We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Night”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had an amazing time at the steak night on Saturday 20th July. The staff were more than accommodating when an extra guest arrived to our table. A place setting and chair was added before we knew it! The steak was cooked to perfection and the waitresses were more than accommodating to our obsession with ketchup and supplied more than enough to our table. The service was impeccable down to the last detail especially from the head waitress who talked us through each cut of meat and explained them all perfectly. I will without a doubt be returning to The Crown Inn for the future steak nights. SO GLAD IT IS A MONTHLY THING!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We rarely book our meals and prefer to just turn up and take a chance. The Crown was packed with guests attending a party over the road (as were we) but the friendly staff pulled together two tables and fitted us in. We all had the fish and chips which consisted of a huge piece of cod lightly fried in tempura batter, instead of the usual concrete beer batter used in most pubs. Absolutely delightful. The young lad serving us was a credit to the business.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I arrived late, but the welcome was friendly, and not too late to enjoy a scrumptious snack in the bar with an excellent pint. The bedroom was immaculate, and I slept like a baby in the four poster bed. Just as well, as working early the next morning on a photography shoot, perfectly set up with a great breakfast, and even my choice of freshly brewed coffee!
Thanks team. Bill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on Friday night for our 21st wedding anniversary. We had a friendly welcome. The inn is absolutely beautiful. So much history and character. Prices are average for drinks I would say. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious. Top class in every way.

Room Tip: Find out if there is going to be an event on if your staying the night. We were in room 18 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on the way back to Guildford from the coast. Had a lovely evening meal, fish cakes and salad, a beef burger and fish and chips. Service fairly fast, prices mid range, food fresh, but the inn itself, simply stunning, well worth a visit. Will go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not knowing Surrey at all I expected this to be far too expensive and uncomfortable for mere mortals from outside the stockbroker belt. What a lovely surprise. The building is great. Staff excellent and the food delicious at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank purplegoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed Sunday night at the Crown Inn and got the special offer of dinner, bed and breakfast for £135 which meant the dinner was free. Beautiful old beamed pub and hotel. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Food absolutely delicious! 5 star!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
5.2 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,102 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
276 reviews
8.8 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing