We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
120
10
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
120
10
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews passenger ferry information room well stocked shop steep hill beautiful site coastal path motor home campsite shop toilets shower high winds grounds are immaculate grass pitch direct access onsite shop great facilities beautiful sea spent nights here
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The Park is 5 star being run by a family team. Without doubt a fantastic stay. Spotless amenities and a well stocked shop. Strongly recommended when visiting Cornwall. We will definitely visit again. Ideally situated for Fowey

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived back home in the very early hours from another brilliant holiday in Polruan and another stay at this fantastic campsite. We previously stayed here 2 years ago and chose the site because of the location and great reviews. I can definitely say that the campsite has lost non of its appeal.

If you want a campsite which caters for large, rowdy groups who give no regard for families this is not the site for you. The site is very well run and organised. Everything is spotless, including the toilets and showers, washing areas, and the grounds themselves. Visitors also have the opportunity to use fridge and freezer space and microwave facilities for free, something most campsites don't offer and are a bonus whilst camping. The site is very well laid out to accommodate caravans, camper vans, large tents with electric and smaller tents whilst still feeling very spacious and private.

The shop is stocked with a fantastic range and a local produce van visits a couple of times a week for fruit and veg etc. Also a fish and chip van visits the lane near the camp every week.

All of the above comments would encourage me to look to book if I were a first time visitor but the biggest selling point are the people who run it. Kevin, Trudy and Barry work extremely hard all of the time to make each stay extremely enjoyable. Never too busy to stop and chat, offer local advice or help with any issues you may have whilst staying with them. It really feels like you are living in their home for a week and they are extremely inviting and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble. They have very clear expectations of what they expect from visitors and these expectations are what makes the site what it is - a very safe and enjoyable place for us to take our children on holiday.

I did read a couple of not so kind reviews about the site whilst looking to write this which included personal comments. This seems very very unkind and not our experience at all. All I can say is that whilst we were camping there were at least another 3 previous visitors to the site also staying which proves how great and friendly this site is and makes people come back time after time. This says a lot. On a personal note we travelled back home unexpectedly during the late evening and early hours which meant we did not arrive home until approx 4am. The very first email we opened this morning was from Kevin who wanted to check we had got home safely and hoped we had a lovely holiday. What more can I say???? Lovely, lovely people. We will be going back again as soon as we can!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dezzyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We stayed at Polruan Holiday Park for 4 nights in a tent, on 10th August, it was my husband, son, myself and our dog.

This campsite is perfect. Well stocked shop and reasonable prices, well maintained grounds, friendly, helpful staff, but most of all spotless toilets and showers.
We liked that the campsite was quiet at night and the rules are in place to keep everyone happy and safe.

Our pitch was on the upper field and all pitches were well laid out and spacious, with sufficient room for our large tent and two cars. I liked that no one was pitched in the centre of the field, so everyone could have great views over the hills and ocean.

The site has a washing up area; a laundry room; coffee making machine and microwave; information room, with books to swap or borrow; recycling and waste bin area.

There are 3 showers in both men's and ladies toilets, with 7 minute timer buttons for hot water, immaculately kept. Toilets were cleaned frequently and everywhere was spotless.

A fresh fruit and veg van arrived during our stay, which had a good variety and we also tried the fish and chip van which was over the road one evening, really tasty.

The walk down to Polruan village was steep, but well worth it to see the quaint village and get to the foot ferry (the car ferry is further up the road in Boddenick, £5 per car)
For our return to the campsite we used the coastal path, not so steep and lovely views.

We explored the fields over the road one evening and were delighted to see so many rabbits hopping around.
Overall we had an amazing, relaxing stay, pity about the pelting rain and high winds one night!
Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jas0nCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We returned a week ago from a 13 night stay on this site. I've just read igale's review and agree with everything he wrote. We stayed on the lower field as we've got a tent. We had a wonderful view of the sea and we also are hoping to return next year. The site is so well kept. The toilets and showers were spotless and Trudy and Kevin were around at 11pm each evening, cleaning and making sure everything was clean and tidy. We loved the rules on this site - no day visitors means the site stays quite quiet, and we also really liked the peace and quiet after 10.30pm. The rules weren't over the top however. We often didn't need to use the car - we got lots of ferries across to Fowey, got the bus to Polperro (it stops outside the site) and did a lovely walk from the site. If you time it right you can also catch the minibus up the hill from the quay. We've got 2 boys and they loved playing on the playing field just over the little raised hedge from our field and making friends. This is the best site we've ever stayed on and we're missing it already! I've read the 2 recent bad reviews and we were staying when they were. Our experience was that they were both 2 large parties which Kevin was obviously trying to accommodate and that their expectation of being close to each other wasn't realistic for the size of the site. Can't rate this site highly enough.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Claire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, Owner at Polruan Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do believe we work hard to ensue all our visitors have a perfect holiday, we are pleased you loved our park rules which are all about respect and consideration to your fellow campers, and of course safety. It’s a real pleasure for us when visitors appreciate our hard work. We do hope you have many happy memories, you certainly made the most of your time in Cornwall. Your boys are great and a delight to have them on site. Please do return, we would love to have you stay with us again, hopefully you will choose to come back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Polruan Holiday Park, as seasoned family campers with a few years of experience we have stayed at some really great campsites all over Dorset, Devon & Cornwall, and this is one of the best , if not the best! The views are fantastic with both Polruan and Fowey being true Cornish picture postcards.

We were pitched up in the main electric field in our VW T4, all of one side of the field was VW Campers so this made for good conversation between owners over the course of the week, friends made and contact details shared.

Kevin & Trudy are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, they honestly want you to have a great stay at their park and come back again. Both of them and their Son work all day in the park cleaning, tidying, pruning, and it shows, the site is spotless! (I wish my lawn was as well kept!). This is an honest family run site to the highest standard, and is without a doubt the best kept campsite we’ve ever visited.

We loved this site so much we are already talking about booking up for next year, maybe a week later than this visit so we can enjoy the famous Regatta.

Ian, Leia & Harrison :-)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank igale2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, Owner at Polruan Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Your kind words are very much appreciated, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us, you are great people, we are pleased you choose Polruan Holidays to be your holiday destination, we do hope you have taken home many happy memories. Your son is a great lad you must be very proud, please do come back we would love to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews