We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
119 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised by this lodge. We stayed here for three nights. The lodges are very spacious and the surroundings could not be more perfect – if you like relative isolation and looking after yourselves. They are clean and the beds very comfortable. Great open fireplaces. If you are looking for this type of experience and accommodation this is not to be missed.

The lodges are, however, in need of a little bit of refurbishment. Yet they are full of character and there are just enough on site facilities to ensure that you have everything you need. The onsite shop is small but has enough to keep you going. You can survive food wise with what’s on offer with ease. The heated swimming pool is great with more than enough chairs to suit all tastes. There are plenty of very local walks to keep everyone entertained and you are more than close enough to Mount Rainier with loads of local advice to be had about where to go and what to see.

If you need a restful break with quiet and wonderful surroundings then you will find these lodges perfect. If you want exciting - this is not what this is about. Very picturesque and well priced (well for what we paid). They are a great base for further exploration and you could not wish for better hosts. This is quite simply a first class mountain resort if you are looking for a quiet break with great hosts

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    81
    19
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
100
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed one night and checked in late. The staff was very friendly. The suite was dated but clean. It would be a nice place to stay for an extended trip.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1wrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Terrific resort very close to the Sunrise park entrance to Mount Rainier. Good trails right outside your door as well if you don't want to drive. Pool is heated and stays open late. Grocery store on site, while small has everything you really need with little markup. Rooms are good if just a little dated but it feels like it should for a mountain based resort.

All the staff was excellent and helped out tremendously with every request.

  • Liked — Promiximity to Mount Rainier and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FtWashRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at the Alta Crystal Resort for several days in August, 2008. Our group included my wife, my daughter, her husband and her three young children. This place is wonderful! This is in a gorgeous setting surrounded by beautiful forest. Very nice rooms, a big loft, great fireplace (logs supplied daily), comfortable beds, nice bathrooms (good showers), kitchen functional but with slightly outdated appliances. All very clean. The heated pool was a super place for kids...my grandsons had a wonderful time there. The staff is very friendly. They have frequent, great evening activities, such as “smores” roasts (kids love them...they get to roast marshmallows), barbecues, etc. Beer and wine are available to keep some adults tuned into the activities! Monetary support for the evening activities is through voluntary donations. The staff runs a quality operation...I will recommend this to anyone wanting a superlative accommodation close to Mt. Rainier.

  • Liked — Virtually Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moongok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We arrived tired and grimy from a long drive . Keys were left out for us, and we loved our spacious room, and so did the kids. Excellent value , and close to Sunrise where there are some great trails for all levels. Loved the astonishingly cheap Thursday BBQ ..$7.50 including wine and beer!!...and the pool. Really reccomend this place. Keep up the good work.

  • Liked — Friendly homely atmosphere
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Our family of four (mom, dad, toddler, big kid) spent a beautiful 4 days at Alta Crystal. he staff was outstanding. They walked us to our unit, hosted a homemade barbecue, and went out of their way to be available for questions and requests. The barbecue, by the way, was held in the rain, but everyone was so cheery that no one cared. Their friendliness rubbed off on the families staying there, and we visited with several fellow tourists by the time we left.

Room -- Our first floor room overlooked the pool and was the most well equipped rental of its size I've ever seen. All cooking utensils, dishes, soap (for people and dishes), linens, and appliances were waiting in the room. We ate every meal here. The pool was easy to access, which was important to us (no hiking back and forth with two kids in tow - handed off toddler to other dad so big kid and mom could swim extra time - dad waved from window if he wanted us). Super clean and well outfitted. Rooms were definitely on the small size, but we knew we had chosen the smallest available floor plan. OUR FAULT, NOT HOTEL'S.

Amenities -- Atmosphere = A+. Loved the cozy feel of a mountain retreat. We swam every day and played ping pong, fusball, and available board games each night. The shampoo and soaps are neat little artisan creations that you can't find just anywhere. The location was great. We were an easy drive to Mt. Rainier and spent the morning hiking in the park.

After driving around the area, I can't imagine finding a better place to stay. The kids had activities waiting for them when we returned to the lodge, and we had an easy time feeding everyone on demand. Once again, I thank the staff for exceeding all expectations in welcoming us to their wonderful lodge.

  • Liked — Everything we needed was already in the room.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We spent 2 nights at Alta Crystal Resort as part of a vacation in Washington with our two teenaged girls. The place was great. The people who run it are easy going and friendly, our loft chalet was roomy and well equiped for making breakfast, it was well situated near a wonderful part of the park (Sunrise- much less crowded than Paradise) and the amenities hit the spot. Jumping into the hot tub after a long hike, sharing hiking routes with other guests was great and relaxing. The night we were there, the hotel had a barbeque for guests at bargain prices with abundant and delicious bbq food including salmon burgers, bratwurst, wine and dessert. An added plus was the other guests who were interesting and friendly. Everyone seemed pleasantly surprised at what a nice time we were all having. We even spent a good deal of time with a family from our city who, like us, was seeing their eldest daughter off to college at the end of the month. We live in the northeast so who knows when we might be back to this neck of the woods but if we are, we will definitely stay at Alta Crystal Resort.

  • Liked — the location, the great staff, the comfort of the accomodation
  • Disliked — can't think of much
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier

Property: Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Address: 68317 Wash. 410 E, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway for Mt. Rainier National Park and Crystal Mountain. Charming chalet suites & a romantic honeymoon log cabin are tucked in the national forest, just 1 mile outside the northeast entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park & 7 miles from Crystal Mountain and its new Mt. Rainier Gondola. Soak in our hot tub and swim in our year-round heated pool (heated to 90° in the winter) -- we're Crystal and Mt. Rainier's only accommodations with both. Fireplaces, small fully equipped kitchens and renovated mountain lodge style accommodations are perfect for couples and families. Guests love our evening activities (weekends, holidays and summers) such as bonfires, movie nights, karaoke, crafts parties, and summer barbecues. Hike, sightsee, bike, ride horses, play disc golf in the summer. Ski, snowshoe and play in the snow in the winter. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Crystal Resort At Mount Rainier Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Alta Crystal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing