We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy pub with friendly staff and customers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russell Inn

The Russell Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Polruan
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional style Cornish pub serving good quality home produced fayre and a great selection of fine local ales & ciders
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with friendly staff and customers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We ate there on 12th July and it was very good pub food - a cut above the ordinary. I particularly liked the rare roast duck which was on the Special Board that night. Good range of real ales too. It gets the thumbs up from me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    12
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

A bit belated I'd like to thoroughly recommend the Russell. I stayed in Fowey for a week in late May 2012 and although Fowey has quite a good selection of pubs in it's own right, I spent almost every evening in the Russell. Going there by the Polruan ferry was a bonus, a nice difference to just walking down the street. ( and it was the last ferry back each time I went there).
The pub is very cosy (almost a bit too cosy for me, being 6'6''...). A good selection of well kept beers, very good food, very friendly locals... I felt very much at home here and will be returning during my tour of the SWCP in August 2013. Very much looking forward to it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Good ale. Proper Job. Scampi was fine and the cauliflower cheese excellent.
Nice warm welcome and our dogs were welcome

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly village pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have been many times to the Russell and always eaten very well. The choice of food is traditional on the whole but well cooked and reasonable value. Puddings are very generous and delicious. Atmosphere is always warm and welcoming. A great place for the whole family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkingside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch after The Hall Walk from Bodinnick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had lunch here after our doing "The Hall Walk" from Bodinnick with our greyhound Abi. Very welcoming, hospitalable & accomodating as they were happy for us to bring the dog in too!
Nice lunch & LOVELY cuppa to warm us up :) We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Russell Inn also viewed

Polruan, Cornwall
Polruan, Cornwall
 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Russell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing