We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just Pub Grub”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“More than just Pub Grub”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We rarely book our meals and prefer to just turn up and take a chance. The Crown was packed with guests attending a party over the road (as were we) but the friendly staff pulled together two tables and fitted us in. We all had the fish and chips which consisted of a huge piece of cod lightly fried in tempura batter, instead of the usual concrete beer batter used in most pubs. Absolutely delightful. The young lad serving us was a credit to the business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    54
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
35
106
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I arrived late, but the welcome was friendly, and not too late to enjoy a scrumptious snack in the bar with an excellent pint. The bedroom was immaculate, and I slept like a baby in the four poster bed. Just as well, as working early the next morning on a photography shoot, perfectly set up with a great breakfast, and even my choice of freshly brewed coffee!
Thanks team. Bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on Friday night for our 21st wedding anniversary. We had a friendly welcome. The inn is absolutely beautiful. So much history and character. Prices are average for drinks I would say. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious. Top class in every way.

Room Tip: Find out if there is going to be an event on if your staying the night. We were in room 18 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on the way back to Guildford from the coast. Had a lovely evening meal, fish cakes and salad, a beef burger and fish and chips. Service fairly fast, prices mid range, food fresh, but the inn itself, simply stunning, well worth a visit. Will go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not knowing Surrey at all I expected this to be far too expensive and uncomfortable for mere mortals from outside the stockbroker belt. What a lovely surprise. The building is great. Staff excellent and the food delicious at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed Sunday night at the Crown Inn and got the special offer of dinner, bed and breakfast for £135 which meant the dinner was free. Beautiful old beamed pub and hotel. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Food absolutely delicious! 5 star!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in the Superior suite (the actual name I can not remember) and it was very special. We had our own lounge, separate WC, bathroom and beautiful bedroom with a to die for wooden 4 poster. Such a lovely hotel full of character, the staff were friendly and helpful. The place has a very relaxed feel, cosy and was just perfect for us celebrating a birthday. Without a shadow of a doubt we will come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,056 reviews
5.8 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
251 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
495 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
7.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing