We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 40th Anniversary Party”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked my parent's surprise 40th Anniversary Party at the Crown for a Sunday. I grew up in Godalming and know the pub but haven't been here since it was refurbished.

Initially, however, I was a little disappointed as I found out last minute our party was on two separate tables. But, they had a cancellation and we were fortunate enough to get the huge table in the back. It was wonderful and made our day.

Marcus (the General Manager) and the rest of the team at the Crown, looked after us the entire day, from coordinating out little surprise gathering in the courtyard (which involved setting up banners and the table with champagne etc.) to helping us with all the flowers and cakes etc.

The food was very good. Some of the starters were better than others and seemed a better quality than others, but the mains and deserts were all consistently very good. We also had some very strict dietary requirements on the table which Marcus took great care over and the chef/s did a brilliant job.

As our lunch went on a little, they needed to move us in to the bar for our tea and coffee which worked out very well as it gave us a change of scenery. We also ate our anniversary cake which I'd made (this icing had got all squished in the car) and when it came out (we'd asked them to put it in the fridge) the chef has redone the icing for me to make it look like a professional cake (it definitely didn't look that good when I had done it that morning!).

Overall, we had the best experience there with impeccable service and were very well catered for to our unique requirements. Several members of our group have already said "I've only ever been here for a drink before, but I'm definitely going to host my next party here".

Thank you for making my parent's 40th Anniversary an even more memorable occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances94109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Have driven past this pub lots of times and always liked the look of it. So we went for a meal last weekend ( 31st Aug). Group of 6
Cant fault the service, staff or the actual pub itself , really nice traditional pub.
However, we felt the food was below par for the price that you pay. My meal was ok, but some of the other meals, were akin to the cheap budget chain pub meals! not worth the £15 more like a £7.50 meal!
Which is a shame. Due to this we will not go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeaton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful old English inn in a classic English village. Dined here with family and the food is very good. More posh pub grub than fine dining, so slightly at odds with the traditional oak panelled dining room. Very good quality food though. Service a little mixed, some wait staff were very friendly and on the ball, but one individual lagged a little behind. I'd be more than happy to go again and it is a great place to take overseas visitors who want to visit a quintessential English pub. Looked a nice place to stay too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

my wife booked the crown for my birthday, it was a great place to stay, we stayed in a lovely room with four poster bed, beams and panelling, the evening meal was good and tasty, staff very friendly and efficient, we had a full English breakfast plus a help your self buffet, which was included in price, dining room was atmospheric, with panelled walls and old fire place, we would recommend this hotel, and will be returning in the near future, the only problem we had, was following the directions and map printed in the AA guide book, which gave the hotel on a different road and the town of Alford, the crown in Alford no longer stands, so follow the postcode of the inn, on your sat nav.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went with friends to the restaurant in this pub for a really good mea. Would have liked to rate it as a restaurant, but this site returns it a a hotel. Menu had great choices - the sharing platters were tempting and looked good as they were served at other tables, but we opted for nibbles, starters, main and dessert. All of out choices looked and tasted very good and I would rate the food as very good to excellent. Wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A fantastic steak night on July 20th. The food, wine and service were all first class. By far the best steak night I have experienced . After some excellent starters, an offering of more than 7 different cuts of steak were beautifully presented on a board to allow you to make your choice. To complement the steaks was a wine list that equals and probably exceeds many of the finer restaurants in London, in terms of choice, quality and price.
Having gorged on a 22 ounce t-bone, there was just enough room to fit in a dessert or choose from the expansive cheese board-----I had both !!
A great evening and a great atmosphere with first class service . Will need to book early for the next steak night as it was so highly praised that no doubt the next event will be a sell out !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you like standard food and ropey service go elsewhere. However if you like top quality presentation, high quality food and good variety from chefs who give a damn, attentive staff who want to please and great ambiance, then this should be your destination. Last week's Steak Night surpassed all expectations. Everyone of my party of 9 walked out having had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Our waitress for the evening Chrissy first brought us the cuts of meat available and very ably described the differences, then took our orders and even with a full house, starters and mains arrived in timely fashion. Chateau Briands, T-Bone, New York Strip, Fillet Surf & Turf and Rump were all sampled and frankly I can't wait for next time....oh and the wine. Not your run of the mill wine list and plenty of quality and variety for all tastes and pockets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWT217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
7.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,078 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
502 reviews
5.8 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
259 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range: £96 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing