We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real Italy”
Review of B&B Rifugio Uscio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Rifugio Uscio
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“real Italy”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

"It's a real Italy" - was our first thought, when we enterted that hostel, beautifully situated in high italian mountains. We admired our not very large, but convenient, comfortable and colorful pink room with a wonderful view on the mountains from the window . We'd planned to swim and lay on the beach for the whole period of 3 days and were happy to learn from Sonia that we have had a very wide choice of beaches nearby to lay on - from rather soft with very little stones to one with rocks and big stones - a perfect place to swim and dive, with very clean, turquoise water. Thanks to hear useful tips we had some beautiful beaches to visit. We also appreciated very friendly and pleasing atmosphere, opportunity to grill outdoor (in the garden), besides the hostel and free lessons of italian cooking!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna0986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    30
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
14
34
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

we spend 3 days at the rifugio uscio with some friends and hat a great time there.
in this sweet house with its great views surrounded by wounderful nature you can have a good time to relax and use it as a base for hiking around.
the owner was overhelming friendly and always at your side with good tips and advise concerning our hiking tour or how to find a good place to dive into the sea.
i really liked the atmosphere and a very good barbecue with the other guests and the owner.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmb_hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Staying with Sonia was a fantastic experience. Her home has beautiful views from the mountains, down through the valley and to the sea. She was incredibly friendly and welcoming, with tons of great tips for what to do in the area. Breakfast was delicious. Be sure to take the boat to San Fruttuoso, absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blainefabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Sonia was a welcoming and friendly host who went out of her way to make us feel at home. The 10 km bus ride inland was exciting and interesting - windy mountain road through little villages with glimpses of the Italian Riveria. Once there, easy to find as signs everywhere!! The bottom floor (where guests stay) was private and extremely well appointed and everything sparkling clean and cosy.

Its an easy bus ride then ferry to the magnificent Portofino Park and lots of trekking in the nearby national parks which Sonia was very happy to give us ample information about. Altogether a great place, slightly off the tourist radar!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zürich
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

we really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere at the hostel. the helpful tipps from the owner sonja helped us planning our trips trough the portofino nature park which was very nice to hike in. she also helped us with mappes and even ordered a table at the local pizzeria in the village where we had a nice dinner.
we would recommend this place for anybody who likes hiking in the mountains. the portofino park is really nice for it. we visited the park in spring so we enjoyed the nice temperatures and could even swim in the sea (little cold, depend where you're from :).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelav86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Sonia, the owner was very nice. She did many things extra to make our visit, pleasant and memorable.

The main thing that I did not like was that she would not honor her promise to give us ”the green room with the big balcony and sea view surrounding the hills of Recco Valley, with a big bathroom private.” She downgraded us into a lesser room - smaller with just a side garden view and would not let us change rooms. This especially bothered me, because we were there for an extra long time, (5 days), and the nicer, bigger room was empty much of that time; the room with the view was much of the reason why I chose this particular bed and breakfast. Also, there was no private bathroom. The two rooms share a hall bath.

It should also be understood that this facility is at the top of the mountain. The only way to go or come from it is to drive steep narrow mountain roads for half an hour every time you want to come or go anywhere. Parking is very difficult, and you're on your own to find a street spot somewhere. All the roads are very narrow and steep.

Just know that they are steep mountain roads and stairs involved. This is best for people with no mobility problems. But the experience, overall was very memorable and Sonja did many other things extra to help us, advise us and make our visit enjoyable and comfortable. The view from her place is breathtaking. It is the real Italy -- very definitely off the beaten path.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I have been traveling around the East coast of Italy for the past month and this place allowed me to get to know the real italy, not a touristic italy. It is very accessible through the gorgeous roads from Recco, only 9km to Uscio where people live the way you might have seen in movies from the 80s. Very familiar place with a great atmosphere.
Got the chance to taste the best food of the region. What i found amazing is that you will not feel like in a restaurant ordering just food... The owner of the place will offer you the best dishes made in the moment you ask for it and cooked by his wife! (the prices are also amazing compared to Portofino!!!!!)
This is a place to recommend for a very relaxing time and discover the real Italy!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alefinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uscio
Albergo Caprile
#1 of 1 in Uscio
79 reviews
Hotel Elena
#1 of 3 in Recco
568 reviews
Locanda Bell' Aria
#2 of 4 in Uscio
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
OStellin Genova - Hostel
Show Prices

Been to B&B Rifugio Uscio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Rifugio Uscio

Property: B&B Rifugio Uscio
Address: Salita Olivi 9, 16036 Uscio, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Genoa > Uscio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Uscio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Rifugio Uscio typical old Liguria Guesthouse situated in Uscio in downtown (over the church of Uscio), Genova, at only 9 km from Recco and Camogli, Portofino, it offers sea view and a large garden, a mild and airy climate all year round, as well as the possibility to practice several sports activities: diving (in Portofino Marine Reserve), hiking with sea view, sailing, canoeing, mountain bike tours, tours on horseback, and a beautiful sea. Uscio lies in a panoramic position towards the amphitheater-shaped Recco Valley, an open and panoramic valley always facing the mountains and the sea. An untouched area situated among three regional parks. Uscio is an important destination for hikers because, at only 100 meters from B&B Rifugio Uscio, they will find the connection trail (no. 53) leading from Portofino to Alta Via dei Monti Liguri.Uscio è un bel villaggio sopra Recco Ge a 9 km dal mare,il paese piu' in alto (350 metri) e panoramico del Golfo Paradiso. Vicino al Parco di Portofino. Numerse le attività sportive che si possono praticare: nuoto, kayak, diving e un sano escursionismo su sentieri molti dei quali sono tutti vista mare sul Golfo Paradiso e sul Golfo Tigullio.Il B&B Rifugio Uscio è in centro sopra la chiesa del paese ( come si vede dalla foto di sinistra) di Uscio con una vista mare monti molto suggestiva. E' una casa storica ( primi anni 20) con pavimenti a mosaico originali, camere colorate arredate con gusto e semplicità. L' ampio giardino è a disposizione dei clienti e il comodo barbeque è in utilizzo gratuito con tavoli e sedie per chi prenota per almeno due notti . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your B&B Rifugio Uscio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing