We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet environment, with stunning views over a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Morning coffee time at dockside fire pit area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Morning coffee time at dockside
fire pit area
3rd bedroom with view of lake
New pullout sofa providing comfort sitting and extra bedding needs.
2nd bedroom with bunker beds
caught fish right off the dock
front view (left wing is the guest suite)
kayaking under the sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kearney, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JasonMonk...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet environment, with stunning views over a wonderful lake”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were greeted at the homely cottage by Susan who helped us settle in which immediately exceeded our expectations. The cottage was very spacious and of a good quality. We visited with two adults and two teenage boys who made the most of the canoe and paddle boats. The water was warm enough to swim and also with a good leap, deep enough to jump off the jetty. The evenings were great, stunning sunset which must not be missed and a fantastic fire pit which was used every evening in combination with marshmallows! Top tips: get your groceries on the way, we used "Freshco" which was within 15 minutes and was well equipped. Kitchen had everything you need, even to make pancakes! The sofa was a little tired and uncomfortable. In summary we had an amazing few days, wish we stayed longer and wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you Susan you were a great host, we were well informed at every stage, great value and we appreciated your help. Jason

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you Jason. I'm glad that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed the views and the amenities. I really appreciate your taking time to give us a thorough review and offer great tips for future guests .I am sure world travelers like your family will benefit from reading those reviews! Thanks again for your kind words. Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua m
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

was an amazing week at this cottage , the property was really nice with a big fire pit and amazing views of the lake !! Fishing was was really good on the dock at night time . Also if your into atvs or dirt biking there are lots of fun trails nearby. I would love to go back again next year !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking time to write the review . I'm sure the future guests would appreciate that as much as I do .
Hope you see you again !

Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanta111
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go to cottage but feel like home.”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I spend 3 days long weekend here for Canada day. The 3 bedroom cottage was so impressed soon as we got in. Everything so clean, satellite TV, Wifi, Susan prepare things very detailing. We actually spent more time inside than outside because It was lots of rain
The reason I gave 4 stars because It looks a little risk for swimming, so we did not swim.
My family very enjoyed the 3 days long weekend here.
Thanks, Susan.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brijesh K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I visited Muskoka Wolf during long weekend in oct 2016, with my wife and friends. Cottage was well maintained and quite. Lake front is well maintained and we had wonderful time during sunset. There are a lot of scenic places to visit for around 1 hour drive. We really enjoyed our fall stay at this place. I will highly recommend this place to someone who looking for a get away at beautiful, quite and relaxing place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Back to Nature”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely week. The grounds, lake views and even the scent of the trees the call of the loons were very relaxing. I was very impressed with the apartment it was clean and fresh. We are a family of 4 (2 teens) with a dog and had enough room to stretch and find our own space. The kitchen was fully equipped and very clean, ceiling fans and portable fans were more than enough to cool us. We spent a lot of time on the dock and water. It was warm and clean however the depths of the lake vary so life jackets were on hand as it dropped suddenly. My only issue was there were many steps going down to the dock that if mobility was an issue it would be difficult to use. We brought our own boat and enjoyed the lake daily. Better do your groceries at home or in Huntsville the town of Kearney very small. We did do day trips into Burke Falls, Huntsville and explored Brook Falls and Screaming Heads of Midlothian.
Must be beautiful in the fall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall nice place peaceful and quiet
Liked least: The futon unfortunately was very uncomfortable may be time to replace the cusion.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, looking over lake. Mornings and evenings were a delight.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our first evening was idyllic: sitting on the dock watching the sun set over the lake - beautiful. It was the outside space that set this place apart. We had the run of the lakeside garden and, in particular, there were three decked seating areas overlooking the lake. Access to a barbecue was welcome, as was use of the canoe - you don't get this at most places and this is why we chose this accommodation. We used the BBQ several times and had a great time paddling out on the lake.
Susan was a delight when we arrived straight from the airport. We had no food, as there had been no opportunity for shopping, so she went out to see what she could get for us - this was customer care above & beyond the call of duty. Her provisions (no charge!) saw us through to the next day.
The apartment itself was spacious and secluded - you could have walked around undressed because the only view of it was from the lake. If you want a relaxing, bucolic, secluded place then look no further.
The accommodation was fairly basic and wasn't stylish (fridge and water cooler in the lounge were odd) or modern but was clean and functional. However, for most people, I guess that the accommodation is of little importance other than a place to sleep - it's all about the outdoors here. Unfortunately heavy rain meant we were trapped indoors for a day and a half, resulting in us discovering that the settee was less than comfortable.
A lot of thought had been put into what was provided. This would be excellent for families because the was a range of games available, along with guides and info on the area.
Frankly there is little in the surrounding area other than more lakes. Kearney seems to be the town that time forgot and we struggled to find somewhere open, even in July. We had planned to have our breakfast there the first morning and, having just landed, do some shopping. No way - we had to drive back to Huntsville to find somewhere open. We tried one of the local bars but found ourselves the only people in there. Kearney is not so much sleepy as catatonic!
After busy months at work and a long flight, this was exactly the peace and relaxation we needed. It was perfect for our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on lakeside
Liked least: Uncomfortable settee; cramped bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samiraabb...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The view is breathtaking. Of all our options, we couldnt have picked a better home away from home.”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had never experienced scenery quite like this. The formula of Sand Lake being one of the largest in Ontario combined with the sensational apartment style cottage literally elevated our cottage experience. Often we would interrupt each other mid sentence just to point outside to the lake, the island in the distance (accessible by boat) or stars. Susan is very sweet and made herself available to any questions or queries we had mid stay. Discovering little gems like a 4 seater paddle boat with sun canopy really separated this place from others. We relished the cozy areas like the bbq patio spot and the what we call the breakfast nook just one level above the dock. A slice of Heaven that stays with us long afterwards. Thank you Susan, from a very happy couple!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing