We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glendalough Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Quest Flemington(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkville Motel(Brunswick)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne(Melbourne)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments on Flemington(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
72
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtplace to stayshort walkmusic roomhelpful advicearchitectural gemhostmelbournecityaccommodationcheesetransportlaundrytimingstanglendaloughanxiety
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had a great time staying with Stan for my brief visit to Melbourne. Glendalough B&B is in peaceful quiet neighbourhood. Getting to the city centre is easy, just hop on a tram - kitted out with a public transport card by Stan - a ride of 20 minutes gets you straight to Flinder's station. Stan is a wonderful and generous host with lots of recommendations on what to do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

we only stayed three night in Melbourne and we found this juwel in Melbourne. The best thing about this B&B is your host Stan. He picks you up from the airport, organizes basically everything and gives you very good advices what to do in Melbourne. He serves you a terrific breakfast. The second best thing is the price for the room (remember you are in Melbourne). This all together cannot be beaten. We had the piano room with a king size bed and a shared bathroom. Evereything was very clean. The house itself is more or less like a museum of antique stuff itself. It is a 5 minute walk to the tram which takes directly to the city center. For sure Stan will organize the tram tickets for you. If we will come back to Melbourne we will stay with Stan again. If you are from Sweden you should stay here since he speaks fluently Swedish!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay with Stan after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Melbourne is a beautiful city and Stan made our stay that much more enjoyable . We had a wonderful time on two tours ( Great Ocean Road & Yarra Valley Wine ttasting) that he had recommended. He went above the call of duty driving us for an early morning tour pick up and stayed with us (there was a mix up on location) until transportation arrived. The early breakfasts were good but surpassed by evening kitchen conversations with sparkling wine. Glendalough B&B is such a refreshing change of scene compared to staying in another hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Glendalough B&B is a perfect place to stay for someone who is visiting Melbourne for the first time. The location is good , just 20 minutes tram ride to the city and a very peaceful neighbourhood and it also helps that Stan is such a wonderful host. He picked us from the airport and it was a 20 minutes drive to the city.

The rooms are cozy but spacious enough for a couple to stay. We stayed for 8 nights and didn't have any problems using the shared toilets. The breakfast provided is decent with few choices of bread ,coffee/tea and a bowl of fruits.

It was a great experience staying with Stan , as he is a very helpful and a interactive host. He is a fairly good knowledge of the city and its history and its good to get this information from an experienced traveller like him.

Room Tip: Piano room is good !!..
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhruv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Staying at Glendalough should be one of the main Melbourne attractions! Of course, as a B&B it has none of the sterile, anonymous features of a hotel, but even as a B&B it is so special because of Stan. He really " knocks himself out" to be a terrific host - pick ups from the airport for a small fee, transit cards provided, great suggestions on where to go and what to eat - (he likes authentic cuisine - often local - not overpriced tourist food!.) wonderful breakfasts, laundry washed and dried on his outside clothes line - and much more. I don't know when he sleeps as breakfast is always ready when you get up and he is usually up when you come in after a long day sightseeing - and always asks about your day.

Stan is genuinely interested in his guests = really in life in general - He had a career that took him all over the world to work and his home is filled with treasures from those travels. it is true that there is not a lot of room to put your stuff in the piano room - with a grand piano - and organ and beautiful artifacts - but that slight inconvenience is more than repaid with the pleasure of enjoying these beautiful objects. This is a magnificent heritage home and the atmosphere is perfect.

My favorite thing - Stan provided soft cotton Japanese kimonos for the guests to wear to/from the central bath - but some of us wore them to breakfast as they were lovely and we felt so comfortable in his home.

On some of the evenings when we were not out late sightseeing - we joined Stan and other guests and friends around his kitchen table for great chats over a glass or two of wine. These are the great memories I will have forever from my first trip to Australia.

The house is in a lovely safe and quiet neighborhood = a couple of blocks to the tram and very easy to find. We actually stayed there twice during our holiday - before and after a trip to Tasmania - on our return I really felt like we were going home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MollyBrownOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews