We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystal Mountain Hotels - Village Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Crystal Mountain
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cowlitz River Lodge(Packwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Packwood(Packwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crest Trail Lodge(Packwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
0
9
17
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
9
17
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

First the good.The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was quite clean. Now the bad/ ugly. Our room # 409 was like stepping back in time. Besides the 19 inch flat screen on the wall this place was like a dorm room out of the sixties of seventies. We had twin beds and mine was shaped like a taco shell. It obviously had been around a long time. With the price this place must charge(our visit was a gift) you would think that a twin matress/ box spring would be regularly replaced. The toilet seat was so old that the surface had been rubbed off in places and one of the spacers under the the seat was broken off, giving the seat an odd tilt to it. BUT VERY CLEAN!! Behind the toilet was a hole in the wall that looked perfect for an uninvited guest to crawl through. Paper thin walls and ceiling allowed me to hear my upstairs neighbor using the toilet paper dispenser. The location and lack of slope side lodging in Washington (no competition) must be the only reason this place stays afloat.You would avoid this place in any city but being 5 minutes from a chairlift makes these accommodations acceptable??

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is all about location. You are paying for walking distance to Crystal Mountain. And, for that, it is as advertised. We skiied all day and were able to get up and head out to enjoy the mountain early the next day. The rooms themselves are very small and plain, but clean. They were maybe built in the 60's or 70's and have not been updated much since. Bathroom also small, and no hair dryer! No wifi in the room.

Customer service at the Inn is excellent. We had to make some last minute changes to our reservation due to illness, and they were wonderfully helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlnTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at the V.I. for a ski weekend, and found it to be just fine. It won't make you think "hey, dream vacation!" but it's clean, comfortable, and reasonably close to the slopes.

what we liked: clean, comfortable mattress, balcony in the afternoon sun
what could improve: the walls are pretty thin, and a little color in the room would help a lot. Our room was splashed out in mauve mauve mauve, with a bit of 'oatmeal' thrown in. The rooms are dated, to be sure, but it would be a cheap fix (interim, before a huge remodel?) to add some pretty bedspreads and accents on the wall.

You'll still have to hike up & down the hill to the lifts, and if you're lazy like me, that's a bit of a hike in ski boots. Snow permitting, you might be able to ski all the way back down to the hotel, but that's not a given. (and you'll still have to walk up in the morning.) You can check your skis at the overnight ski check for $5, though.

Overall, though, the Village Inn was fine, and we'll most likely be back. The staff are friendly and helpful, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - you can see the mountain (although it's also looking over the parking lots.) The balconies get afternoon sun, and are comfortable for relaxing.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

You check in at the Village inn but the different buildings have different names. Same business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsRumphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

You can't beat the beautiful location, especially if you are there to ski. We went in Sept. so didn't fully benefit from the added ski resort-accessibility perk. Mt. Rainier Nat'l Park entrance is right there as well, which is very nice. The gondola ride was fantastic.
The hotel itself was not impressive. It is in need of some major updates. The rooms were small and they looked like they had not been updated since the early '80s. The carpet was so worn there were holes in it. The bathroom was also very small. We were a bit disappointed with the balcony from the room as that was one of the "big sells" when we were talking with the reservation desk when we booked the hotel. The view was of the parking lot. All of the room balconies are side-by-side and there is no privacy between them. Unfortunately, our neighbors used their balcony to smoke, so we were forced inside and had to shut our windows and doors (despite being hot and stuffy in the room). The beds and the pillows though were very comfortable! We slept well (although that could have been from all the hiking too!). We were told there was free wireless, but we were unable to access it the whole time we were there.
The Apline Inn restaurant was a huge disappointment. Way overpriced and the portions were very small and flavorless. We got our toddler a $6 mac & cheese from the kids menu and immediately you could tell came straight from the box. By the taste of it, you could tell it wasn't even an 'higher quality Kraft' box with extra cheese, we're talking your generic $0.35/box mac & cheese. We decided to go out for dinner the next night and found a deli in Greenwater that makes delicious, afforadable wraps and sandwiches. Well worth the drive!
All in all, our opinion was that it's not what you expect from the prices that you pay (both hotel and restaurant). We would not likely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews