We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We recently spent one night at Alta Crystal and had a wonderful, relaxing experience. We rented a movie and had our "boil in bag" pot roast dinners in front of the wood burning fire with a lovely bottle of Cabernet. The location is beautiful and was very quiet in early October. I was skeptical at first, but this turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    81
    19
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
100
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Every time I visit Alta Crystal, I promise myself I will write a review. It is my favorite hotel for experiencing the fabulous Mount Rainier and surrounding areas. Alta Crystal is a wonderful place for relaxing and an excellent base for exploring. This time, due to the Federal Government shutdown, we discovered great hiking and places to explore outside the park, with the help of the friendly and knowledgeable owners of the resort. They do a great job making sure that their guests are comfortable, and work hard to anticipate everything their guest could possibly need. We've stayed in both the single bedroom apartments and the loft suites. All have fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, and are very clean and beautifully decorated. I heartily recommend Alta Crystal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Let me start by saying that this poor review stems mainly from the lack of sound proofing at this resort, if it wasn't for this, I may stretch to an average scoring.
My husband and I spent 2 nights here on our 7 hotel/2 week break driving between San Francisco and Seattle and unbelievably it was this, the one hotel out in the wilderness, miles from the nearest house (as far as I could tell) that was the one that ended with us barely sleeping and leaving as early as we could due to the noise created by the family who moved into the rooms above us.
The noise started at around 7pm on the Friday evening (our second night) and sounded like the family were constantly moving all the furniture around - kids running up and down, chairs being scraped across the floor, maybe even tables and cupboard being moved. We could hear everything - just footsteps sounded like stomps. This went on until nearly midnight and as I was feeling unwell at the time, after 10.30pm my husband had gone up to ask them nicely to be a bit quieter, which didn't make any difference and led to me calling the front desk to ask them to address the issue. In fairness, the lady I spoke to was very pleasant about it and called the family, but nothing changed and we were getting rather frustrated. Although they had agreed I could move into another room (I suggested this or refund), at 11.30pm my husband didn't want to pack up (we were leaving the next morning anyway - otherwise would have moved).

Although I do hold the family responsible for allowing children to stay up so late and jumping around noisily, (then getting up at 6.30am and stomping down the iron stairs just outside our window) especially when they knew we could hear everything, I do believe that the main issue here is the lack of sound proofing within the units. Since this resort prides itself on the quietness, this is unacceptable.
Otherwise the units are fine, although the bedroom is rather cramped, the bed was very small and not particularly comfortable. The bathroom was rather dated with a shower that couldn't make up it's mind what temperature to provide water at. The kitchen was fairly well equipped but the space they have could be better used. The other slight moan I have is the swimming pool and hot tub required skimming with a net before you would want to use them, as there are so many leaves - I don't mind this too much, but for £150 per night, this hotel was the second highest priced hotel we stayed at (out of 7 that included 2 city centre Westin hotels that aren't cheap!). For the quality and comfort provided, I would expect to pay around £100 max. Although we experienced much better elsewhere even at that price range.
Such a shame, as it could be so lovely and is sat in a good location just 20/30 mins from Mt Rainier. A real disappointment from our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadematoWashington, Owner at Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We take guest feedback very seriously, and have made many improvements and changes over the years thanks to guest suggestions.

We were concerned about reviews that said our lower units were noisy, so this fall (2013), we hired a contractor to blow in more sound insulation between the two floors in the buildings, and also installed soundproof drywall in the ceilings of the bedrooms in the One Bedroom Suites. This has significantly reduced the sound between the upper and lower units, and we did not have even one noise complaint during the holidays.

We also did some other major upgrades in the One Bedroom Suites in Fall 2013 -- with new bedding, lighting, completely renovated bathrooms with soaking tubs, and new kitchen cabinets. Guest feedback has been positive, and we think the suites look really beautiful.

We sincerely appreciate our guests, and would love to have you come stay. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. Thank you.

Vivian Cadematori
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle33
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This has to be one of the cleanest, best kept places I've ever stayed. The pride the owners have for their property and their love of the area clearly shows here. My husband and I took advantage of a last minute overnight special in September staying in one of the ground floor cabins. The room was like a small apartment. Everything was spotless, modern and tastefully decorated. The queen size bed was super cozy and comfy and the linens were soft and smelled of, well just washed linens! There is a real log fireplace which was nice to curl up in front of. The toiletries in the bathroom were high quality as were the ample supply of towels. There were thoughtful touches like a diverse selection of books and magazines to read and a very comprehensive guide to the area. Their reception area/shop is incredibly well stocked with all sorts of provisions and you can order gourmet ready meals to prepare in your cabin. They also have a great recreation room, again full of books, DVDs and tons of board games, so that larger groups can spend evenings together in there. You can rent bikes from the property, use one of many grills to BBQ on, go on a scavenger hunt around the property, or join in some of the organized evening activities. This resort is really in a class of it's own in terms of quality, amenities and the amount of thought the owners have put in to making their guests stay a luxury and personal experience.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms/cabins are delightful. Lofts offer more room but our queen size suite had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the loft suites.
This was a cozy, well equipped suite with 3 beds and 2 bathrooms.
It was very quiet at night and the beds where comfortable.
We had a private balcony with view of the swimming pool and hot tub.
BBQ are at your disposal.
The local food shop was small but you can find here almost everything you need at a decent price.
Just one thing this resort is located on highway 410 not on crystal ski area (7,5 miles drive)
Whenever we come back to this area we will stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickvanminsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great place to stay for 2 nights. Clean and very friendly staff. The location is 10 minutes away from Mt.Rainer Park entrance. My only complaint is that you are not going to find a good place to eat close by especially for dinner :( .. I' m sure that nobody wants to drive 30 miles back to find a decent place to eat. At the resort, they sell groceries but highly expensive, is not worth it. My advice is that take your own groceries with you and cook. The resort have a BBQ on Thursdays ( of course you have to pay for it) but is an alternative if you want to take a break from he kitchen 1 night. Other than that everything was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucas2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadematoWashington, Owner at Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
We appreciate guest input, good and bad, as it helps us get better. Our main reason for responding to this review is to clarify a few things about food. We are small (just 23 suites and a Honeymoon Cabin) so we are not large enough to support a restaurant just based on the guests staying here. If we had a restaurant, we would have to attract people driving by on the road, which would completely change the atmosphere of our place. Most guests staying here like the fact that we're small, and that you feel like you're away from the hustle and bustle.

However, it's certainly not necessary to drive 30 minutes for dinner!

* There are restaurants within a 10-15 minute drive either direction from us, and when we used to live in Seattle, we never had a problem driving 10-15 minutes to eat out. The Alpine Inn and Summit House at Crystal are good summer/fSeptember/winter options for more gourmet fare, and the town of Greenwater has the Naches Bar & Grill year-round that many of our guests enjoy for the local atmosphere and good, casual food.

* We have in-room "Heat and Eat" meals available that guests seem to love, since they're delicious and a chance to eat dinner in, without having to do any work.

* We are usually told our store prices are very reasonable, so I was a little surprised by this guest's comment. Our grocery prices are significantly lower than any hotel where we've ever stayed (and much lower than the markets at Crystal or in Greenwater), and I think if you read other reviews you'll find that guests appreciate the variety of items we carry. We also sell eggs by the egg, butter by the stick, etc.. to try to make it easy on people who are just staying a few nights.

* Our summer barbecues are fun and guests seem to really enjoy meeting and chatting with other people from around the country and the world. We have barbecues Thursday and Sunday nights from July 1-Labor Day.

We still remember our first visit here over Labor Day almost 18 years ago, and we enjoyed the opportunity to soak in the pool and hot tub after hiking, cook in, make a fire and then relax and watch a movie. However, there are definitely other options very close by if that's your preference.

Thank you for considering us for your next vacation/getaway.

Vivian Cadematori
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Spent 3 days/2 nights at the Alta Crystal Resort, lodging in one of the "Loft Chalet Suites," with 2 friends. We booked through the "Last Minute Specials" page (on line only) and highly recommend that route because the suite we got was outstanding: clean, cosy, and very well equipped (fireplace etc.), with a balcony overlooking the pool and jacuzzi area. The resort is relatively close to the Mt. Rainier National Park entrance and to the Crystal Mountain ski resort/gondola. We visited both, spending a day at each. It's well worth taking the gondola to the top of Crystal Mountain and having lunch at the top (reserve in advance), AND walking down afterwards... We ate at the Alpine Inn "Snorting Elk" restaurant at the Crystal Mountain ski resort one night and did the "BBQ" at the Alta Crystal Resort the next night (both very good!). We used the pool and jacuzzi at the Alta Crystal, and appreciated the little shop on site which has one of everything! Owners bend over backwards to help the guests, and there is lots to do around the beautiful grounds: ping pong, frisbee toss, horse-shoe throwing, hiking ... you name it. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: Second floor with a view (of the trees!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier

Property: Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Address: 68317 Wash. 410 E, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway for Mt. Rainier National Park and Crystal Mountain. Charming chalet suites & a romantic honeymoon log cabin are tucked in the national forest, just 1 mile outside the northeast entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park & 7 miles from Crystal Mountain and its new Mt. Rainier Gondola. Soak in our hot tub and swim in our year-round heated pool (heated to 90° in the winter) -- we're Crystal and Mt. Rainier's only accommodations with both. Fireplaces, small fully equipped kitchens and renovated mountain lodge style accommodations are perfect for couples and families. Guests love our evening activities (weekends, holidays and summers) such as bonfires, movie nights, karaoke, crafts parties, and summer barbecues. Hike, sightsee, bike, ride horses, play disc golf in the summer. Ski, snowshoe and play in the snow in the winter. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Crystal Resort At Mount Rainier Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Alta Crystal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing