We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place for lunchtime noodles”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of On Yuen Resturant

On Yuen Resturant
Ranked #133 of 830 Restaurants in Surrey
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Fleetwood
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Place for lunchtime noodles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

On Yuen has consistently made excellent chow mein noodles, thick rice noodles, and Singapore rice noodles. We went back for one of our many return visits and I had my favourite black pepper chow mein (extra crispy). My wife had the flat rice noodles with beef - always tasty with a bit of a smokey flavor from the wok. If you enjoy spicy, you cannot go wrong with the Singapore rice noodles (curry flavored) and always good. Not a very good choice of wines but that's OK. For lunch, I just order a glass of house red. Sometimes I go for the Tsing-Tsao Chinese beer - friends tell me it tastes very much like a German beer. This is a casual restaurant with a strong local following. Eric, the owner, greets everyone by name and makes you feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food quality has declined”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our last 2 visits to On Yuen have been disappointing. The flavour and texture of the food is not like it used to be. Hopefully it will improve.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been looking for a really good Chinese restaurant in south Surrey for a while. This is it! Everything was fresh and the sauces and seasoning were great. The service was very attentive. A keeper for sure!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey bc
1 review
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Ordered a meal from on yuen and when I got it it was gross , only had a few bites and started feeling something wasn't right. Went up to the front and told waitress about food and she screamed at me told me to get out and not to worry about paying. I then was followed out by three Chinese men from the restaurant who threatened me because I did not pay . This may escalate further.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Likebulletsbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“23 out of 23 say Yes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Our chorus was in Surrey and planned a dinner between events. Regan sent a suggested menu for 23, we fine tuned it a bit and were all very pleased with the quantity and quality of the dishes that were brought to the tables. The service was great and the dishes appeared very quickly. At the end we each payed $12.25. Can't beat that! Wine and beer $3.50. Thanks to the On Yuen for making our contest weekend even better!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On Yuen Resturant also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to On Yuen Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing