We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak night !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Steak night !”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A fantastic steak night on July 20th. The food, wine and service were all first class. By far the best steak night I have experienced . After some excellent starters, an offering of more than 7 different cuts of steak were beautifully presented on a board to allow you to make your choice. To complement the steaks was a wine list that equals and probably exceeds many of the finer restaurants in London, in terms of choice, quality and price.
Having gorged on a 22 ounce t-bone, there was just enough room to fit in a dessert or choose from the expansive cheese board-----I had both !!
A great evening and a great atmosphere with first class service . Will need to book early for the next steak night as it was so highly praised that no doubt the next event will be a sell out !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    50
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
32
103
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you like standard food and ropey service go elsewhere. However if you like top quality presentation, high quality food and good variety from chefs who give a damn, attentive staff who want to please and great ambiance, then this should be your destination. Last week's Steak Night surpassed all expectations. Everyone of my party of 9 walked out having had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Our waitress for the evening Chrissy first brought us the cuts of meat available and very ably described the differences, then took our orders and even with a full house, starters and mains arrived in timely fashion. Chateau Briands, T-Bone, New York Strip, Fillet Surf & Turf and Rump were all sampled and frankly I can't wait for next time....oh and the wine. Not your run of the mill wine list and plenty of quality and variety for all tastes and pockets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWT217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had an amazing time at the steak night on Saturday 20th July. The staff were more than accommodating when an extra guest arrived to our table. A place setting and chair was added before we knew it! The steak was cooked to perfection and the waitresses were more than accommodating to our obsession with ketchup and supplied more than enough to our table. The service was impeccable down to the last detail especially from the head waitress who talked us through each cut of meat and explained them all perfectly. I will without a doubt be returning to The Crown Inn for the future steak nights. SO GLAD IT IS A MONTHLY THING!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We rarely book our meals and prefer to just turn up and take a chance. The Crown was packed with guests attending a party over the road (as were we) but the friendly staff pulled together two tables and fitted us in. We all had the fish and chips which consisted of a huge piece of cod lightly fried in tempura batter, instead of the usual concrete beer batter used in most pubs. Absolutely delightful. The young lad serving us was a credit to the business.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I arrived late, but the welcome was friendly, and not too late to enjoy a scrumptious snack in the bar with an excellent pint. The bedroom was immaculate, and I slept like a baby in the four poster bed. Just as well, as working early the next morning on a photography shoot, perfectly set up with a great breakfast, and even my choice of freshly brewed coffee!
Thanks team. Bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on Friday night for our 21st wedding anniversary. We had a friendly welcome. The inn is absolutely beautiful. So much history and character. Prices are average for drinks I would say. The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious. Top class in every way.

Room Tip: Find out if there is going to be an event on if your staying the night. We were in room 18 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on the way back to Guildford from the coast. Had a lovely evening meal, fish cakes and salad, a beef burger and fish and chips. Service fairly fast, prices mid range, food fresh, but the inn itself, simply stunning, well worth a visit. Will go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,025 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
472 reviews
5.8 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
423 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing