We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location for sightseeing and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The three Gites The swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The three Gites
The swimming pool
Bedroom Gite 1
Living area Gite 1
View from the Gites
Bedroom Gite 2
Living area Gite 2
Bedroom Gite 3
Living area Gite 3
Dining Room in our Barn
Chalet seating area
Brécey Market
Mont Saint Michel Abbey
Domfront
Dinard, just over the border in Brittany
Mont St Michel streets
Medieval fort at Fougeres
View of the river from the ramparts at Dinan
Bagnoles de l'Orne
Sunset at Mont St Michel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Les Cresnays, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
barryandt...
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location for sightseeing and relaxing”
Reviewed 19 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We had a lovely week here, it is a good location for seeing as much or as little of Normandy as you like. The pool area is good for relaxing once the sightseeing is done. Helen and Dave are very friendly and informative, all adding to the enjoyment of our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaufWestE...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely setting,comfy Gite,great hosts.”
Reviewed 17 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Helen and Dave are great hosts and provided an excellent breakfast service. I would also recommend the evening meal that they do for around 20 euro's, including wine, as good as a restaurant and you don't have to drive! The Gite, we used the Stable, had character and was very comfortable with plenty of room. The bed was a good size and provided us with a good nights sleep. The location is quite and very rural, and you will have to get used to the sound of church bells, but don't try to set your watch by them.
Amenities are good and the pool area is a real sun trap and a cool dip in the good sized pool is very welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fi_clarke
herts
1 review
“Beautiful, clean gite, lovely owners, good location for local areas of interest and various beaches easily accessible.”
Reviewed 7 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We were greeted by the owners on arrival and instantly felt at home. We had our daughter with us so they set up a camp bed for her in the bedroom and there was plenty of room for all of us. The gite itself was really lovely and had a real cosy feel. There were two bottles of wine left in the gite for us which was very welcome and we went to a lovely pizza / italian restaurant in Brecey which was only about 5 minutes away. We took off each day to visit either local beaches or attractions. Ange Michel leisure park was a real hit with our daughter and very reasonably priced and we managed to visit Le Mont St Michel on the same day as it was only about 20 minutes away. The beaches are sandy and lovely; our favourite was Granville - nice beach, rock pools, swimming area - and there were some good restuarants there too. The pool area at the gite was great and our daughter still wanted to go in even when it wasn't really the weather for it! Also, because everyone (there are 3 gites) has breakfast together in the main house, you immediately get to know your neighbours which was great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ducksaway...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sweet gite”
Reviewed 2 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

We stayed a week in July 2010 at Les Hirondelles in Normandy France and had a great holiday. The property has three beautiful gites, ideal for couples or a larger group travelling together. Helen and Dave are great hosts and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was simple and Helen gave me endless cups of coffee to set me up for the day. Dave cooks dinner twice a week and I recommend you try it out (as we Irish say, “he’s a dab hand at the cookin’,”)This is a pleasant and comfortable location, relax at the pool or sit outside your gite and have dinner or a glass of wine in the evening. There is a restaurant near by which Helen booked for my called ‘Le Moulin de Jean’ and it is not to be missed. lastly, this is a nice area with little traffic for cycling.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekJ_10
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, friendly and beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 30 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Helen and Dave are the perfect hosts and ensure that you are able to get the most out of your stay whether you want to relax and chill out to cycling, walking and sight seeing. The pool and sauna facilties are an excellent addition to the cottages. Dave cooked a delicous meal during our stay and they both made us very welcome in serving us a four course feast in their house with wine for only 20 Euros. We will be back....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascalem...
seascale
1 review
“stay here for a relaxing normandy holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

The hosts Helen & Dave have created a very good getaway fromt he stresses and strains of daily life. The gite we stayed in was perfect for a couple with full facilities for a self catering break. The little village of Cuves is exceptionally quiet, free from any traffic noise etc. The little town of Brecey is only a five minute drive away with plenty of shops and amenities. further afiled are some excellent restaurants to indulge in french cuisine.
Helen and Dave also serve evening meals twice a week and are excellent hosts during the meals.
We thoroughouly enjoyed our week at Les Hirondelles and would go again and recommend it to our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basil008
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“love the place love the people”
Reviewed 11 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

after a day out make sure you have time to get back to the gite and have a swim and rest before dinner,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing