We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Dane Cottage - come on in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dane Cottage - come on in
Cottage Charm Warm and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Dane Cottage - come on in
Cottage Charm
Warm and cosy
Duvet days
Quirky en suite
South facing gardne
View towards the cottage from across the field
Residents parking on the road
Birds eye view
The Ship Inn - a quick stagger away
Sample the local brew
Go fishing
So many walks, so little time!
Danebridge
Walk along the Dane Valley
up into the Roaches
Three Shires Head - put on your boots and take a picnic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wincle, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne n
1 review
“Perfect cottage retreat”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent 3 wonderful days at Dane cottage which is an amazing 3 storey cottage with lovely views into the valley and the sound of running water accompanying everything you do. Hilary was most welcoming and helpful before and on arrival and left us messages and treats to ease our stay. There are gorgeous walks, a good pub and Wincle brewery all within easy reach. The wonderful Roaches and Lud's church are a must. The perfect end to a long walk was lying in the bath listening to the river and birds whilst drinking a cup of tea and / or glass of something stronger. Bliss. As long as you bring the bare food essentials to last your stay, as there is no shop close by, and we didn't want to drive anywhere!....you are set for a delightful retreat. We wish we had been able to stay much longer and plan to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asplin101...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five star”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Everything you could ever want in a cottage. Five star accommodation Great views nothing was to much trouble Thanks Jane & Lindsay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gailee272
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“faultless”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

An idyllic retreat in this beautiful area, Dane Cottage is impeccable, décor is so tasteful, felt at home as soon as we arrived, three nights is not enough, views are amazing, many lovely walks from the doorstep plus a cosy pub & a brewery, what more could you want! we have had such a memorable stay, just fantastic..Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthnw11
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just come back from a wonderful weekend in this beautiful cottage. I do not have one bad word to say. It is idyllic and the description is completely accurate; magical and romantic. The cottage is warm, beautifully decorated, very cosy and comfortable with all amenities and a log fire. The location is stunning. We spent most of the weekend watching a kingfisher fly up and down the river stopping periodically to looking for fish, less than 5mins walk away from the cottage! There is an abundance of wildlife surrounding the cottage. We also enjoyed drinking at the local brewery, eating at the pub which is across the road, getting ice cream from the local farm and generally staring out of the cottage windows fixated by the fabulous scenery including herons, horses, playful lambs and ducks! Hilary, the owner is so very welcoming and very easy to get hold of; she is excellent at replying to emails. I would definitely recommend this cottage. Overall wonderful weekend, I wish we were still there now… Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IWPS
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing cottage with 3 Amazing Zones!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from our stay at this beautiful property where we spent three unforgettable days. We arrived in the dark and opened the door to a warm and cosy welcome (Thank you Hilary for the extra treats)
It is a prefect place to unwind, relax and switch off from a busy outside world, there is however a good wifi connection if needed.
We found the amenities which are located across three floors to be of an exceptional high standard which is in keeping with Hilary and Andrews other property on the outskirts of Congleton.
The views from the cottage invites you to take walks, we were lucky to wake up to snow on the morning of our second day and raced in search of our boots and wellies.. We made very good use of the nearby Ship Inn which is only a short walk from the cottage, the food and ale is excellent and we found the locals fun and friendly. We have stayed in both properties owned by Hilary and Andrew and now feel spoilt for choice but we are sure to revisit both again soon to explore more and no doubt lose ourselves again in these amazing properties in excellent locations..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our 2nd stay at Wincle. I was attending a course in Macclesfield, and it was our wedding anniversary so it made sense to stay in Wincle. Love the cosiness, cleanliness and comfort. We have also booked Congleton for New Year! (will be our 2nd stay there too) I can highly recommend both properties if you enjoy quality self catering, with many added lovely finishing touches...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing