We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horseshoe Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We really just needed a place to stay to catch the ferry the next morning, and were very happy with the motel. Staff was friendly and very helpful with info re: ferry times and tips. It is further from the ferry terminal than you might expect, but still quite close. Clean rooms, close to restaurants etc. Convenient computer use by reception desk. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Angela,

We are thrilled that your stay with us was successful. I'm happy to hear that you were "Very Happy" with our motel and found it be clean and just what you needed before catching the ferry the next day. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for mentioning how friendly and helpful our front desk staff are. I'll be sure to let them know that their contribution towards our guest experience is acknowledged. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were on a road trip from Seattle. Our accommodations on the trip ranged from $123 per night (plus taxes) at Horseshoe Bay motel, to $170 (plus taxes).

However, in all the other accommodations we were provided with full bathrooms, a closet, coffee making appliances, good furniture and decent beds. In a couple of them we had lovely views, ample parking and complimentary breakfasts.

At this motel we had a tiny room, no closet (hangers on hooks were provided), a recently tiled bathroom (shower only) with no space for putting down toiletries etc and peeling paintwork on the windows, grubby marks on the doors, no coffee making equipment, old mismatched furniture and relatively comfortable, but old, beds.

On the night we booked in there was no hot water.

Our room (No.4) had one window which, at the beginning of a short corridor, looked out onto the corridor wall and a door. it was next to the staff laundry room and at the time the water was being investigated we heard every word from the plumber and a member of staff chatting in the room.

After being asked if the room was suitable and being told no, we were offered room 7 later in the evening. This had the same lack of facilities and instead of the view of the wall we had a view of some sky but also the back of a Ford truck - we had by now unpacked so we declined. We wondered afterwards why they had not offered this (slightly better) option when we first booked in.

This room was not worth $123 plus tax.

The motel is the only motel/hotel in the area. Very convenient for the ferry to Langland, but next time we would go the extra 30 minutes to the Holiday Inn down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Jennyx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is very important to us; guest reviews help us to improve our overall services.
We regret that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. You are quiet right in reporting that we had a mechanical problem which resulted in lukewarm water rather than hot water that evening. This unfortunate situation lasted just under 5 hours and was rectified shortly before 10pm. You checked in at approximately 6:30pm and were advised of the water problem at that time. Apparently your preference was for a room upstairs and your own words were "if possible" Your booking was made in early July for the night of July 26th. You booked a standard room with two double beds. Unfortunately all of our upstairs rooms had already been pre-booked when your reservation was received via the Internet. In July, August and September our occupancy rate is usually very high. That night it was not possible to upgrade you to an upstairs room since all were occupied. Contrary to your claim, all of our rooms are definitely equipped with complimentary coffee making facilities. Some of our rooms have both a bathtub and a shower while others, like rooms 4 and 7, have showers (but no tubs) which many of our guests actually prefer and work perfectly for less mobile guests.
Your were offered a change of room by our Front Desk Associate shortly after you checked in since you indicated your unhappiness with room 4. You did not accept her offer. Conversation with our plumber was minimal. It was only me and the plumber quietly discussing the situation. Our conversation lasted no more than 20 minutes. I sought you out when my Front Desk staff member indicated your unhappiness. We spoke at length after you had returned from dinner. We discussed various matters and I offered to substitute your room, again you declined. You thanked me warmly and appeared to be content. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the best service and experiences during their stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Yes, it is close to the ferry. Neat location near restaurants and shops. Very clean and friendly service but... My bill for one night which included two adults and our dog was $167.00. This motel is only ranked #1 because it us the only one in the area. The room was stifling hot because there is no air conditioning and the noisy fan did not do the trick. We had the window, bathroom window and the door open and this was at 8:00 PM. The traffic noise is significant. It would have been worth our while to have driven into Vancouver after we disembarked the ferry and then I would have had a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenMarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Kathleen Marjorie,

Thank you for so much for taking the time to post your comments, I'm happy to hear you found our Motel to be very clean and enjoyed our friendly service. I regret that you were inconvenienced by the heat. It had been a very warm week leading up to your arrival and a very warm day in Vancouver the day you arrived. We do have fans in our rooms and are able to offer a second one if requested. I apologise if the noise from the fan was a disturbance to you, We seldom need air-conditioning here but the time of your stay we did experienced some very warm temperatures that were actually higher than average. Usually we find at around 10-11pm the temperature drops considerably and in some cases seems incredibly cool for a summer's night.
Horseshoe Bay is generally a very sleepy little village and after 9pm at night there is very little traffic, however the bus does come down the street that the Motel is on, so perhaps that is the traffic noise you heard but its less frequent at night. You mentioned your room cost, we are in constant contact with our competitors and our rate is often one of the lowest rate's on the North Shore, your bill was higher than normal because you had your dog with you. We are one of the few pet friendly accommodations on the North Shore and charge a pet fee of $20 + tax. We are pleased to be able to offer our guests pet friendly accommodations so they are able to travel with their four legged companions, however it does involve extra cleaning for our Housekeeping staff, so in order to be able to offer this we do have a pet fee. Without bringing your dog your room would have been our regular rate for a standard double or queen room rate of $128 + tax total with taxes is $144.64. We do hope that you may consider staying with us again in the future as we would love to welcome you back and your dog too. Thank you again for your review

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped here for a night before heading into Vancouver for the day (and then continuing on out east) and I was pleased with the motel. The room was quite nice with a very beautiful bathtub/shower. Definitely better than I expected, though I'm not sure it really pushes them into the 'boutique' category they'd like to be included in. (what does that really mean anyway?)

Only negative is that the beds are actually shorter than usual. I'm 6'5 and my feet hung off the end of the bed. I can't say that has ever happened at any hotel I've stayed at before. It wasn't a terrible hardship by any means but still was bothersome. I think it's because if the beds were full-size, the room would be too cramped - maybe?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Jeremy Janzen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Horseshoe Bay Motel and for writing a review. I'm very happy your overall impression and experience at our motel was positive.
Thank you for the wonderful comment on our bathrooms, its a compliment we receive often from our guests. I'm glad we exceeded your expectation. However I would like to clarify your comment on our bed size, the room that you booked had 2 double beds inside, these are standard size motel/hotel beds. I apologize if you felt they were too short for you. We also offer rooms with a queen bed and we have a king bedroom available as well. Perhaps when you booked your stay these room types may not have been available and I do believe when you made your booking it was for a room with double beds. May I suggest if you decide to stay with us and I hope you do that you might choose a room with a queen bed or a king bed, you may find this more comfortable and more suited to your needs. We want to make sure our guests experience is a positive one and we do our very best to make sure your needs are met. Thank you again for taking the time to comment.


Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We'd travelled from Tofino en-route to Vancouver for a 6 night stay there. Rather than have another nights stay in Vancouver itself we decided to have a night in Horshoe Bay, somewhere we've visited before but never stayed.

Check-in was easy, the room we had booked we were told had a very firm bed which some find too firm and we were offered the option to change which we took as I like a bed with some 'give'. The room itself was a reasonable size, well furnished, clean and had a decent bathroom. There was no air conditioning which was necessary but there were fans which at least kept the air moving but wasn't really a substitute. After my wife spent some time looking for a hair dryer we realised that we had to collect one from the reception desk, which I was promptly despatched to do, and we were told just to leave it in our room when we departed.

The location is good with the harbour itself a couple of minutes walk away and several restaurants also within a couple of minutes walk.

Overally a pretty decent stay. The bed for me was still bit too firm but my wife thought it was great. For the rate we paid it was excellent value for money and we'd happily stay here again if we needed to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Englishlee0710

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feed back from our guests, sorry you found your bed to be a little firm but happy your wife thought it was great. We are also very happy to hear that you found our rooms to be well furnished & clean, we seldom need air conditioning and provide fans in our rooms sorry if you felt it was not a substitute during your stay. I'm glad you found our motel to be of excellent value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is definitely the place to stay over for a night or two if you are traveling to the island and back. Nice room, great personal service from the staff and so close to the ferry makes it the place to stay in town. All of the restaurants are only a minute or two walk from the motel and the ferry is only maybe 3 min to walk. At a $120.00 a night or so a great buy in my book. They also give you a mini fridge and a large fan which you can move around. Only one small drawback is no air conditioning in our room but it was not too hot so didn't matter to us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickandcathyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Rick and Cathy

Thank you for your great review. We love hearing positive feed back from our guests.
Glad to hear you enjoyed our personal customer service & had a comfortable stay with us before heading to the Island. We are happy your visit was a pleasurable one and we would love to welcome you back on your next trip to the Island.
Kind Regards,
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While a tad pricey, the classic Horseshoe Bay Motel was just fine for a one night stay before the ferry to Nanaimo. The one surprise was that we actually had to drive a couple of miles back up the highway in order to re-descend to the ferry landing and approach. It didn't matter - we enjoyed exploring the tiny village in the evening, had delicious fish & chips for dinner by the shore, and a good night's sleep in the comfortable bed. The quilts on beds could use some upgrading, but the room was spacious, and the bathroom had been upgraded and was fine. Lots of lighting in the room, which is always welcome. The staff was warm and welcoming, and helpful in directions to dining places and back to the ferry. Don't expect that you're able to drive right on to the ferry when you stay here, and then, you'll have a fine time!

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor room and staff was very accommodating. Good for ease of moving suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tojourneywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Tojourneywise

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us at The Horseshoe Bay Motel and glad you enjoyed your fish & chips by the shore, a favourite by many of our guests. Thank you for your kind comments on our warm and welcoming staff and on the comforts of our guest rooms. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Vancouver
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
483 reviews
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
330 reviews
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,905 reviews
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
767 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#42 of 92 in Vancouver
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Motel

Address: 6588 Royal Ave, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 2B6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > West Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseshoe Bay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseshoe Bay's convenient location makes a perfect base-camp: for travelers planning day trips or longer excursions ~ to the West Coast and Gulf Islands, or to more northerly destinations through the interior of BC. Located in scenic Horseshoe Bay Village, the Horseshoe Bay Motel is affordable and conveniently located. It is close to all attractions; world famous Whistler is only 90 minutes away and the Ferry Terminal to Vancouver Island is at your doorstep. Horseshoe Bay is a gateway to both Vancouver and the wonders of Vancouver Island including Victoria and Tofino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Hotel West Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing