We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real pub, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Russell Inn

The Russell Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Polruan
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family and dog friendly pub, that serves good food at affordable prices. A warm & friendly place to visit.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Real pub, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We loved the atmosphere here and found it to be an unpretentious and genuine pub, with decent grub as a bonus. We all had different meals and none of us were disappointed. We will return again later in the week because none of us tried the fish and chips which looked amazing (and huge!).
Four hand-pull St Austell beers, in good condition. The place is quirky and a bit cluttered and a welcome change from "chain" pubs which are often so sterile. It's one of those pubs that is inexplicably more than the sum of its parts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    12
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

great food and a lovely atmosphere, good value, friendly service so worth a visit if you happen to be in Polruan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No real welcome?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited the Russell Inn one lunchtime for some food - the weather was great so we thought it would be busy, but it was almost empty?
As another reviewer said, "the girl behind the bar was courteous", and helpful, she dealt with our food order for seven people well.
The only other people in the bar were, I suspect the owners &/or staff. It appeared that the 'chef' had to finish a long conversation in the bar before departing to prepare our food.
Other than that the food was fine and plentiful but not outstanding - the drinks were rather expensive, as is the case in many Cornish pubs nowadays!
Overall I would visit again, but what a difference a warm welcome from the landlord would make!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roobarbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cosy Cornish pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We visited this lovely pub several times on our recent stay in Polruan and enjoyed it each time. The food is good and the portions plentiful. There is a regular pub style menu(the fish & chips were huge!) and also a specials board-I can recommend the surf & turf. The bar is stocked with some excellent Cornish ales, and all the staff we met were friendly & helpful. All in all, a charming & cosy pub-recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPW753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Most unfriendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been visiting Polruan for a number of years and used to really enjoy visiting and eating in this pub. On our last visit it had changed hands and we felt the atmosphere had changed significantly. In the interests of fairness we thought we should give it another go.

When we went in, there was no one else there - it was lunchtime. The girl behind the bar was courteous but no more than that. The manager came in, obviously having been shopping, and passed our table several times without acknowledging us.

We had considered eating there but changed our minds - and went to the much friendlier Lugger Inn. Our decision wasn't just based on the lack of atmosphere but also on the selection of foodstuffs that were being brought in. We like to eat locally sourced food and I think it's unlikely that this would be available in Asda!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SorchaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Russell Inn also viewed

Polruan, Cornwall
Polruan, Cornwall
 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to The Russell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing