We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of peace :) Great hosts!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haliburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loralea Country Inn Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Little slice of peace :) Great hosts!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went to Loralea over New Years, stayed for 5 days and it was like our own little peace of tranquility. Bill and Heather were so nice and helpful. It was quiet, we had the place to ourselves. They had everything we needed. They are pet friendly, and our "girls" were so happy to be able to join us on our little vacation. The area is beautiful. I am excited to go back in the summer and stay. I can see this becoming a yearly escape. Than kyou!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LissyAnn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your vacation with us. It was a pleasure meeting you both and the girls. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and we are very happy to hear that you may be paying us a visit in the summer months. It is a beautiful area and I am sure you would both enjoy a summer visit as you did your winter one. Thank you for leaving the studio cabin in such great shape we do appreciate it.

I hope 2014 is a great year for you both and I hope to see you in the near future

Heather & Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family stayed for a couple of days at this resort, and instantly felt comfortable with the picturesque lake, and general camping feel. Our cabin was well kept. and as a bonus, there were recreational items in the area that I have not experienced since childhood like the tetherball, see-saw, and tire swing. It really felt like summer camp. The hosts Bill and Heather are very nice people and always made us feel welcome. We will definitely visit this resort again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review Richard. It was a pleasure meeting your family and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Loralea cottage #7 for the Labour Day weekend. It is such a beautiful spot overlooking the lake with your own private dock. They have paddle boats, canoes and a huge selection of water toys and such for your enjoyment. The hosts Heather and Bill are wonderful people who go out of their way and work very hard to make all the guests feel welcome. The cottage is very clean and even the fire pit was set-up ready to go. Just can't say enough about Loralea, but we are certainly looking forward to next year!
Peggy and Allan

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littletrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to visit with you and Allan again this year. We look forward to next years reunion and boat ride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in this resort twice over the winter time and we really enjoyed it. The cottages are very nice and cozy. We loved the fire place and BBQ at the door step. The resort is conveniently located off the highway 35 and also close to the Sir Sam’s ski resort and other winter activities (snow shoeing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling etc.). The owners were very pleasant and always made sure we had everything we needed.
We don’t go much to this area during the summer time, but we would gladly return next winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to any return trips to our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We took our 3 kids to Halls Lake and stayed at this resort. Accommodation was outstanding and scenery spectacular. Sunrise over the lake was truly breathtaking. Whilst in the area go and visit the wolf centre. Take the walk in the clouds in the morning and spend your afternoon watching the wild wolf pack laze in the sun. Make sure you prebook so as not to be disappointed. All in all we had 3 amazing days and something we will all remember for a long long time to come.

This trip was in 2003

Room Tip: Have given lowest score for pool and restaurant, mainly because there isn't either of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrionsLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Haliburton Forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Decided to treat my wife to a combo Birthday/anniversary getaway. Found Loralea resort online and booked for three nights. We had great time. Relaxing with all the ammenities we needed. We met the hosts Bill and Heather and were very gracious and courtious. We will definitely book another week or weekend with them. It is also tough to find resorts that rent weekends anymore, most places will only rent weeks. It was nice to be able to find this place at a very short notice. Thanks again Heather and Bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you to you and your wife for taking the time to write such a nice review on our resort and leaving the cabin in such great shape. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you had a relaxing comfortable time. It was nice to see what great camp fires you and your wife built each night . Have a great summer and we hope to see you and your wife again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We found The Loralea through Google quite by accident when looking for a lakeside cabin getaway in Ontario - and I'm so glad we did! The resort is based on the side of the beautiful Halls Lake - just off the main road and easy to find, even for a pair of confused Brits. The cabins and lodges are well spaced out and I think all have a view of the lake, plus barbecues and fire pits.

We stayed in "Romantic Cabin #6" (see the website - who can resist?) and it was really delightful - full of character and with everything you need for a cosy, relaxed couple of nights' stay. I'd love to tell you about the roaring fire but we had 25 degrees and sunshine the whole time, so didn't need it... there's plenty of firewood though and I'd imagine it's wonderful with a good fire going. Despite being compact there's a fully functional kitchen and good bathroom. We slept really well (no mean feat considering our body clocks wanted to wake up at 2am!) and the peace and quiet is amazing.

Haliburton is a short (30 min) drive away and has plenty of shops for the essentials, plus a range of restaurants and tourist attractions. The amazing Algonquin National Park is about an hour and a half away - we had a great day trip up there with some beautiful trail walks and moose everywhere.

Bill and Heather were both great - and deserve the great reputation they have as hosts. All in all - a great little stay and we really look forward to coming back one day!

Room Tip: Have a look at the Loralea website to see the different cabins on offer - #6 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MancDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. Unfortunately jet lag can certainly throw your whole system off and no doubt your flight was a long one. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. You certainly did make the best of your few days in our area. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Canada and if you are ever in our area in the future please feel free to stop in and say hello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haliburton
2.2 mi away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
42 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
24.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
206 reviews
24.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,920 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#3 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loralea Country Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loralea Country Inn Resort

Property: Loralea Country Inn Resort
Address: Halls Lake 17560 Highway #35, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cozy family resort on Halls Lake with housekeeping cottages and studio cabins for summer or winter vacations and couples seeking a relaxing weekend getaway in the Haliburton Highlands, Ontario. Safe swimming on sandy beach. Boat docking available. On site - Badminton, volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard, canoes and paddle boats, kids play area, toboggan hill etc. Close to Algonquin Park, Haliburton Forest Reserve and Santa’s Village. Access to Snowmobile and ATV trails from resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loralea Country Hotel
Country Inn Haliburton
Haliburton Country Inn
Loralea Country Inn Resort Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing