We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View/Staff first class! Menu/Decor stuck in the past :(”
Review of The Salmon House

The Salmon House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Salmon House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ski Lift Road
Description: The window-wrapped dining room offers unparalleled views of Vancouver, Stanley Park and the surrounding Burrard Inlet . The Salmon House is world renowned for its fresh seafood and comprehensive BC wine list ; accentuated by breath-taking views, warm comfortable surroundings and native art decor.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“View/Staff first class! Menu/Decor stuck in the past :(”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant hast the most amazing views! The staff were top notch! However, the menu and décor could use some help. I understand some of the west-coast theme can't be helped but the tables/chairs, carpets and lights could use an update. The menu seemed to be stuck in the 80's too. I had the seafood chowder and lobster pasta and both were just "ok". The pasta was heavy and the delicious lobster was caked in a heavy creamy sauce. Unfortunately not worth the price. I will say that my mom had the salmon and she loved it! Not the place to go if you want modern food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    120
    55
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Nice Meal with Great View.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a nice restaurant up on the western hills overlooking Vancouver. It is a bit out of the way so need a car to get there. Staff are friendly, service is good. Quality of food is also good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have eaten here a few times over the past 20 some odd years and it is always so good. Great location, friendly service and delicious food.
Any place that has Quails Gate Wine always makes me happy. The salmon dishes are always great. A must while in Vancouver.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just as we remembered it 30 years ago”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I were at the Salmon House on the Hill thirty years ago, and just this past month returned to the restaurant on trip through Vancouver. The restaurant has a fabulous view of what I believe is English Bay below and Vancouver. Once again we were not disappointed by the food or service at this establishment. Our salmon was simply delicious and tasty, vegetables were fresh and cooked just right. While it is pricey they advertise wild salmon and I believe it truly was wild caught salmon as it's freshness was evidently clear. It seems to have an upscale side to the restaurant, but we were touring that day Grouse Mountain, Stanley Park and Vancouver dressed in jeans and golf shirts. We were there at 5PM we asked if we were appropriately attired and they said yes for the most, later most of the patrons were similarily attired so do not let causal dress stop you from enjoy the wonderful view and food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thekegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Years of wonderful local food, service and Vancouver view!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is a special occasion and bring your out of town visitors restaurant. I bring both family and business guests and everyone loves it. Our family has marked many birthdays here. The south wall is totally glazed and the restaurant is well-designed with a tiered floor, so even tables farthest from the windows
get a view. Window-side tables offer a fabulous connection to nature and the harbour! Acoustics have been considered with sound absorbing materials, so even when full, the Salmon House is not loud; there is a comforting buzz; so you can always enjoy an intimate or romantic dinner here. The menu features fish and seafood of all kinds IN
SEASON. There are no menu
gimmicks here. The fish is grilled on alderwood or poached. The appetizers are tasty classics and the salads + vegetables are fresh and locally supplied. The desserts are
beautiful too. The wine list is reasonable- some good BC wines here- and the staff is knowledgeable, well trained and friendly in explaining both the menu and wine list. The Salmon House is higher-end, however also comfortably casual- with no pretense- unlike its neighbouring West Van view restaurant Fraiche. Worth the trip up the hill and worth the
rice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salmon House also viewed

West Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
West Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Salmon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing