We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penrhiwgaled Farm
Nearby Hotels
Emlyn Hotel(Newcastle Emlyn)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Spilman Hotel(Carmarthen)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boar's Head Hotel(Carmarthen)
US$95
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Aberaeron)
US$154
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater buffalocardigan bayb bon arrivalalisonpondsuitehostfieldfarm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My wife found this gem on the internet when we were looking for somwhere to stay whist visiting friends in the area we like to try and find places with character and this BB didn't let us down set in the countryside near New Quay about a five minute drive in fact, we were greated by Alison the owner who made us coffee on arrival and showed to the guest lounge , the bedroom with its lovely ensuite bathroom was immaculate ,i think this is one of the nicest rooms we've stayed in. The breakfast was lovely , we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 855David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were made to feel at home the moment we arrived. A lovely location in a rural setting with buffalo grazing at the back of the farmhouse, our accommodation overlooked a pond with some ducks. We were only 10 mins from New Quay and Cardigan Bay. We enjoyed the guest lounge with its log burner. Plenty to see and do within 15 mile radius. Our breakfast set us up for the day, and we didn't want to leave. Shirley & Alan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 401alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was fabulous accommodation very near the coast of south-mid Wales, near places like New Quay, Aberaeron and Aberystwyth.
As an aside, that area of the coast was very pretty, and we had a great dinner with a view over Cardigan Bay at Traeth restaurant (“Traeth”, I think, means “beach” in Welsh) at New Quay (just down the road from Penrhiwgaled Farm) on our first night. Looking for something to do in the area the next day, we found an article in a tourist brochure for Wales at Penrhiwgaled Farm and discovered a couple of short articles about what the locals do and why they like it where they are. We read the one about Aberystwyth, and followed the author’s footsteps, right down to where to have coffee (the Penguin – a mix of Italian and Welsh). Like the local in the article, we explored Aberystwyth Castle (well, what’s left of it from 1277) and the War Memorial, the pebble beach, the promenade, “kicked the rail” (something the locals do), took the funicular railway to the top of Constitutional Hill (eerily, someone fell off Constitutional Hill only hours after we were there and died), and travelled on the narrow-gauge steam train (the Vale of Rheidol Railway) up to the Devil’s Bridge, where we did the walk to the 3 bridges, Jacob’s Ladder (100 steps down) and Devil’s Bridge Falls in half the allotted time (we had incentive - to make the last train back!). We even had a great dinner as recommended by the reviewer at Gwesty Cymru, preceded by drinks overlooking the Irish Sea, as the sun set in the west. Aberystwyth was terrific.
Back to the review of Penrhiwgaled Farm (and try saying that when you are a bit inebriated ... or even sober!). The original parts of Penrhiwgaled Farm date back to the 18th Century, and until a few years ago, they had a large herd of buffalo (for mozzarella cheese). Now they only have a handful of buffalo, but they also agist horses.
It’s a big rambling place, and we had a big room with a separate bathroom in the newer section of the Farm all to ourselves. It was quiet, private and spacious. Part of the wall the hall at the top of the stairs in the new section is the original rock wall, which blends quite well and is a real feature.
As I said, our bedroom was enormous, as was the bathroom (separate bath and shower). Wi-Fi (free) didn’t work well in our bedroom, but was fine in the dining room. There’s plenty of parking; the garden is huge and well-tended; there’s a sitting room for guests; and we had a nice view from our windows.
Alison brought us coffee and tea on our arrival and was an affable hostess. Her lovely daughters served breakfast to us on each of the mornings. Breakfast was great, with a selection of cereals, juice and yoghurts, followed by something cooked to order (bacon, eggs, and the like). Of course, there is real fresh honey from the nearby honey farm.
This was a great place to stay and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Tastefully decorated old farm house set in lovely grounds overlooking pond. We had a very large bedroom with wooden floors, sofa and chairs, en-suite and lovely views. Fabulous guest lounge. Owners very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast lovely. Conveniently located, in quiet position, outside of New Quay. Children will enjoy the water buffalo in the fields near by.

Room Tip: The King Suit has its own staircase and a lovely big room and bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews