We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and frosty weekend”
Review of Mill River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Fun and frosty weekend”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had never heard of this package or hotel before. However, we will be sure to return again next yr. terrific value for your money, really big rooms. We love cross country skiing and being outdoors in winter... We were not disappointed. Terrific groomed skiing trails of different lengths and challenges. Tubing so much fun..don't forget to bring your toboggans too.terrific March Break place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    63
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
86
58
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a great experience, my little girl took sick in the truck on the way there, the staff were kind enough to wash and dry her clothes and car seat! If we needed anything they brought it right to our room in no time. I do feel there should be more food for breakfast, toast, bengals, waffles would be a great add on for the kids, fresh fruit , yogurt etc.
Wait time to get into the resturant was really bad,

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge if you want one in your room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked the winter package and took two of our grandchildren (6, 9). We had a ball!! I wondered about the long trip (4 hrs from New Maryland, NB) and whether the hotel would have sufficient activities - particularly because we were in the middle of a cold stretch. We wondered about the pool area given one review said it needed maintenance (rust/paint peeling??) and we wondered where to eat meals not covered by the package given some "resort" menus are priced for business travelers. None of the "concerns" would have justified cancelling. We ALL had a GREAT time. We parked the van upon arrival and didn't move it until we left. The pool was wonderful (4 visits) and the water slide was really fun. There was a kids activities room (coloring, Wii etc) and a games room (air hockey, ping pong, pool table etc) that included a large, boarded ball hockey area (could easily accommodate 6 - 8 players) that our grandson (6) enjoyed repeatedly. The food (and prices) in the restaurant was fine and staff went out of their way to accommodate/substitute "package" items for the kids so no unexpected charges.
Although it was cold, we went on a sleigh ride and then tubing. I can't think of one negative thing or reason to wish we hadn't booked. IT WAS A GREAT TIME!! Everybody enjoyed it. Hats off to ALL the staff we dealt with who were so friendly and who went above and beyond (including a late checkout so we could have one last time in the pool). This place was worth the drive and EVERYTHING met or EXCEEDED our expectations. Thank you Rodd Mill River Resort!!!

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a fridge if you plan to do an in-room lunch or want cold beverages (althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As a grandmother I went with my daughters and their familys and stayed here the Long weekend in Feb and really enjoyed it. We used to take our kids back 20 years ago and now those kids are taking their kids and creating the same great memories that they had when they were kids when we used to take them for a winter escape . The place offers many activities for kids from face painting, Jumping air balloon, sledding, skiing,snowshoes, skating, movies, mini sticks, pool, movies and many more activities set up for the weekend. The pool and hot tub were very popular as well. It stormed on the Sunday when we were there and a lot of the staff were not able to get in. The ones that were there gave it their all, and were always seen with a smile on their face. My kudo's to them. Management seemed to be around quite a bit checking to make sure everything was Ok. I would highly recommend this resort especially for a fun winter family getaway. The hotel is in some need of updates and hopefully they will get on the Rodds list for updates as the building is starting to show its age in places, but the happy faces of all the children that had envaded there for the weekend didn't seem to mind to much. I'm sure in the summer it must be very nice there as well.

Room Tip: They also have suites as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Myself, my husband and our 11 year old daughter just returned from a weekend stay (Friday and Saturday night). This hotel was very comfortable and clean. Our package included breakfast. The hotel has a sledding hill where you can rent tubes (we had a free voucher for 1 hr x 4). The hill is super fun and very fast. There was an outdoor skating rink and sleigh rides plus lots of snowshoeing/cc ski trails/walking trails). We usually go south but couldn't get time off this year so we came here. The island is beautiful, and this area is very peaceful this time of year. The hotel was full of families and had we wanted to, we could've joined in a few groups. They do have a kids menu, and all meals we had there were great. I think many people had been there before, they brought their own food and knew their way around! The adult menu was slightly more expensive then pub fare, but I thought much better. One evening we had stuffed pork tenderloin and it was great. I think this entree was $20.99, but we felt it was worth it. We had a great time, lots of laughing and reconnecting.

Room Tip: our room didn't have a fridge, but I saw someone getting one brought in, so we could have asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice in the past. It is nice enough, but very dated! The bedding is old red and orange shiny floral pattern, very ugly and gross feeling. The bathrooms were dark with wood paneling on the walls and counter top. The pool which looks amazing on the website looks nothing like this in person. Huge flakes of rust dangle and threaten to fall into the water. Paint is chipping off the metal framework under the slide so bad u can see every colour the slide was ever painted. I felt grit and sand on my feet when walking near the edges of the pool. The restaurant was ok, except the food took about 45 minutes to arrive while we waited with our two young children. I will be looking elsewhere for a place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. The resort is a little dated but it is clean and well maintained. The pool is nice and has a water slide and very hot tub. The racquet ball / squash courts are good but you should bring your own ball. The games room isn't much to write home about but the Table Tennis table is good for the kids. There are Tennis Courts and a golf course but we don't golf so I can't comment on the quality of the course.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near O'Leary
6.9 mi away
Rollo Bay Inn
Rollo Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Souris
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Country Inn
Cavendish Country Inn
#7 of 8 in Cavendish
42 reviews
5.9 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#3 of 4 in Alberton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mill River Resort

Property: Mill River Resort
Address: 180 Mill Rd | Route 136, O'Leary, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > O'Leary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Mill River Hotel Oleary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing