We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed! Home away from home.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haliburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loralea Country Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our third trip to the Loralea Country Inn and certainly won't be the last! We had the pleasure of staying a full week in cabin 6 which fully met the needs of our family of 3. The resort is full of peace and nature. I was joined at the lake early one morning by a thirsty buck, and managed to catch many fish off the dock. At least twice a day we were joined in the swimming area by 2 rafts of ducklings and their moms. The beach proved to be a great place to play with our daughter. Bill and Heather stop it nothing to see that their guests have everything they need to have a great vacation. I recommend the Loralea to anyone I know traveling north.

Room Tip: Studio Cabin 6 has a beautiful view of the beach/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhiannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure when quests return to watch their young ones growing up into teenagers. That buck you saw is still returning occasionally enjoying a drink and unwelcome treat from the neighbours garden, even the duck family returns daily, now mostly all the same size as their mom.

Enjoy the rest of the summer
Bill and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an amazing time at the Loralea Country Inn. Very relaxing. Scenery was awe inspiring and the lake was beautiful. Well taken care of resort with lots of activities included (badminton, volleyball, canoe, paddleboats). Everything you need is right there to enjoy.

Very quiet which was also appreciated as we needed time to get away and relax. At night we were able to enjoy a quiet bonfire (firewood supplied!).

We cannot wait to return again. Hopefully even this summer. Since the Resort is open year long, may even go back in the winter :)

Joanna and Kris

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went to Loralea over New Years, stayed for 5 days and it was like our own little peace of tranquility. Bill and Heather were so nice and helpful. It was quiet, we had the place to ourselves. They had everything we needed. They are pet friendly, and our "girls" were so happy to be able to join us on our little vacation. The area is beautiful. I am excited to go back in the summer and stay. I can see this becoming a yearly escape. Than kyou!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LissyAnn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi Lisa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your vacation with us. It was a pleasure meeting you both and the girls. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and we are very happy to hear that you may be paying us a visit in the summer months. It is a beautiful area and I am sure you would both enjoy a summer visit as you did your winter one. Thank you for leaving the studio cabin in such great shape we do appreciate it.

I hope 2014 is a great year for you both and I hope to see you in the near future

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family stayed for a couple of days at this resort, and instantly felt comfortable with the picturesque lake, and general camping feel. Our cabin was well kept. and as a bonus, there were recreational items in the area that I have not experienced since childhood like the tetherball, see-saw, and tire swing. It really felt like summer camp. The hosts Bill and Heather are very nice people and always made us feel welcome. We will definitely visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review Richard. It was a pleasure meeting your family and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Loralea cottage #7 for the Labour Day weekend. It is such a beautiful spot overlooking the lake with your own private dock. They have paddle boats, canoes and a huge selection of water toys and such for your enjoyment. The hosts Heather and Bill are wonderful people who go out of their way and work very hard to make all the guests feel welcome. The cottage is very clean and even the fire pit was set-up ready to go. Just can't say enough about Loralea, but we are certainly looking forward to next year!
Peggy and Allan

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littletrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to visit with you and Allan again this year. We look forward to next years reunion and boat ride

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in this resort twice over the winter time and we really enjoyed it. The cottages are very nice and cozy. We loved the fire place and BBQ at the door step. The resort is conveniently located off the highway 35 and also close to the Sir Sam’s ski resort and other winter activities (snow shoeing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling etc.). The owners were very pleasant and always made sure we had everything we needed.
We don’t go much to this area during the summer time, but we would gladly return next winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to any return trips to our resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We took our 3 kids to Halls Lake and stayed at this resort. Accommodation was outstanding and scenery spectacular. Sunrise over the lake was truly breathtaking. Whilst in the area go and visit the wolf centre. Take the walk in the clouds in the morning and spend your afternoon watching the wild wolf pack laze in the sun. Make sure you prebook so as not to be disappointed. All in all we had 3 amazing days and something we will all remember for a long long time to come.

This trip was in 2003

Room Tip: Have given lowest score for pool and restaurant, mainly because there isn't either of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrionsLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Haliburton Forest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haliburton
2.2 mi away
Little Hawk Resort & Marina
Little Hawk Resort & Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
47 reviews
11.5 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
12.3 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
485 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
53 reviews
24.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loralea Country Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loralea Country Inn Resort

Address: Halls Lake 17560 Highway #35, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Price Range: £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cozy family resort on Halls Lake with housekeeping cottages and studio cabins for summer or winter vacations and couples seeking a relaxing weekend getaway in the Haliburton Highlands, Ontario. Safe swimming on sandy beach. Boat docking available. On site - Badminton, volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard, canoes and paddle boats, kids play area, toboggan hill etc. Close to Algonquin Park, Haliburton Forest Reserve and Santa’s Village. Access to Snowmobile and ATV trails from resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loralea Country Hotel
Country Inn Haliburton
Haliburton Country Inn
Loralea Country Inn Resort Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing