We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed Sunday night at the Crown Inn and got the special offer of dinner, bed and breakfast for £135 which meant the dinner was free. Beautiful old beamed pub and hotel. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Food absolutely delicious! 5 star!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    54
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
35
106
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in the Superior suite (the actual name I can not remember) and it was very special. We had our own lounge, separate WC, bathroom and beautiful bedroom with a to die for wooden 4 poster. Such a lovely hotel full of character, the staff were friendly and helpful. The place has a very relaxed feel, cosy and was just perfect for us celebrating a birthday. Without a shadow of a doubt we will come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Bought as a Groupon deal I unfortunately left it really late to redeem my voucher and expected the worse as it was a bank holiday. I shouldn't have worried as the staff were exceptionally helpful and called me back as soon as they had a cancellation. The great service continued when we arrived and everyone we spoke to was smiley and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were travelling with an 18 month year-old and my partner was heavily pregnant with our second, and this was meant to be a nice little break before the mayhem of a new baby! A nice break it was; they provided everything we needed (including a travel cot and bottles of warm milk). The pub itself is a model of old-english charm. If you want the experience of an old world pub, you won't get more authentic than this. There is a good selection of wines and ales and the food is exceptional (so much so that we ended up having lunch and dinner in the restaurant 2 nights in a row!). The rooms were quite small, but we had expected this. The only disappointment was that our room had not been cleaned when we arrived (it's not very nice to come in to someone else's mess and dirty towels) the cleaner didn't seem too bothered when I mentioned it just saying she "hadn't done it yet". To be honest, I would rather we were told about this and given the option of waiting for the room to be cleaned before being handed the key. Overall, this shouldn't detract from what was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The four poster room is larger but is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STC1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night through a Groupon offer. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous with untold amounts of history. Our room was a superior double, which we couldn't fault. We had a four poster bed and the room was characterful, cosy and perfect for us.
The food, at both dinner and breakfast, was gorgeous and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Food was also very reasonably priced.
We would highly recommend The Crown Inn and would love to return ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

When I am in Chiddingfold, I alternate between here and the Swan and cannot fault either. Service is impeccable and it has a wonderful relaxed feel about the place. Had private dining room for my sons 21st birthday family dinner. food was excellent as usual. The place is truly charming and friendly. What more can you ask from a small village pub/restaurant/hotel?

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Drive through Chiddingfold and you cannot miss The Crown Inn. It is a lovely old pub with all the qualities you would expect from the moment you see it. All period features, log fire, cosy bar, good seating area, good food, ales and wine are exactly what you expect.
The rooms are period and very comfortable. So for a drive out into the county with an overnight stay this should be an ideal choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The last time we came here it was badly in need of a makeover & this has clearly happened!
Its really lovely now, warm and comfortable.
Ales and wines by the glass, if a little expensive, were great!
We decided to eat, as it looked really good, was warm,just busy enough & the menu was interesting.
The service we received really made the experience, & we enjoyed ourselves.
I've rated this average, because of the food, it was just a bit too ordinary & lacked seasoning.
But the customer service was excellent, from our server.
We would visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,056 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
7.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
495 reviews
7.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing