & chairs dining area.
There was a lovely cosy lounge with a wood burner to sit back and relax in, which is fab in the winter time.
Both bedrooms had an ensuite with shower.
There is a games room and gym, we thoroughly enjoyed the table tennis :-) and you can chill out in the hot tubs with a glass of wine, very nice.

The Beautiful views and walks around are very inviting. Seeing the animals was great, we loved the donkeys, it was a great experience to go in with them & feed them some carrots. The whole experience was tranquil and relaxing.
There are great local pubs that serve lovely food, if you fancied a night out instead of cooking. Which is what we did every night.

We will certainly be returning thank you :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel261070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
a lovely review from lovely guests! Thank you for taking the time to give us such a glowing reference, we certainly appreciate your time and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at happy donkey hill for the weekend and found the stay most relaxing. We stayed in millers cottage with our small dog nipper, the cottage was very welcoming and had everything you could wish for.
There is even a hot tub just outside the cottage gate !
I would highly recommend millers cottage if your looking for a peacefull, relaxing break.
Thanks again Katie and Andy.

Room Tip: Millers cottage, open fire, 42" tv and lovely bedrooms too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaC00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbis Bay, St Ives
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the moment we arrived I felt so relaxed and at ease. The location and accommodation is stunning. We used the hot tubs before dinner every night, met all the animal and ate way too much food at a number of local pubs. Was a dream weekend and very much needed after a stressful year. Took all my worries away and wish we could have stayed longer. Our like dog Harvey has never seemed so chilled away from home. The cottage we had was spotless and having a log burning was pure bliss. Completely loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
A lovely review from lovely guests, if you would like to come again there will be no charge so long as we can keep Harvey dog, what a delight he is!!
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

What an appropriate name - HAPPY Donkey Hill. We spent a lovely, relaxing few days in the beautiful scenery, saw the Dragon's breath (valley mist) in the morning, breathed the fresh air all through the day and relaxed and enjoyed the Sauna into the evening.

The Stables, where we stayed, were immaculate when we arrived (and I hope not too bad when we left!), well kitted out, co-ordinated, comfortable. Internet access excellent - which proves you can be remote and not cut off. And even in November, when many touristy things have shut for the winter, there was more to do than we could manage, and we'll be back - love to see Kate and Andy again, the donkeys, the other animals, that magnificent scenery and to catch up on the sleep that we miss at home - large comfy bed, mouse quiet area.

We'll be back if you'll have us ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
What a fabulous review, thank you so much and we are delighted you enjoyed the area, we loved meeting you and your dogs and hope to see you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous break at Happy Donkey Hill.
We stayed with friends in Millers cottage and had friends staying in the rest of the accomodation. The Diary was a great place for us all to congregate.
You can chill out in the two available hot tubs, sip champagne and just totally unwind. We enjoyed a lively dinner, then trotted over to the games room for a table tennis tornament. There are even a few exercise machines and a sauna.
Katie and Andy are brilliant hosts, who make you feel extremely welcome.
The cottages are very comfy, extremely well equipped, and the views are amazing.
The donkeys, pigs, goats, dogs, cats and chickens a delight.
The lay out is great, you could easily go for a romantic get away or as we did, go with friends.
What more could you ask for a great escape?
Thank you Katie and Andy for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Wonderful, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandysul
9.9 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
18.8 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
#2 of 11 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages

Property: Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages
Address: Prengwyn Road | Faerdre Fach, Llandysul SA44 4EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Llandysul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three top end holiday cottages sleeping 2-8 people with private use of 8 seater hot tubs and a gym, sauna and table tennis. We are dog friendly and will accept up to 6 dogs in the Dairy cottage. We also run a small B&B in the main farm house. We do not accept children under the age of 12 years. We now offer riding holidays please call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast / Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast / Holiday Cottages Hotel Llandysul
Happy Donkey Hill b&b / Holiday Cottages
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast / Holiday Cottages Llandysul, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing