We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtakingly quite, relaxing & really enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The three Gites The swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
The three Gites
The swimming pool
Bedroom Gite 1
Living area Gite 1
View from the Gites
Bedroom Gite 2
Living area Gite 2
Bedroom Gite 3
Living area Gite 3
Dining Room in our Barn
Chalet seating area
Brécey Market
Mont Saint Michel Abbey
Domfront
Dinard, just over the border in Brittany
Mont St Michel streets
Medieval fort at Fougeres
View of the river from the ramparts at Dinan
Bagnoles de l'Orne
Sunset at Mont St Michel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Les Cresnays, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Laura M
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly quite, relaxing & really enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

......just returned from 2 weeks staying in Gite 2 we booked for 1 week liked it so much we spontaneously decided to extend for an additional week & were so glad we did. Helen & Dave are so lovely they made us feel very welcome not just into there own home but to the area of Les Cresnays as well, Cuve is a small quite village with church bells chiming, birds chirping & in the distance the faint sounds of bovine & horses cantering across the fields if your brave enough go & feed them, I made friends with some of the horses feeding them carrots & apples in a very short time they recognized me & would run towards me for whatever goodies I had for them it was so great. The gite is well equipped with all you would need for self catering, Super U is the local supermarket with Brecey market on Friday mornings (which is a 10min drive) for fresh fruit/veg/fish/cheese & saucisse you wouldn't go hungry.......back at the gite the log fire kept us cosy as the weather was a bit changeable, the bed is big & comfy, the power shower is amazing with lashings of hot water. Travelling around there are lots of places to go, we visited Granville, Avaranche, San Malo, St Mont Michel, St Pair Sur Mer, Dinard, Dinan, Cancale and lots of coastal areas in-between all lovely towns with places to visit & eat at reasonable prices. Dave makes some wicked Cider if your brave do give it a try , Helen makes a couple of lovely Jams and the complementary breakfast sets you up for the day, but most of all Helen & Dave make you feel like friends rather then just a guest they have a wealth of information about the area & beyond we also had a great laugh with them, I would give the whole experience a big thank you for making our stay so lovely we hope to return at some time if not to stay then definitely to see you both.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area, Helen & Dave, easy to travel around and return to where we stayed & the quiteness
Liked least: Weather in 2nd week wasn't great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely helpfull people
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarahlou1...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

What a lovely little village to stay in, we recently stayed in Gite One for a last minute week away, was very easy to book, and the owners Helen & Dave couldnt do enough for us, and made us feel very welcome. Greeted by a lovely breakfast each morning with fresh croissants, baguettes, tea and juice, set us up for the day, they also reccommended places to visit and provided useful information. The Gite had everything you needed, and was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of lovely walks/bikes rides nearby, and the main town just 20 minute drive away. If you go you have to visit the local restaurant thats reccommended Le Moulin de Jean as its fantastic food and well worth the money.
Will definately be back to visit Helen & Dave in 2013!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2012
Thank you so much S & M - your enthusiasm for our area of Lower Normandy was infectious! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant break”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a lovely week at Les Hirondelles, staying in the middle of the 3 gites here. It had a comfortable lounge with English TV, a proper kitchen and the upstairs bedroom had a huge comfy bed and ensuite bathroom with excellent shower.
Dave & Helen were excellent, helpful hosts, giving us breakfast every morning and a great barbeque one evening and a lovely meal on another evening. (There's also an excellent restaurant nearby).
There is communal pool and a very useful chalet to use with books and DVDs.
Because I've cycled in Normandy before, I had my bike with me, and there are very many well surfaced by-ways which take you through very pretty villages and hamlets and whilst the roads are undulating they are never that steep and always very quiet - a biker's paradise!
It's a great location with lots to see without driving too far, all in all a nice relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie S
Alton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couple's holiday before first baby!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had a great week in Normandy and would thoroughly recommend these three gites (we had the middle one).
Very peaceful. As we are both teachers, it was nice not to be near children for a week!
Lovely gite in beautiful Normandy countryside but near to attractions such as Fougeres castle, D-Day beaches, Bayeux and Mont St Michel.
Super friendly and welcoming English owners who live on site. We enjoyed talking to Helen and Dave at breakfast.
Hot, powerful showers.
Corner kitchen with oven, hob and fridge. Dining table, 4 chairs, sofa and TV with English channels.
A log fire too, which made the gite cosy.
Comfortable bed with gorgeous sheets. We had two twin beds together and so the bed felt huge - great for a pregnant lady!
Free breakfast: croissants, bread, butter, jam, orange juice, tea or coffee.
Communal chalet with books and DVDs to borrow.
Little table with pair of chairs outside gite.
Pretty pansies outside gite too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2012
Thank you very much Sophie, that is very kind. In fact you have been too kind! We will have to work extremely hard to meet expectations now! We enjoyed your company too, best wishes for your forthcoming event. Helen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanatBu...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely quite spot but not far from everything”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in March 2011

We've stayed at Les Hirondelles twice now and each time have had a lovely stay. Its easy to find and located close to most of the big local tourist attractions nearby - Le Mont Saint Michel, Normandy Beaches and of course Brittany! We loved St Malo which isnt far and the Normandy countryside is just gorgeous. The gites are rustic and charming - the area is quiet but not isolated. Dave and Helen are lovely hosts - we would highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm E
Northampton
2 reviews
“Gite Holiday in France”
Reviewed 3 November 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had an excellent time with Dave and Helen in Normandy.

They looked after us very well with Breakfasts and special evening meals including a barbeque.
Nothing appeared to be to much trouble. The Gite was very cosy and everything you required was available. All the attractions and places to visit are not that far away and it is a pleasure to drive to them in the french countryside. A place well worth visiting.

A

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing