We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank Shiva”

Mehtab East Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Mehtab East Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$13
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic East Indian Restaurant with Bit of Canadian Touch. Smart Casual....
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank Shiva”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I know, corny title, but honestly, on a day I was tired, just woke up, was hot and hungry, this place really came through. The atmosphere was just enough ethnic without being corny. The service was wonderful, mind you there were only 3 tables sitting at the time. The food was very good and spiced really well and the cost was so so. Their naan is crazy good, I like it thin and crunchy.

My only 2 drawbacks for here is get better take out dishes pls, aka microwave friendly and the cost should be reduced just a touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MooseJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

One of the best "strip-mall" restaurants ever. Outstanding service, fabulous food, great selection, and well...strip mall building. We ordered the following:

- Vegetable Pakora (10 out of 10)
- Garlic Naan Bread (11 out of 10) - perfectly crispy on the outside and soft and chewy inside
- Daal Makhani (10 out of 10) - I could live on that stuff
- Chicken Tikka Achari (8 out of 10) - cold and a little bland
- Beef Vindaloo (10 out of 10)

One of the best places to eat in Southern Alberta and I have found no better Indian restaurant in Calgary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GrittyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good food.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

While their wine list could use a little finessing, the food is consistently delicious. We've eaten both a la carte and from the buffet and are always pleased with the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food is great. Try the Mango Lassi!
Their lunch buffet is wonderful and a great way to sample their offerings. Try them for lunch, then come back for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“absolute favourite”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Delicately spiced food and attentive and professional waiters in an average but nice setting.. we loved this place. Great food for the price.. we are indian food lovers and we will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PixieD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehtab East Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Mehtab East Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing