We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very good”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Caltiere

House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Front of house Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
House and Pool
Front of house
Side view
House to pool
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room ( extending table )
Side garden / boules pitch
Rear garden (part)
Night swimming
Bikes
Table tennis in barn
Bread / pizza oven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

We really enjoyed our stay here. The website does not do it justice. The gite is very well equipped and clean. It is on an elevated site with lovely views over the countryside. It is on a large site with plenty of space for children. The pool is very nice and secure and there is plenty to do inside and out even on a rainy day which were infrequent. Good quality bikes were available for use.

The surrounding areas is very nice and far enough away from the very touristy areas such as Samur. Loches is well worth a visit.

We would certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Dear Joe , Thank you very much for your very kind review. Hope that you will be able to visit next year. Best Regards Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful place”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

6 of us rented this lovingly restored 17th century farmhouse with very comfortable furnishings and well equipped kitchen plus 3 double bedrooms (2 bathrooms) extensive grounds, pool, boules pitch and out buildings and a large open barn (with table tennis) right in the middle of rural France - what's not to love! The peace and tranquility was a blessing especially when you come from busy London. That is, apart from our gales of laughter sitting outside enjoying lunch in the sun. You do need a car to get here from the airport and to go to your nearest small village (5 minutes away), but we found trips to the supermarket and buying food/drink in bulk (15/20 minutes drive) saved having to shop too often, apart from buying fresh bread. This left us free to discover several charming villages and a super chateau only a few mins drive away. There are some restaurants and cafes in the surrounding villages too, and when we were not eating out or sightseeing, we went for walks taking in the fresh French air. You really do get away from it all. We didn't use the large TV and the wi-fi was used for the internet. I will book for next year and I suggest that you do too before all the dates go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mulj01
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great French Gite”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and a well equipped Gite in this extremely pleasant part of France. All three of us in our family really enjoyed the pool and the abundant surrounding green space as well as the extra activities on site including the bikes and table tennis area in the barn.
Would recommend this Gite to friends and family without hesitation. We are aware that the owners have thought of different areas that they can make their guests stay even more enjoyable and relaxing and are looking to continually improve on their offer, so best of luck with seeing this through and we will look forward to hopefully coming back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and amenities on site
Liked least: Bed downstairs not great
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john b
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday ”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely two week holiday at la caltiere.
Firstly we arrived late at night but the directions to the farm were really good we found it easily.
On waking on the first morning we found everything to be exactly as we had hoped. The house was very clean & tidy with loads of open space outside & fully enclosed. The views from the house were beautiful.
The pool is also fully enclosed & cleaned regularly by Terry (many thanks)
This was perfect as we have three young children & felt happy to let them play safely !
Fresh towels & bedding were supplied for the second week by Maureen (many thanks) which was a really nice and unexpected addition.
There were also lots of personal touches to the farm house and it was clear that the owners consider guest comforts. The owners provided 2 outside tables in different locations within the garden , they correctly suggested that the tables provide the best views and shade from the sun at different times of day. We greatly appreciated this.
We have had a really lovely holiday and would highly recommend this house to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool.
Liked least: Dusty, dirty, and rubbish furniture
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thanks for your comments. As soon as you alerted us , a new cooker was installed unfortunately on the day that you left. Maureen and Terry work very hard to keep this old property clean and tidy and we will review the furniture which is " in keeping" with the house. The pool area will be revamped for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing