We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
Review of Coto - CLOSED

Coto
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We used to live in cochrane and went for lunch for old ttimes sake but boy what a drag - slooow service, horrible quality bento boxes (like they'd been loaded with food for half an hour). And $25 for two crappy bento boxes, water for beverages. Did I mention the service was slow?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank karensheffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Quality has really slipped”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit as family because it's always been good. Looks like ownership may have changed and so has quality dramatically. We ordered some standards and some if the newer items. The service was slow, inattentive & lacking. We ordered the new sashimi Don but the fish was tepid and not firm, the rolls lacked the flavours we had grown used to. No soy sauce on tables or offered. And our order of tempura never appeared. If this is new ownership or management they have really dropped the ball. I'll
make the trip to Calgary from now on. $80 not worth it!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can skip this restaurant at all”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My co-worker and I visited this place, thinking that it is as good as last year. We order assorted sashimi. The one that we had is less than what was stated on menu. The pieces are smaller than what I usually have in other places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xinsuanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“never open!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The food is always very good but it is fairly slow and never seems to be open. The last 3 times we tried to go it was closed. We will still try because of the good food, but are often disappointed when it is closed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Happened to stop here for lunch as it was highly rated on trip advisor and I was NOT disappointed! Incredible food for a great price. Excellent service. Will be here again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachypeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing