We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing good food”

Malaysian Hut Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 833 Restaurants in Surrey
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 1 (604) 588-1718
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing good food”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A friend of mine recently introduced me to this place. Small restaurant that has been around for years, evidently. Amazing variety available from the menu for a place of this size, at least 2 dozen main dishes. Food was very authentic, staff very friendly, nice simple laid back vide. Amazing value also, lots of dishes are 10 dollars or under, and I think the most expensive thing on the menu was $13.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shadowsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious home made Malaysian food in Surrey; take out or eat-in”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Malaysian Hut is one of our all-time favourite restaurants. The food is fresh, home made and delicious. Particular favourites of ours are: mee hoon, puluut pangang, sambal fish and sambal sotong (squid). The owner/cook who is from Malaysia, makes her own sauces, cooks each dish to order, and her food is served piping hot. The decor is charming, and includes items brought from Malaysia. Whether you are served by the owner/cook or the other waitress, the service is friendly and efficient. I highly recommend this restaurant. This little gem is in the Guildford area, on the north side of 108 Ave., west of 148 street, next door to the Dairy Queen. Closed on Tuesdays.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome food, has all the stuff that you crave”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Ate here last night and was definitely happy with the restaurant.
The menu had most of the stuff that you would see at a Hawker Centre.
Food was excellent, service was friendly and the prices can't be beat.
Make sure you order the Kuih Dadar for dessert, it was probably the best I have had in Canada.

The only other thing is that they only take cash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toronto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
446 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great food cooked like homemade”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a small family restaurant. So the kitchen is also not that big. That means, it is not possible to cook much in advance. It takes sometime a bit longer to get the meal, but therefore everything appears to prepared fresh. The taste is good. I visit this rerstaurant often with friends. Some of them are even Malasian themselves. And they confirm that this food tastes like back home at their family. Better can't be a compliment. I also love the atmosphere.
This restaurant is really recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malaysian Hut Restaurant also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Cloverdale, Surrey
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Malaysian Hut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing