We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet. nice and clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandysul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gwesty'r Porth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Llandysul B&B and Inns
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very quiet. nice and clean”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

2 night stay in room 3. Lovely view over the river and the old church. The hotel is very quiet and has its own parking out back. A little off the beaten track and not really close to beaches and attractions but all within easy travelling distance. I was here for business and it was ideal for me. The room was clean and comfortable. The room did get a little cold in the evenings and the heating was not on. I opted for an early night over looking for someone to turn the heating on. Newcastle Emlyn is just a short distance away and I visited the village and castle during my stay. Would stay again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ahogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I thought that £75 for two people per night on a Saturday night was a bit overpriced for what it was. We had room number 4 which had lovely view over the river.

If the carpets were a bit newer then it would make a difference.

The bed just wasn't big enough for two and dipped in the middle.

The room would benefit from some black out blinds as it was very light and I couldn't sleep much.

Clean room. Owner was nice. Wi fi code didn't work.

Breakfast between 8-9 only was a bit inflexible. We were confused as people seemed to be eating at 9.15?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydudders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stopped for sunday lunch here,and the staff made you very welome and the food is of a very high standard,generous good portions and excellent value for money!The views of the river and local church can be seen whilst you relax and enjoy your food. I would highly recommend this hotel for its food, if the sunday lunches are anything to go by.

Room Tip: Only had food at the hotel as we werev travelling through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly wonderful food felt a very relaxed place to be in .well worth a visit , If you are in this area .
Had three nights here , loss all track of time wonderful. River and fishing near by . Nice walks as well . Comfortable bed nice view of the river from our room and great for bird watching




Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were worried having been told the hotel needed refurbishment - don't believe a word of it!! OK, by todays 'excessively demanding' standards, yes, the bar area could be modernised but the room we had was excellent - large, very large bathroom with bath and shower over, it was very nicely decorated, modern and tasteful. The service is EXCELLENT!!! Lovely couple own the place and are rightly proud of it. We arrived very tired, in the middle of a cycling route round Wales and they really looked after us well. Safe storage for bikes. Excellent service all round. Good breakfast. The location is WONDERFUL!!! so so pretty. Hotel backs on to a lovely stream and village church. All in all a good place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for a wedding , stayed for two nights and found it very comfortable the rooms were average , but the staff were exelent making us feel very welcome ,Rhodri the barman was very friendly ,and the locals were very chatty,the food we had there over the weekend was excellent the breakfast was my favourit served with a smile ,nothing was to much trouble for this family run hotel ,

Room Tip: there are some rooms that overlook the river teifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 855David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have used this hotel to stay near a close relative of mine. I think it is quaint and the owners so friendly and helpful that any small quibbles about the stairs etc seem unnecessary. The home-cooked food is excellent. The bedrooms small but comfortable, showers are good 'tho the bathrooms need updating.The view of the river Teifi and hills from bedroom and diningroom cancels out all negatives.
It was very cold on our recent stay, an oil filled radiator was placed in our bedroom immediately after we had mentioned the problem.
The charges are very reasonable, I can't wait to stay there again, hopefully when the weather is better.

Room Tip: Request a room looking out at the river,its beautiful. The ancient church is very atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandysul
6.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
#1 of 11 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
River Mansion Spa
River Mansion Spa
#1 of 6 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.5 mi away
Henfryn Farm Glamping
Henfryn Farm Glamping
#2 of 6 in Llandysul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Porth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Porth Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Porth Hotel
Address: Church Street, Llandysul SA44 4QS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Llandysul
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Teifi Valley, Llandysul is the ideal centre for both holiday and business visitors to West Wales and the beautiful Teifi Valley. There, Andrew and Louise James look forward to welcoming you to The Porth Hotel. Retaining all the charm of its origins as a 17th Century coaching inn, The Porth Hotel offers 21st Century comfort combined with the friendly and relaxed atmosphere of a village hotel which has been run by the same family for many years. The public rooms still feature the original oak beams and panels. With its welcoming log fire and village inn atmosphere, the bar is a popular meeting point. There, locals and guests mingle while enjoying food from our bar snack menu or sampling our wide variety of ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Porth Hotel Llandysul, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing