We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house, lovely people, lovely location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustic-House 13

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rustic-House 13
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely people, lovely location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This review is a bit as we arrived back from Slovenia at least 2 weeks ago but it must be written as there are many wonderful things to say about Studor 13... where to start...

Firstly, like everybody else on here, my 3 friends and I who had been youth hostelling around the country, were shocked that this was called a hostel- it is definitely more like a B & B with hostel prices. The house is a beautifully refurbished alpine cottage and as well as our lovely clean and comfortable room (four people in a six bed room) with a balcony and stunning valley views, you also have the run of a cosy kitchen and sitting room with other guests. Breakfast is simple but really delicious- nice local breads, jam, cereal with a mixture of either cheese or yoghurts etc and all included in the price!

Andy is the most fantastic host- as well as the free pick up to and from the bus station, he is full of tips and tricks for whatever you have planned for the day to make your stay in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to even better. The whole family certainly added to the great time that we had here.

In short, stay here! We liked it so much we extended our stay for 2 more nights on top of our original 3. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaFrances324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend just randomly passed by the hostel while hiking through a small Slovenian village called Studor and were just amazed! Even though we had had other plans, we decided to spend 2 nights in there. The whole place is just beautiful - mixing the style of old alpine houses, Provence and modern stuff by IKEA :-) Andy (the Australian dad of the family that runs the hostel) and his Slovenian wife are both very friendly and helpful and you feel very welcomed for the whole time. From our room we had a nice view over the mountains and the village.

You would hardly believe this is a hostel! Seems more like a small B&B and is very tidy and clean. The breakfasts are included in the price and consist of bread (fresh and local), cereals, jam, milk, tea, coffee, cream cheese etc. You can also make a better coffee from the machine paying some additional 0,5 EUR - which was pretty nice after a long day spent on hiking :-)

To some up, we would deffinitally recommend this place to everyone and hope we will once come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed two nights in Studor 13 and were very charmed by the location and its hosts. We traveled by car so we could get around, but they also had a pick-up service from the lake if needed. The hostel is charmingly decorated, very tidy and has beautiful views over the village and mountains. The hosts were very helpful. You just have to ask and they tell you about all possible activities in the area. We went hiking in an impressive gorge and went swimming in the wonderful lake...! The breakfast in the morning had everything you need. We don't doubt about going again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staartje_en_Kuifje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I am a solo traveler who stayed at Hostel Studor for a couple of nights in June 2013. I arrived by bus and had the tourist office call Andy. He picked me up within 5-10 minutes of my arrival and he immediately made me feel welcomed at their beautiful home in the Slovenian countryside. It's hard to believe that they call Studor 13 a "hostel". It is more like a B & B (with hostel prices!). There are two dorm rooms and 1 private room (which is where I stayed). There was a bathroom right across the hallway and a shared kitchen on the 2nd floor. There were 3 families there when I stayed, and they pretty much only slept there, so I felt like I had the place to myself. The house is beautiful and very clean! Andy gave me suggestions of where to hike and on my last day, he drove me to the Mt Vogel cable car station so I could go hiking there before I left. Andy and Tina were great hosts and I would recommend staying at Studor 13.

Room Tip: There's only 1 double room in the hostel and I believe 2 dorm rooms. One of the dorm rooms has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinggal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Whether your holiday agenda is one of seeking out the charm of rustic village life, spiritual awakening, rekindling a loving relationship or pursuing the hiking, skiing and adventure sports offered by Lake Bohinj and the Triglav National Park, Studor 13 and its hosts Andy and Tina offer affordable and newly renovated accommodation in their home: a mid 19th century 3 story dwelling located in a quaint rural village surrounded by picturesque scenery that only dreams are made of. Andy and Tina's endearing hospitality and profound knowledge of the locale and its folklore will provide you with all you need to fulfil your holiday dreams. Andy provides an additional photo tour package for those interested in photographing the beauty of this region to its fullest potential. Local transport is available for those travellers who wish to include a day trip to Bled and Ljubljana. I highly recommend Hostel Studor 13 and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltern am See, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have been to Studor 2 times, once with my girlfriend, once with my boys. Once in the summer, once in the winter. The Hostel is really nice and you feel welcome! Wheter you want to stay for hiking or skiing, Studor 13 is a great place to stay. Also andrew, the host, is a really lovly guy!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stB117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I just spent 4 nights here and had a great time. It is in the perfect location to set off on walks in the Triglav national park which is one of the most beautiful regions i have ever been to. It is also situated in a small town so you get the true feeling of a small Slovenian village. The hostel is well equipped and very homely, the owners are really helpful and advised on some excellent walks that I won't forget. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Srednja vas v Bohinju
2.5 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
10.6 mi away
Alp Penzion
Alp Penzion
#4 of 24 in Bled
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
#1 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farmhouse Katricnek
Farmhouse Katricnek
#1 of 3 in Bohinjska Bela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic-House 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic-House 13

Property: Rustic-House 13
Address: Studor v Bohinju 13, Srednja vas v Bohinju 4267, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Srednja vas v Bohinju
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Srednja vas v Bohinju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer boutique style accommodation for those looking for extra space and comfort in a quiet village inside the Triglav National Park. The original house is over 200 years-old but has been completely renovated first in 2008 and upgraded again in 2015. The place is less than 3km from busy Lake Bohinj and is a great place as a base to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rustic-House 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing