We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the mountain. Fabulous helpful staff.”
Review of Silver Skis Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crystal Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Skis Chalet
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the mountain. Fabulous helpful staff.”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Years of skiing Crystal have taught us that if kids and relatives are invved you want to be at the silver Skiis. While very expensive during holidays it is really the only game in town. Being able to jump in the pool after a day on the slopes is worth the big money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were spoiled! We stayed in a condo at Silver Skis and brought food with us on the bikes, but there was a small store to get snacks & wine. The condo was huge for just the 2 of us with everything & anything we needed and was a great escape! We parked the bikes right outside the back door! We rode the gondola to see the spectacular views of Mt. Ranier and enjoyed lunch at the top. We swam in the pool (the snowflake on the bottom is cool). We plan to go back during ski season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I'm not particularly picky and at first I was charmed by this place. But then I actually stayed there. First, it was built in 1962 and shows only a bit of cosmetic updating since. Extremely noisy. You can hear your neighbors late night conversations through paper thin walls. The single pane glass and cheap doors do nothing to keep out the noise from the courtyard or the loud clunking as people walk around the elevated walkway outside to get to their rooms - which also made the place shake & vibrate. The doors squeak like old barn doors & the faucets leaked.
We had a "loft" unit which was, quite literally impossible to use because the ladder getting up to it was not built properly.
Bottom line: Not worth the fortune they charge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibratingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed in a condo at Silver Skis for 2 nights. It was fantastic, gondola ride up and down, hiking, incredible views of Mt. Rainier from the top, and a very warm and nice pool to relax in between hikes. Very convenient to Sunrise at Mt. Rainier. The condo was fully equipped, so we brought food and prepared all of our meals. This was a really nice getaway, but don't expect a full-service hotel, it is more like staying at a rustic cabin - if this is what your family would enjoy, then you will LOVE it!

Room Tip: Top floor - great view of the gondola ride and the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I took our 8 month old daughter for a summer weekend trip. We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was very small, but sufficient. There was a queen bed and a set of bunk bed (with an extra hideaway bed underneath) in the bedroom. There was a small bathroom with a shower, a kitchenette, a picnic style dining table, and a sitting area. There is a small, heated pool that is gated and kept locked 24/7. You have to use your room key to get in (no sneaking in...)

These condos are at the base of the mountain so it's a 2 minute walk to the gondola and "base camp" where you buy life tickets, eat, shop, etc.

The condo staff were very nice and always greeted us with a smile.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a front door and a back door onto a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fpfarric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Silver Skis, the closest to the lifts, for 3 nights in March. Our unit (303) was on the top floor, on the corner, and had an incredible view from both the front (lifts) and back (trees/road coming in) windows. It was beautifully renovated and larger than expected. Could have slept far more than the max capacity stated. The full kitchen was a huge plus for our family, and the complimentary hot chocolate and popcorn were a nice touch, too. Towels were top notch, as were the toiletries provided. Bathroom gorgeous and updated. Staff kept all common areas clear of snow (which dumped constantly the whole time we were there). Pool was hot and fun. Kids played in pool and others sledded/played out back in the snow. When the heat went on the fritz, staff were ON IT and had it fixed within an hour or so. Our only wish was that check in was earlier so we could have gotten in and changed for an afternoon of skiing without the hassle of changing in the lodge. To their credit, staff worked hard to get us in 2 hours before stated check in (2 instead of 4). Simply the best location for those hitting the slopes and those who love them, and the atmosphere was more family than party--which suited us just fine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get unit on top floor to avoid footstep noise and to gain best views. Our top corner room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastsound, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family and I stayed here a week ago. It was terrific. The price with the lift tickets was more than fair. HHA

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Mountain
21.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
167 reviews
23.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
202 reviews
24.4 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rai...
#1 of 2 in Crystal Mountain
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Mountain Hotels
Crystal Mountain Hotels
#2 of 3 in Crystal Mountain
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Skis Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Skis Chalet

Property: Silver Skis Chalet
Address: 33000 Crystal Mountain Blvd, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022-7945 (Formerly Crystal Mountain Lodging Suites)
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Crystal Mountain
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Equipped Mountainside Condominiums at the base of Mt Rainier Gondola at Crystal Mountain Resort. All 60 condos are individually owned and each is as unique as the families who own them. From Modern to Rustic; we have the perfect condo for you! You won't find anything that interferes with the comfort of our guests. What you will find is a warm welcome, a mountain of fun, a beautiful place to renew a bond with someone you love and memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Lodging Hotel Crystal Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing