We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Surrey

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Econo Lodge Surrey
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Surrey
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, overall was decent place to stay nothin special though. First room wsa very small and bed worn out however clean washroom though towels worn a bit. Second room was a bit more spacious with 2 twin beds. restaurant is very good and excellent value. close to many amenities in surrey.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    10
    8
    16
See reviews for
26
21
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

There are too many bad reviews for this place. But we booked it anyway for the price and for the 2 bedroom suite they advertised. Which is actually just a one bedroom plus a living room with a king size bed. We like the location of the bathroom which is outside the bedroom and in between the bedroom and the living room. However, the toilet flush is broken and need to push really hard to work but being very careful not to break it even more. There's a small kitchen separate with sink, stove, refrigerator, microwave and cupboards. The front desk is very small with some weird smell and a little chaotic with one trying to argue and another one trying to pacify an angry customer. The restaurant downstairs is nice since this hotel does not offer any breakfast. Good location with many restaurants, fastfood places and shopping mall around.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mel0dy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Booked this motel online, last minute, for $59. It is on a somewhat busy road, but the road noise wasn't bad with the window closed. Air conditioner was working fine. It looks like they may be working on the exterior as there was construction debris lying around outside, which was a little off-putting. Restaurant did not appear to be open, but was advertising homemade perogies. The reception area looked a little chaotic for my taste and I was a little doubtful. However......the clerk processed the booking efficiently at the advertised price. The room was small, but clean. The carpet appeared to be brand new. The mattresses and bedding were all new (I checked), immaculate, and very comfortable. There was a small fridge in the room, TV, phone, a coffee maker and the fixings, a closet and a small table of some sort to put your suitcase on. The bathroom fixtures and towels were just fine, and there was a blow dryer, shampoo and lotion. The bathtub/shower was clean and did the job. There are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and gas stations in the area - I had breakfast at the Pantry down the road and the food and service were typical/enjoyable. If I was just looking for an inexpensive clean place to get a good sleep and not looking for ambiance, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the look of the exterior
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank BeenGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

I found this website only because I disliked this hotel so much I was curious if others had posted reviews somewhere online. Obviously others had the same experience I had with this hotel. The negative comments in the other reviews are consistent with my experience. The hotel smelled of cigarettes throughout, it was dirty, bathroom fixtures were broken, and small attached restaurant was useless.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mikecnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surrey hotels

California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Well this was not a "quality" Inn in any way!!!!!!First of all the guy at the reception was unfriendly & rude ,and it's a family and all of them are rude as if they are doing us a favor by letting us stay ,not that we paid 110$ for a crappy room with holes and stains in the blankets,filthy coffee machine and ice bucket and a toilet with yellow water!!!!and undrinkable faucet water!! The room was very small and dark. We were four and in all of the hotels we were in before there were two queen beds so we expected the same but the beds were very small!! We found garbage under the bed and when we told them to clean it they couldn't even do that right and left some under the bed. When we asked for an extra blanket they asked us 20 questions why?are you having an extra guest? then when they finally got them after waiting for ever the guy tells us next time you want something you have to say a day ahead or something or we cant get it for you!!Also when i asked the cleaning lady (one of the weird family) who actually knocked and just opened the door together not waiting!! to come back in 30 min.s she said NO!!!!One of my worst hotel experiences!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

Found hotel through map on hotels.ca. Good rate for a bed and bathroom. Nothing superior but clean and decent. Friendly hotel staff - nothing to complain about. Nice little restaurant downstairs - good breakfast for reasonable price.
A little road noise from King George Hwy but turned on air conditioning fan for white noise and just fine.

  • Liked — Convenient location & price for where we needed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Upon checking in we had to wait while the front desk assistant finished her conversations with family and friends (who are a permanent feature of the reception area). During checking in we overheard a conversation with another assistant who was refusing to give her name to a customer on the phone who wished to complain, she then refused to put the customer through to the manager and hung up on the customer!
Once we reached our room we were very disappointed. The towels were dirty and smelled of bleach, the coffee maker and ice bucket were dirty, one of the bed side lamps did not work, the water appeared undrinkable from the tap. Our room was noisy all night with banging doors and people moving up and down the corridor. This included a group of teenagers who arrived at 1am and were extremely noisy, with no comment from the Check In staff who could undoubtedly hear all the disturbance.
Overall, the service and facilities certainly leave a lot to be desired.

Visit at your own risk!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sangoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surrey hotels
Newton
BEST WESTERN King George Inn & Suites
Fleetwood
Comfort Inn & Suites Surrey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whalley
Days Inn Surrey
Days Inn Surrey
#11 of 18 in Surrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Guildford
Four Points by Sheraton Surrey
Ramada Surrey/Langley
#2 of 18 in Surrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Surrey

Property: Econo Lodge Surrey
Address: 6542 King George Blvd, Surrey, British Columbia V3W 4Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Newton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Surrey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EconoLodge is located in the heart of Surrey and close to many amenities. We offer special rates for groups/teams booking 7 rooms plus, please contact us directly for details. The guest rooms are bright, spacious, modern and include free wi-fi. Some of our guest rooms have been renovated at this time, and we continue to update the rest. Ronnie's restaurant on the hotel premises, provides well-priced and fresh home-style breakfast, lunch, dinner and other menu options. 24-Hour snacks and beverages are available via vending machine located next to the lobby. Room service is available during business hours. The hotel is close to major tourist attractions in Surrey: *Peace Arch US-border crossing (20 minute drive) *White Rock beach and promenade (15 minute drive) *Bell Performing Arts Centre (6 minute drive) *Surrey Memorial Hospital (12 minute drive) *Tsawwassen BC Ferry Terminal (25 minute drive--longer during peak hours) *King George Skytrain Station (12 minute drive) *Guildford Shopping Centre--second largest mall in BC (15 minute drive) *"Surrey's Little India" shops and restaurants (8 minute drive) *Vancouver International Airport (35 minute drive--longer during peak hours) *Newton Wave Pool (4 minute drive) *Simon Fraser University--Surrey Campus (15 minute drive) *Bus stop located adjacent to hotel property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Surrey Hotel Surrey
Quality Inn Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing