We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad location, Bad service, mediocre pho” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho Tam Restaurant

Pho Tam Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 826 Restaurants in Surrey
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Whalley
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad location, Bad service, mediocre pho”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

we had the beef ball pho, the chicken ball pho and the salad rolls all of which were below average and the pho's were extremely oily.

The seating at this place is cafeteria style and kind of awkward when you're sitting next to complete strangers, the waitress would not allow our party of four to sit on a round table because it was for parties of 5 or more (even though there were atleast two empty round tables) ...they had this horrible florescent lighting and no one to greet us at the door instead we seated ourselves (and then were told to move because of the party of 5 thing) and you have to go up to this window to pay your bill but you order at your seat (that is, whenever the waitress gets to you) the cashier was nice and polite... everything else sucked.. I was really disappointed especially because this place has gotten so many great reviews...

check out the pho place on scott road and 96th i think its called Pho Hot, service is way better very sweet owners and food is a lot better not to mention the actual restaurant seating etc

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filling pho on a student budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

If you're not a surrey resident, the area is sketchy, but the food won't fail you! Worth the trip, close to the skytrain station. Amazing value and generous servings even for a medium-sized bowl (it is filled to the brim).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graceyfacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BEST PHO in GVRD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I've grown up eating Pho in the Vancouver area the last 25 years. Pho Tam is probably the best restaurant Pho I have ever eaten. Generous portions and great value. The broth is very natural tasting. The service is very quick and efficient. I am a regular patron there and dine once a week. The only thing is that the parking is limited, especially on weekends. I would only wish that they open another location in Vancouver and 24hours.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but bring Cash with you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

my brother and I make sure to eat at Pho tam once a week, very good beef noodles! make sure to bring cash before you visit there..and the parking is limited..

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinchilex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
503 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This restaurant is located in a shopping center and on a strip with many other food vendors - bakery next door and another Chinese restaurant 2 doors down.

I chose this place because it looked clean and the food looked scrumptious and I was not disappointed.

The Pho and broth are divine and the veggies totally fresh.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good Vietnamese meal as they do service other dishes besides Pho

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pho Tam Restaurant also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Pho Tam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing