We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - don't try anywhere else!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - don't try anywhere else!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

On the basis of reviews on trip adviser I booked this place for our 30th wedding anniversary road trip in July 2013. We stayed 2 nights in the green room and were made most welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel only has a few rooms - 4 I think, could be wrong - but they are beautifully decorated in Georgian style and are well furnished. There is a welcome pack in the room, including some sherry, if I recall.
In the morning we had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden, accompanied by the owners' two dogs and several chickens which I loved. It was so relaxing we wanted to stay sitting there all day. The breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit aplenty, wide range of cereals, croissants etc. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and my wife had haddock, both cooked superbly. I give this place 11 out of 10, fantastic, better than excellent!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your rather overwhelming and generous review. I'm always glad to receive feedback-good or bad as it helps us to make sure we're on the right track. We're very pleased you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations and please do come again another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
218
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We wanted to visit Ludlow for the Christmas Medaeval Fayre so we stayed last week for three nights in the Yellow Room.Everything said previously in other reviews is absolutely correct.Couldn't fault Izzy's home from home in any way. The room was immaculate and innumerable extras were provided -dressing gowns,slippers,three types of bottled water,chocs,sherry,home-made cookies & tea,coffee etc. A fridge on the landing with a flask of fresh milk for each room.
Our stay was more like visiting relatives in their beautifully appointed Georgian home.We went out to eat each evening (try the Boyne Arms nearby- excellent food) and came back to a bed warmed with furry hot water bottles ! A lovely thoughtful touch.
Breakfasts were huge with so much choice (even home made apple juice ) and served in the dining room- outside on the terrace the hens & ducks wandered around while Izzy's two dogs peered round the dining room door at us (they know they're not allowed in there).
We would love to visit in the Summer to appreciate the gardens and surroundings and think we would treat ourselves to the huge Green room which looked amazing.
Thank you Izzy and Andy for everything.
Rhona and Bill

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the Green Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumbrian216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Ludlow. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a very kind review. We loved having you and please do come and see us again when the weather is a bit better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in The Yellow Room for just the one night. A gem is an understatement, quite probably the best B& B we have ever stayed in. Everything was so impressive from the arrival, hosting, facilities, accommodation until the super breakfast the following morning.

A must for a return in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dartilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review us and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for four nights in July,(the week we had the heatwave), I have only just registered for trip advisor or would have posted review at the time we stayed. What to say about this wonderful place to stay? it was magical, it was the best bed and breakfast or indeed hotel we have stayed in, the house was beautiful in a glorious location. Izzy, Andy and their team are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them, the breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choice, food cooked to perfection and everything presented as befitting a 5 star establishment, if it were possible we would give the Old Rectory 6 star gold, we felt so at home and whilst we had the smallest room (yellow) it was my favourite, the bathroom was fabulous too, overlooking the garden and very spacious, the whole experience was an absolute delight, we can't wait to come back again, thank you Izzy and Andy for an unforgettable few days in your gorgeous home, Michele and Graeme

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele265719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Michelle and Graeme,

What a very generous review. Thank you for taking the time to send it. The heatwave last year seems a distant memory now after this terribly wet winter, but lets hope the weather picks up soon and guests can get out to enjoy the garden soon. I look forward to tea on the terrace once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Gorgeous rooms in georgian house set in the beautiful Ludlow Hills in Shropshire, I stayed in Yellow Room overlooking the stable yard, comfy bed, feather pillows & duvet, scrummy breakfasts and lovely accommodating hosts - Izzie & Andy. I took my cocker spaniel and horse who also had a lovely time. Fantastic bridleways , Izzie came along too with Tarmac the labrador and Bertie her well behaved horse and showed us the routes around this lovely part of Shropshire. Stables first class with hay and bedding provided. Purpose built brick loose box for Roxy with a well fenced paddock to herself with quality grazing. We'll be back ! Good pub in nearby Ludlow " The Unicorn" highly recommended evening meals as 3 Horseshoes doesnt allow doggies - Their loss! we spent our money at the Unicorn.

Room Tip: Website shows photos of rooms (3 very distinctly different) i'd booked the smaller as travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristianne431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novato, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have wanted to write a proper review to describe this wonderful guest home.....and feel at a loss to describe a most perfect 2 nights...Izzy and Andy were such wonderful hosts, along with their charming son and 2 doggies....we felt that we were treated to a real "home" experience....dogs licking, horses rolling, food abundant and delicious, fabulous bed, tranquil views, and all the help we could possibly want for our trip planning. Izzy even spent time on the phone to help me locate an old friend. ....Most of all, these are genuine people who put their hearts into everything they do and we LOVED and APPRECIATED it.....for our first visit ever to England, I most certainly can't stop dreaming about this special B and B. Thank you so much....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Old Rectory is off the beaten track in the hamlet of Wheathill but the directions given on its website make it very easy to find and it's landmarked clearly by The 3 Horse Shoes pub on one corner and the red post box at the entrance to the property's driveway. A beautiful house offering 3 distinctive bedrooms with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. We stayed in the Green Room which has a super king size bed with pillows you sink in to and it is so comfortable and spacious. The bedroom is very well appointed and furnished with a decanter of sherry on the sideboard and a 'service en chambre' box filled everyday with homemade biscuits, a selection of teas and instant or filter coffee. Bottles of water are also on the side table with china tea cups and Lindt chocolates! Spacious en suite with a stand alone bath and a modern shower cubicle; bath robes, thick (big) towels and ..... hot water! We were greeted warmly on arrival by Izzy and her 2 dogs, Tarmac and Bella, who are very well behaved and very friendly. There are horses in the stables and hens which provide the fresh breakfast eggs and ducks and rabbits galore on the expansive lawn. Afternoon tea was a delicious homemade carrot cake and for breakfast there is a selection of fresh fruits and yogurt, warm croissants and pastries followed by a cooked breakfast of choice. I can recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon; husband can recommend the Full English - with toast and conserves to follow. The place is welcoming, peaceful and relaxing and there is plenty to see and visit in the area. Absolutely no negatives at all.The Old Rectory is a wonderful place and we think that, for the experience offered, it is also very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: 3 rooms to choose from and all are well appointed and very comfortably furnished and equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
868 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Bed And Breakfast Wheathill, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing