We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place, but too expensive”
Review of Vila Gale Cumbuco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cumbuco
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caucaia
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place, but too expensive”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is a very nice hotel, but they charge too much considering the Brazilian market. It´s a pity, because it is a very beautiful place, but Brazil is not Sweden and cannot handle such huge prices. My suggestion: half the price would be fair.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetoDeLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    1,215
    471
    188
    92
See reviews for
1,773
645
15
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is very impressive, Great rooms and pool. Good restaurants. The beach is beautiful. I don't have problem taking my butt of the chair, so I can't complain about the service. I just think the all inclusive is very poor. I expected eat shrimps and drink a good cachaça (I'm fro Minas Gerais and I'm used to drinking the best cachaça) all day long. Poor of me! Fried shrimp in the pool? just one day out of five. Good cachaça? Forget. For lunch you have something like any regular restaurant self-service. I assume, one of the best pudim (pudim de leite condensado) I've ever eaten.

Room Tip: Get away from the pool area. Too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Worst check in I ever had. Basically they just gave me an envelope with the keys and two towell cards, no comment on what was there. No explanation on how the resort works, what kind of amenities they have, what kind of restaurants, where was my unit located, nothing. No simpathy at all... According to the hours we arrived (23:00) no one told us that we could have a late dinner at the restaurant, we had to aks.
We where on honey moon, no special wellcome in the room. We tried to complain but there was no manager at the hotel (not at this time or any other time we had to complain during our stay - 1 week - and we had to complain a lot). They said they would accomodate the room according to the honeymoon package, but the only think we had was a bottle of champaigne... No chocolates, no fruit, no special deco, as they said we would have...
During our stay we yield with several issues, the worst is that employees are not qualified. Most of them are rude, no simpathy, and have no training at all.
When you communicate some issue, it takes loooong before they solve it... Ex.: issue with toilet paper? We asked 3 times, and had to wait for 5 hours... That's just an example between others... Issue with toilets? Again, call the reception several times if you want it fixed. And good luck, 'cause they never answer first time... And can take several minutes to pick up the phone...
If you need anything from the reception, they have 3 persons in there, but looks like that only 1 is. The others are just figurative, as they will ask you to wait for the 3rd one (the only 1 allowed to do anything - the others are just there for smile - and they don't smile).
And when you need to check out, please start it 3 hours before, or you might have issues... We asked at 14:00 , to grab hour luggage at in the room at 19:00 (before check-out), we were supposed to leave at 19:30. At 18:55 we were at the room waiting. We waited until 19:05, and tried to call the reception, to understand what was happenning, We had to try for 5 minutes. No one answered. We had to go directly to the reception, there I had to wait for my turn (normal), but when finally it was me, again, the person was not allowed to check-out... I should wait for the only person that was allowed, that was check-in other guests. I had to wait until 19:20. At this point, they said that they would only pick-up the luggage after the check-out (they didn't mentioned that when we called at 14:00), and then we had to wait until 19:45 for someone to pick-up the luggage, and just after we really got mad with the situation. And it had to be the receptionist to take the luggage, because no one was answering....
Resuming: very poor service. No training at all, no knowledge, no simpathy, no nothing... This is really not a 5* hotel... I guarantee. We stayed in several other 5* hotels/resorts(AI), and there is no match.

Room Tip: The Chalet is not bad, but looks like that standard rooms are not that nice (according to others com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MO310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has stellar service, cleanliness and quality in everything they provide. Food is always fresh and delicious and available at all times. Rooms are large and very well maintained. Service is top notch.

I have stayed at many five star hotels in my business travel and this hotel has nothing to envy them. In many cases it actually exceeds five star standards including a formidable crew.

Cumbuco and vila gale are the perfect combination to enjoy one of the most beautiful places on earth with infinite beaches , wind and sun and stay at a world class hotel that makes it an absolute pleasure all around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

By far the worst all-inclusive I have had the misfortune of staying at. The food was mediocre at best, the service horrendous all of the time and the beach could not be used because of the high winds, rip tides, sharks, jellyfish and trash everywhere. There were drunken teenagers banging on doors all night. DO NOT STAY HERE. Go somewhere - anywhere - else. Especially for North American travellers, this will not meet any of your expectations. Also in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do except eat, drink and lie by the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Hotel Vila Galé Cumbuco provides as interesting experience for those who wants to rest in almost deserted beach.
The Hotel consists of two buildings of apartments and chalets among them, the sea and the pool.
I was in a master chalet, almost 90 square meters, just in front of the beach, but not exactly overlooking the sea, because there are some dunes between the hotel and the sea in some places.
The meal plan is all inclusive and the food was good.
The pool is large and leisure activities are close together.
Spa is very interesting and relaxing place. Saunas are great and there are a awesome menu of esthetic treatments.
For those who want to try kite surfing, Cumbuco is the right place, with constant and intense wind.
The beach is full of dunes and almost no vegetation.
The sea is not recommended for unaccompanied children.
The Vila Gale Hotel needs to worry a bit about cleaning the dunes around it, because the wind pushes the garbage left by some people in the sand.
It is a relatively new resort hotel and worth a stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Standard roons have 45 meters square and they are closer to the front desk. Superior rooms have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here 7 days in September. It's a great place to bring your family. Food is excellent and staff is friendly. They have a very good area for kids to play which gave me all the freedom I needed to kitesurf in front of the resort where the waves are the best.

However, they mix business conferences with resort guests. When we were there they had a 400 people conference and they closed down one of the a la carte restaurants and we could not eat there for 3 days. They should tell guests about up coming conferences.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caucaia
23.9 mi away
Vila Gale Fortaleza
Vila Gale Fortaleza
#30 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,724 reviews
17.9 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#22 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kariri Beach Hotel
Kariri Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cumbuco
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,137 reviews
23.1 mi away
Crocobeach Hotel
Crocobeach Hotel
#2 of 95 in Fortaleza
288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
#1 of 8 in Caucaia
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cumbuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cumbuco

Property: Vila Gale Cumbuco
Address: Rua Lagoa das Rosas | Praia do Cumbuco - Capuan, Caucaia, State of Ceara 61600-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caucaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cumbuco 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel enjoys a heavenly location amidst the dunes of Costa dos Ventos, right next to the charming town of Cumbuco. It lies some 3 km from Lagoa Do Banana and around 5 km from the centre of Caucaia. Fortaleza is a short 33 km drive away. Built in 2010, this beach resort hotel is in perfect harmony with the surrounding environment. It comprises a total of 465 rooms featuring decor inspired by nautical sports and including 24 suites, 15 master chalets, 17 superior chalets and 17 standard chalets. Guests have the opportunity to experience fine dining in the hotel's 5 restaurants. Facilities on offer to guests include a lobby area with 24-hour reception and check-out services, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, a cloakroom and lift access. Guests have a newspaper stand, a hairdressing salon, an auditorium and a games room at their disposal and there is a children's playground and a kids' club for the younger guests. There is a cafe, two bars, a disco and five restaurants on site. They can also take advantage of the room, laundry and Wi-Fi Internet service (for an additional fee) and there is parking for those arriving by car. All rooms come with are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, private balcony, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Guests at this hotel can enjoy various leisure areas and activities for all ages as a complement to their holiday. The hotel features 2 swimming pools including an indoor heated swimming pool (charges apply) with a children's swimming area. Guests can relax at the poolside snack bar and there are sun loungers and parasols laid out for their use. They can also join an aqua fit or aerobics session or work out in the gym. Furthermore, it is possible to relax in the Satsanga Spa, with its Longevity and Vitality Centre, offering a Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, hamamm, as well as massages, spa treatments, yoga and acupuncture for additional fees. Water sports fans can go diving, windsurfing or sailing (charges apply to all) and there is also table tennis, tennis, volleyball or beach volleyball are also on offer. The hotel also puts on an entertainment programme for children. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet. Lunch is also available with buffet and dinner can be enjoyed a la carte or from a set menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Cumbuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cumbuco Hotel Caucaia
Vila Gale Cumbuco Brazil/Caucaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing