We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating record of our First Nation heritage”

Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This is a very significant site for the Blackfoot is that it preserves an astonishing assemblage of original pictographs showing scenes and symbols having relevance to their lives and experiences. They still use it as a source of insight and wisdom.

The valley of the Milk River at this point is lined on both sides with a spectacular array of hoodoos, and it is among these that the pictographs are to be found, still in their original locations. The best of them can only be seen on one of the guided tours offered by the park, but there are plenty of others that are generally accessible. We took a tour, which was well worthwhile.

Although we were day visitors, we noted that there's an excellent campsite at the park. There are a number of trails that take you among the hoodoos and past some of the more accessible pictographs. Some of the trails are definitely not wheelchair-accessible, but others may be. Sturdy footwear is recommended - flip-flops won't suffice!

Even if you don't plan to do any hiking, there are some great drive-to viewpoints from which you can get a good feel for the extremely scenic location. These's also a very informative visitor center and gift shop. All in all, we had a great day!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L, Front Office Manager at Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you very much for your thorough review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 26 reviews
"provincial park"
in 16 reviews
"guided tour"
in 12 reviews
"self guided"
in 9 reviews
"restricted area"
in 7 reviews
"southern alberta"
in 7 reviews
"hoo doos"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 4 reviews
"first nations"
in 4 reviews
"visitor center"
in 5 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 3 reviews
"camping trip"
in 3 reviews
"amazing place"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 3 reviews
"interesting history"
in 3 reviews
"several times"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We visited the visitor center and got information on trails and warnings about rattle snakes. We did two hour hoodoo trail. It was 24C but it felt hotter out there. It took us almost three hours for we took time to find the writings & painting. My neck hurt from looking up the great rock walls but it was definitely worth checking out. We didn't see the snakes there but as we were driving away we saw a snake by the edge of the road and a fox.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank AesookB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L, Front Office Manager at Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Today was visiting Writing On Stone near Milk River. If you are doing this road trip with family make sure everyone has proper footwear and water to drink because you are going to be hiking to check out the drawings. I highly recommend not to do this as a day trip because it's a long drive, if you're coming from Lethbridge and heading back. Make it a camping trip with the family as there are campgrounds at Writing On Stone.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MistressRaven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L, Front Office Manager at Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit!
For others to note: we are located 1.5 hours south east of Lethbridge and some find it is a great day trip; but it does require you to plan for it. We have a small amount of food services during the summer months and in the early spring and after the September long weekend, we have no food services and thus you must be prepared to bring your own lunch and snacks for the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the park and campsite with friends. We had tents rather than a RV or trailer. The park is superb, with lots of information about the site and surrounding areas. The Hoodoo trail is fascinating with amazing views. The visitor centre has free WiFi and lots more information about the history of the area, indigenous people and early settlers. The camp site itself is well managed with regular tours of friendly and courteous Rangers, and the wash room facilities are cleaned regularly and adequate. Just make sure you have either $1 or $2 dollar coins for the shower, although 1$ only buys you 2 minutes of shower time and $2 buys you 5! There is a camp shop offering basics so best to arrive prepared with all your provisions etc.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Criticus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L, Front Office Manager at Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

It’s quite a journey to make it to the park, but well worth the trip. The scenery is spectacular with the hoo doos and the hills in the background. The campground looked nice, we did not stay. Enjoy the walk through the hoo doos. Although we did not see any snakes you must be aware of the different types.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Stuart71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L, Front Office Manager at Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Writing-On-Stone Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing