We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

All I need to say is BED BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!nn

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternPeaceArch, General Manager at Best Western Peace Arch Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. We have recently called a “bed bug expert” into our hotel for inspection and no bed bugs were found. We have never experienced a problem with bed bugs in the past and we are doing everything at our hotel to prevent bed bugs. Again, I apologize any inconveniences you may have had during your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and our focus is on guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    81
    43
    18
    23
See reviews for
90
69
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Our stay here was very good. We stayed for 4 nights and got a very good rate. The rooms were clean and adequate. The beds? More comfortable than my own. Shower was warm any time of day, plenty of towels. Everything was in good repair. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great for what we needed. We did not eat the breakfast offered, had other plans, but look like good standard hotel breakfast. My husband enjoyed the pool and hot tub every morning.
Ok, now for the 2 draw backs. The parking was an issue only when we got back later in the evening, the hotel was fully booked. Did find an odd spot but it worked.
We had tried to sleep with the window open but the street noise could be very loud. Eventually we closed the window and turned on the fan. That was a great "white noise" that did the trick.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffy232
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by clean rooms and friendly staff at the hotel. They were very helpful and had maps at the ready and snack bags to take with on the road. The public areas were clean as well as the room. The computer was great with a nice printer; we were able to fax and print what we needed. The breakfast was good with hot coffee, cereal, pancakes, and oatmeal. We would recommend this hotel to others looking for affordable rooms close to the bus line. We were able to catch a bus and get to the sky-train to downtown. It took some time but was nice not to have to hassle with parking downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, AB
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

I stayed for 3 nights, the rate was $79/night. The room was very clean, the hotel was very clean, the gentleman working the front desk was very helpful as I had never been to Vancouver before, and he helped with directions. I didnt make use of the free breakfast, but it looked very standard, nothing extraordinary. It was in a good location in Surrey, right on King George, the main road, the only knock I have against it, is that the parking isnt the greatest. The pool and the hot tub were great!!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman091982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I stayed here with my wife and 15 yr old child. I’m actually writing this from the Hotel as I wait for the rest of my family to get ready to leave. We chose this place because it was close to the surprise party we were attending.....also because it is a Best Western. First of all it’s hard to believe it’s a Best Western Hotel. It used to be an Econo Lodge motel and still looks and feels like one once in the room.

We are being charged $135 plus taxes …so add another $25 …for a $65 quality room. When I questioned the price over the phone I was told hat the hotel was sold out for the Saturday we needed and there was only one room left. Judging from the number of cars in their parking lot, that night, most of their guests must have walked here, because it was not even close to full. I think this is the standard story they tell you to justify the gouging.

I've stayed in nicer college dorm rooms. I'm not exaggerating! The carpets here are gross with huge stain/smudge marks…. I hate to think what they might be. The lighting is really bad. They must be scrimping on the wattage and the bulbs themselves. One of the lamps is designed for 2 bulbs but only has one in it. I know most hotel rooms have poor lighting but this place is the worst I’ve seen in this department and I spend a lot of time in hotels.

This standard room is small, cramped and lacking any esthetic appeal what so ever. The bathroom is so-so but the sink tap only gives hot or warm water … no cold. The toilet seat is badly stained and peeling on the underside. The TV is fine and has a timer so you can set it to turn off when you fall asleep. I did appreciate the free wireless Internet. I don’t think we will try their breakfast because we’d rather go to the IHOP about 3 blocks from here. And judging from what I’ve already seen here and the other reviews I just recently read, I don’t want to risk it.

The back entrance from the parking lot has a broken security lock. Its supposed to be a card read entrance security system but has been damaged and now opens at will. Anyone can walk in off the street and end up in your hallway.

Best Western should be more selective on which hotels they let in their chain. Hotels like this brings the corporate name down a few pegs.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Disliked — the dinginess and the dirty feeling you get about the room escpecially the carpets
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surrey hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Where to start? This hotel refused to believe we had a confirmed on-line booking - even after we showed them THEIR email to us. They said there was no room and my companion said 'no way' .. you inconvenience someone else but not us. Anyway, we were in and the room was neat but lacking many basics - no glasses, coffee mugs, tissue or remote control for the TV. The next day, my companion received a phone call from the hotel asking when we was going to check in. He said 'we are already there' and they had no record of us although we were already in a room. Didn't get it and wondered if we'd be booted out. Breakfast was bland, stale and didn't appear fresh. Coffee powder whitener as well which was unacceptable. The toilet backed up and when we asked the front desk for a plunger, they advised they didn't have one. One of the housekeeping staff had to run out and buy one. Location is so-so .. not in a great area but if you don't care that your view is an empty lot or a major road, it won't bother you. Need to drive to everything .. nothing is in walking distance. Very noisy within the hotel .. not a lot of privacy or quiet.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elusiveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2006

My family stayed here for 3 days after staying at BW King George Inn. We thought it would be comparable or better, based on the price. What a mistake! The continental breakfast the first day was resurrected again each day, except the leftovers were now in a tupperware container. There was no fresh cream/milk for coffee, just powdered whitener. The juice jug was obviously brought out again for the three days we stayed, because the level went down. There were no Do Not Disturb signs on any doors. The pool area had no towels. I would not recommend this hotel. It's worth the drive to King George.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khussey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surrey
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
274 reviews
Newton
Best Western Plus King George Inn & Suites
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fleetwood
Comfort Inn & Suites Surrey
Guildford
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Peace Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Peace Arch Inn

Property: Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Address: 2293 King George Boulevard, Surrey, British Columbia V4A 5A4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > South Surrey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Peace Arch Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful South Surrey/White Rock area. The perfect setting to enjoy all the amenities of this beautiful location. 42 Deluxe rooms all including complimentary continental breakfast, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, complimentary high speed internet and coin operated laundry. Within walking distance to restaurants, the newest shopping district in the area. 3km from the famous White Rock Beach and Pier, Crescent Beach and Morgan Creek Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Peace Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Peace Arch Hotel Surrey
Best Western Surrey
Surrey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing