We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fish and Chips Bar None”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Al & Jan's Fish & Chips
Ranked #8 of 842 Restaurants in Surrey
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Surrey, BC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best Fish and Chips Bar None”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I have been dining at Al & Jan's Fish and Chips for over 10 years. We have tried other restaurants, usually when they are closed or we are away from the area. We have not found a better tasting product. The batter must be the secret because the fish and chips are always perfectly done, light tasting and with no oily after taste which is common with most other restaurants. I have tried the "chain restaurants" and found their dinners inferior to Al & Jan's. On Mondays and Tuesdays, they have all you can eat for a fixed price and the restaurant is always packed with their loyal customers coming back for more. The restaurant shares parking with a major grocery store so there is always ample parking. If you haven't tried them before, you're in for a treat of the best tasting fish and chips, probably in the lower mainland. By the way, my in-laws, when visiting from Ontario like to dine here every week for the "all you can" eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank iceman43c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

this is anothr of my favorites for fish & chips Great service and atmosphere . Great value and food .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome, reasonable place to tke the family. Tuesday & Wednesday all you can eat $11.95”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for the first time last night. Our son had the halibut dinner, I had the cod dinner, my husband had the seafood combo dinner and grandson also had the cod dinner. We were all happy with the dinners. Jan is so pleasant, as is Al, the cook. The fish is lightly battered,you are actually eating fish and not nothing but batter. Tuesdays and Wednesday's are all you can eat plus a drink, Very affordable for a special night out with a large family. Keep up the food work Al & Jan, it truly is a labour of love.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifebythesea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem! Brings Back Memories...”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I grew up in Victoria, BC in the 60's and 70's. At that time, there was a separate Category in the Yellow Pages for "Fish & Chips", and there were more Fish & Chip places than there were Pizza joints!

This restaurant reminds me of the old days! The Owners are Al and his wife Jan! Al cooks, and Jan is one of the servers! Hand chipped fries, and good quality fish. Plain and simple. Quality is #1!

This is a small resaurant, and the decor is very basic. If you want a suit and tie place, best go somewhere else. But if you want some of the best Fish & Chips you will ever eat - and at Rock Bottom $$$, then THIS IS THE PLACE!

We have gone here many times. All the servers are fast and attentive! And Al & Jan are just great.

It does my heart good to know that there are sill "Ma & Pa" shops around that have not been swallowed up by big chains. Thanks to them for bringing back great childhood memories.

Great place for the family!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Place to go for Fish & Chips in Surrey, BC”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Ordered take-out, 2x2 piece Halibut & Chips with tartar sauce and coleslaw and were reminded again why we love to buy our fish & chips here. Food was excellent as usual, still piping hot by the time we got home, was not greasy and more than enough food for 2. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny. Keep up the good work guys; see you again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al & Jan's Fish & Chips also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Cloverdale, Surrey
 

Been to Al & Jan's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing