We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A part of peaceful idyllic England”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The really is nothing to criticise here the setting is classic Shropshire and the houset is very beautiful inside and out. Our room (the blue room) was large and immaculate with a comfortable sofa, and a fantastic bed with was almost too good to get out of. Bathroom was large and once again well appointed. We were greeted warmly and genuinely and enjoyed tea and a very good carrot cake on the terrace. The tranquility here can not be exaggerated it is wonderful. The dogs, Tarmac and Tilly were delightful. This is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Blue room is a suite and highly recommended, but we are sure the others will also be top notch, yell...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAH981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay - please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the Old Rectory to celebrate our fiftieth birthday. There are three rooms for let and we booked all three. We had read the reviews before we came but could not believe the charm of the place when we arrived. There was homemade cake and tea served on the terrace when we got there. It was my cousin and my twin sister who beat me there and when it was time to choose the rooms we all agreed that our cousin who had booked it all to get the green room ( this is the biggest) . I decided to go for the yellow room giving up the on suite for a private bathroom just down a few steps. The rooms are a delight. All three were luxurious, beautifully decorated too and treats galore for us to drink and nibble. Fancy a sherry? and there is the decanter on the side. The bathrooms were out of this world. My roll top bath overlooked a beautiful garden.
We could not fault the breakfasts. You name it is was on offer and the best quality too.
We opted for a dinner on the Saturday night. This was such a luxury to have canapés served in the drawing room, followed by a gorgeous three course dinner and everything homemade and beautifully presented.
At present there is no licence. This suited us perfectly as we bought our own and the fridge on the landing was a perfect touch. The champagne chilled to perfection.
Do book this up If you want to be spoilt. This is the perfect place for a family gathering
My husband and I both enjoyed our two runs around the country lines.
Ludlow 15 minutes away is the perfect place to visit

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathyfiftynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I love it when people use the Old Rectory for a special occasion. I'm so glad you enjoyed your birthday weekend and we enjoyed having you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked The Old Rectory for a 50th birthday celebration for my twin cousins and myself. We were so warmly welcomed on a sunny Friday afternoon by Izzy, and treated to a lovely tea tray and delicious Victoria sponge, which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the pretty garden. We then picked our rooms, all of which are exceptional, we had the Green room which can only be described as stunning, the attention to detail is just wonderful!! Excellent range of beverages with beautiful china that matched the colour scheme and delicious homemade biscuits wrapped up in tissue. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room, plenty of choice, we had the full English, made with top quality ingredients and cooked to perfection. We booked an evening meal for the Saturday evening for our Birthday celebration. The dining room table looked stunning, laid up with lovely crystal. We had a most delicious meal served to us, again with top quality ingredients and perfectly cooked. Thank you Izzy, Andy and all at the Old Rectory for giving us such a special time. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We look forward to seeing you again - maybe for another significant celebration? Thanks for your lovely review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I, along with our two horses, enjoyed a lovely night's stay at The Old Rectory.

From the moment we rode up the smart gravel drive, lined with rhododendrons in bloom, we felt we had arrived somewhere special. Our thoughts were confirmed as we reached a well laid out stable yard where we were greeted by the lovely Izzy and made to feel very welcome. The horses were soon munching fresh hay in their inviting stables and we were shown in to a comfy sitting room where a delicious Victoria Sponge and pot of tea were waiting for us.

The house is a dream. It envelopes you in its calm elegance as soon as you walk through the door. With spacious Georgian proportions and beautiful décor you can feel a real sense of history as you discover each room.

We stayed in the blue room, which is delightful. The beds are extremely comfortable and we both slept like logs.

Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed by a log fire as we got to know The Old Rectory's other two guests that night. We also met Izzy's son and a young Italian staying on a working holiday - both of them charming.

We enjoyed a lovely dinner and an incredible array of food for breakfast the following morning.

Both of us were sorry to leave The Old Rectory; so much so that our planned 10 o'clock start for the next stage of our ride soon became a 12 o'clock start!

Thank you to all at The Old Rectory. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for your great review and we enjoyed having you and the horses to stay, I hope your onward ride went well and that you got back safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This B&B is like a luxurious home away from home. We were made to feel so welcome by both the human and canine hosts (inc a 3 month old puppy) and almost wish we had booked for longer. The green room was like something you see in a country home magazine and the breakfast was better than a 5* hotel I stayed in recently. We will be recommending to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMH89506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, General Manager at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for a lovely review . We very much enjoyed having you and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The testimonials speak eloquently - and accurately: this is a rare find - and we did find it easily enough, despite Satnav, thanks to the advice on the (excellent and completely reliable) website: it is in a delightful location with superb views of the local Shropshire hills (vintage Housman territory), off the beaten track and in lovely grounds and garden. The warmth of the reception from Izzy and Andy has been amply attested, and we found the welcome (including that from Tarmac and Tilly, the delightfully contrasting dogs) extremely friendly without being cloyingly assiduous: our hosts were attentive to detail and always helpful, for example over advice on restaurants and making reservations, and lending wellies to enable us to explore the estate. It was good, too, to discover and chew over unexpected common links. With the truly excellent room (see below) and the much (and deservedly) lauded breakfast, seated hospitably around the fine dining table with fellow-guests, the whole experience was hugely enjoyable from start to finish and we tore ourselves away with great reluctance. This is a place which richly deserves to be ranked at the top of the tree - even the exceptionally fine old cedar of Lebanon which foregrounded the stunning view from our bedroom.

Room Tip: All the rooms look absolutely charming, but for us the Green Room, with its exquisite furnishings an...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTaylor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Thank you very much for your outstanding review, it is greatly appreciated. Sorry for the late response, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our home and cooking. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our return from our holiday in Wales.Went to this area as we wanted to visit Ludlow on our way home.This is a great B & B in lovely grounds and well run by the friendly and helpful Izzie.We had the lovely Blue room with views over the gardens.Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were spotless and comfortable and spacious.

It was truly a delight to stay there and we look forward to returning again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMCUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezzshropshire, Manager at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 49 in Ludlow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Bed And Breakfast Wheathill, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing